Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 7, 2010, 05:13 AM   #1
HGW
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
New TV (Programable remote )

in settings is it still possible to program third party remotes with the new tv.
HGW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 04:21 PM   #2
TheBritishBloke
macrumors 68030
 
TheBritishBloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Nobody has received the new AppleTV yet. I recommend you re-bump this thread when there are large amounts of people receiving their AppleTV's.
TheBritishBloke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 05:05 PM   #3
Chris Rogers
macrumors 6502a
 
Chris Rogers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: my house
I don't see any reason why the harmony remote wouldn't work. It works with my Mini and my old Apple TV before I got rid of it.
__________________
I own Apple Stuff
Chris Rogers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 05:49 PM   #4
amnost
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United States
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by HGW View Post
in settings is it still possible to program third party remotes with the new tv.
YES!!! You can.

Mac Rumors wrote a guide on how to pair a Logitech Harmony Series remote with the Apple TV -- here: http://guides.macrumors.com/Pairing_...Harmony_Remote

If you can program the Logitech Harmony remotes, I'm going to gurrantee you that there's a handful of other remotes out there that can be programmed to work with it.
__________________
www.TechZang.com
Twitter: @Jack_Glenn
My products: iMac, iPhone 4S, iPad (3rd Generation), Apple TV.
amnost is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 06:10 PM   #5
BoulderBum
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
The new Apple TV looks like it comes with a plain Jane Apple remote, so I assume the IR commands are going to be the same and should require no reprogramming of a universal remote.

Logitech is pretty good about supporting new devices quickly anyway, however.
BoulderBum is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2010, 12:01 PM   #6
PurdueGuy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I don't think the OP is asking if any Harmony/programmable remote can mimic the AppleTV remote. It's IR, I can't imagine it not working!

What the OP asked is can you train the new AppleTV itself to respond to an entirely different set of remote commands. On the original AppleTV, you could go into settings, and "teach" the AppleTV commands from any given IR remote. I trained mine to respond to the second control side of my TiVo remote. It worked great!

I hope they didn't remove this feature, but who knows!
PurdueGuy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[$2.99 ->FREE for LIMITED TIME] TOP MONSTER TRUCKS RACING HD for iPad TopTapGame iPad Apps 5 Oct 27, 2012 09:25 PM
[[$2.99 ->FREE for LIMITED TIME] TOP MONSTER TRUCKS RACING HD for iPhone & iPad TopTapGame iPhone and iPod touch Apps 7 Oct 27, 2012 09:19 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:09 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC