Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 5, 2010, 10:03 PM   #1
Brannon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Lightbulb Is there anyway to upgrade iPhone 4 storage capacity?

I know you cant add micro sd cards.

I am talking physically changing out the single 32gig chip in there for a 64 or the newer 128?

I am pretty confident in my ability to actually change it out but i would like to know if the iPhone will even recognize anymore memory? Or is there a way to even know this till it is tried?

I am pretty sure the chip is souldered in there but does anybody know if it just snaps in?

Plus where can i buy a 64 or 128 gig chip?

I am being completley serious to! i would absolutly love to be able to hold all me apps, music, and movies at the same time!

Thank you!
Brannon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2010, 10:06 PM   #2
Intell
macrumors G5
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brannon View Post
blah
No. There is no way to upgrade it without replacing the whole logic board, (very expensive).
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2010, 10:07 PM   #3
Brannon
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
No. There is no way to upgrade it without replacing the whole logic board, (very expensive).
Oooh good point..... i completley forgot about the Logic Board...... Damnit...

WEll thank you anyways!
Brannon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2010, 10:08 PM   #4
RonHC
macrumors 6502a
 
RonHC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
No. There is no way to upgrade it without replacing the whole logic board, (very expensive).
I lol'd at the quoted quote
RonHC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2010, 10:10 PM   #5
sheppy1
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I don't even think you can get any chips bigger than 32GB anyway, I mean the 64GB iPod Touch just uses 2 x 32GB chips and not a single 64GB chip
__________________
Current devices: iPhone 2G 8GB, iPhone 4 16GB, iMac G3, Aluminium Macbook 4GB RAM
Past devices: iPhone 3G 8GB, iPhone 3GS 16GB, iPhone 4 32GB, iPad 16GB Wi-Fi, White Macbook
sheppy1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2010, 10:12 PM   #6
-aggie-
macrumors Demi-God
 
-aggie-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Where bunnies are welcome.
First you’ll need a DeLorean. Then you’ll need to install a flux capacitor….
__________________
Google with site:macrumors.com as a parameter.
DFU Mode
-aggie- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2010, 10:19 PM   #7
Brannon
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by -aggie- View Post
First you’ll need a DeLorean. Then you’ll need to install a flux capacitor….
LOL! i litterally jus watched back to the future earlier today!
Brannon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2010, 10:21 PM   #8
chembox
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by -aggie- View Post
First you’ll need a DeLorean. Then you’ll need to install a flux capacitor….
It works! It works!
chembox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2010, 11:03 PM   #9
Alaerian
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: A barstool, Innis & Gunn in hand
Quote:
Originally Posted by chembox View Post
It works! It works!
But where'd you get the 1.21 gigawatts of electrical power??
Alaerian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2010, 12:32 AM   #10
jfyrfytr25
macrumors 6502a
 
jfyrfytr25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brannon View Post

I am pretty confident in my ability to actually change it out.........I am pretty sure the chip is souldered in there but does anybody know if it just snaps in?
someone who spells soldered "Souldered" should re-evaluate your confidence in IC replacement. just a thought!!!
__________________
rMBP 13" 2.6GHz/256GB, Macbook Air 11" Late 2010, Apple TV, iMac 27" 3.06GHz Core 2 Duo, iPad mini & iPad 3, white iPhone 5 16gb
jfyrfytr25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2010, 08:30 AM   #11
edogyip
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brannon View Post
I know you cant add micro sd cards.

I am talking physically changing out the single 32gig chip in there for a 64 or the newer 128?

I am pretty confident in my ability to actually change it out but i would like to know if the iPhone will even recognize anymore memory? Or is there a way to even know this till it is tried?

I am pretty sure the chip is souldered in there but does anybody know if it just snaps in?

Plus where can i buy a 64 or 128 gig chip?

I am being completley serious to! i would absolutly love to be able to hold all me apps, music, and movies at the same time!

Thank you!
1. Get second iPhone 4
2. Buy double sided tape.
3. Adhere the phones back to back.
4. Double the memory.

You're welcome.
edogyip is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2010, 08:38 AM   #12
Ivan P
macrumors 68030
 
Ivan P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Home
Send a message via AIM to Ivan P
Quote:
Originally Posted by edogyip View Post
1. Get second iPhone 4
2. Buy double sided tape.
3. Adhere the phones back to back.
4. Double the memory.
5. ???
6. Profit!
Fixed it for you
__________________
Black 64GB iPhone 5 / Black 3rd-gen iPad, 64GB Wi-Fi
17" 2011 MacBook Pro, 2.4GHz Core i7, 750GB HDD, 6GB RAM
11" 2010 MacBook Air, 1.4GHz, 128GB SSD, 2GB RAM
Ivan P is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2010, 09:23 AM   #13
MaxxTraxx
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jfyrfytr25 View Post
someone who spells soldered "Souldered" should re-evaluate your confidence in IC replacement. just a thought!!!

I didn't know grammar determined how well you are with tools.


Besides, I'd read the forum rules sir.

-SN
__________________
iPod Nano | iPod Classic [80GB] | Nikon D3100 | iPhone 4 32GB| '15 MacBook Pro 2.53 Ghz|
MaxxTraxx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2010, 09:56 AM   #14
PNutts
macrumors 601
 
PNutts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pacific Northwest, US
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxxTraxx View Post
I didn't know grammar determined how well you are with tools.


Besides, I'd read the forum rules sir.

-SN
+1

I did a quick search and it is interesting that the OP's spelling is commonly used.
PNutts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2010, 10:42 AM   #15
dark5
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Remember guys, if you aren't sure if something is possible check Youtube.
dark5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2010, 10:45 AM   #16
Sun Baked
macrumors G5
 
Sun Baked's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by dark5 View Post
Remember guys, if you aren't sure if something is possible check Youtube.
I still think they edited out the sounds of cracking bones for some of those positions.
__________________
MacRumors member fails resist iPhone glamour effect, suffers credit card damage 2d8.
Sun Baked is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 6, 2010, 12:54 PM   #17
ahfu25
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alaerian View Post
But where'd you get the 1.21 gigawatts of electrical power??
LMAO!!

__________________
MBP 13' 2.4 GHz dual-core Intel Core i5 4GB SDRAM 500GB HDD
Black iPhone 5s 32gb AT&T
Black iPad Air 32gb Wifi/Lte AT&T
ahfu25 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there anyway to...(VZW iPhone order) kwisdumb iPhone 1 Feb 6, 2011 01:21 AM
Upgrade to Verizon iPhone 4 or Wait? MarximusMG iPhone 26 Jan 14, 2011 12:29 PM
Is there anyway to update iphone to 4.1 without syncing in iTunes raymondkerr iPhone 2 Sep 4, 2010 09:05 AM
Is there anyway to set iPhone to instantly email any Photos taken? blueguy99 iPhone 13 Mar 9, 2009 10:54 AM
Is there anyway to upgrade to a better video card???? erikpmort MacBook Pro 10 Jan 7, 2007 02:02 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC