Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 7, 2010, 01:21 PM   #1
cube
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
The worst thing about the (old) Apple TV

There's no clean way of switching if off.

WTF?

This is not a nice surprise about your brand new purchase.
cube is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 01:25 PM   #2
rorschach
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Eh, hold play/pause for 3-4 seconds and it goes into standby.
__________________
MacBook Air 13-inch (Mid 2012), iPhone 5
rorschach is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 01:27 PM   #3
cube
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
I want to switch it off cleanly, not standby.
cube is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 01:35 PM   #4
dmm219
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
yea, it does suck. I have mine hooked up to belkin BT strip interruptors.

In fact, I have almost ALL my electronics plugged into these as none of them "really" turn off. Been surprised how much lower my electric bill has been.

Switch is wireless...cut power from the couch or anywhere else...works great.
dmm219 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 01:40 PM   #5
rorschach
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmm219 View Post
yea, it does suck. I have mine hooked up to belkin BT strip interruptors.

In fact, I have almost ALL my electronics plugged into these as none of them "really" turn off. Been surprised how much lower my electric bill has been.

Switch is wireless...cut power from the couch or anywhere else...works great.
^^This is what I'd recommend if you really want to turn it off regularly. Just get a power strip with a switch.

I've heard it draws anywhere from 12W to 20W in standby, but that's the closest thing it has (built-in) to a shut down.
__________________
MacBook Air 13-inch (Mid 2012), iPhone 5
rorschach is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 01:42 PM   #6
cube
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
Taking out the power does not shutdown the system properly.
cube is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 01:53 PM   #7
rorschach
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Well my cable box works the same way. It has a power button but like the Apple TV it doesn't actually "shut down" - it just cuts off the A/V signal to the TV. If I want to turn it off completely I have to pull the plug.

The cable box stays on so it can record shows...the Apple TV stays on so it can stay synced with iTunes.
__________________
MacBook Air 13-inch (Mid 2012), iPhone 5
rorschach is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 01:59 PM   #8
TheBritishBloke
macrumors 68030
 
TheBritishBloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Most devices use 1Watt/Hour if that when in standby.. Meaning On average, 1000 hours in standby = 10Pence (15cents in US). Not exactly going to break the bank, you'd spend more for a power strip as stated above.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cube
Taking out the power does not shutdown the system properly.
Umm.. And? If you're not going to do that.. Then you won't get anywhere unless you completely reprogram the AppleTV OS to make the power shut down rather than stand by.
TheBritishBloke is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 04:12 PM   #9
cube
Thread Starter
macrumors G3
 
Join Date: May 2004
I think the AppleTV is more like 18 watts in standby, and the point is not to save money.
cube is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 04:33 PM   #10
harcosparky
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cube View Post
I want to switch it off cleanly, not standby.
Can't be any simpler, we have our entire entertainment system on a single power switch.

ON/OFF

That's how it works.

Why go about turning off two or more devices when a single switched power controller is all you need?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBritishBloke View Post
Not exactly going to break the bank, you'd spend more for a power strip as stated above.
Most people would already have the power strip, as they probably have more devices then outlets.

TV
Apple TV
Game Consoles ( 3 )
Cable/Sat Descramblers
Audio Receiver
DVR ( not sure why we still have this - hasn't been used in a year )

( the above is my list )

I know on my system there are like 8 devices, when they are OFF, they are OFF.

For me its not about 'breaking the bank', it's about keeping my money in my pocket ! ! !
__________________
Awwwwwww!
harcosparky is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The worst thing about exposing yourself to Python (or other better languages)... ArtOfWarfare Mac Programming 11 Nov 8, 2013 05:33 PM
What's the worst /dumbest thing you've heard from a CSR? thehustleman iPhone 28 Apr 8, 2013 10:41 PM
Wow - Gatekeeper is possibly the worst thing I've experienced on a computer recently. mattcube64 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Feb 23, 2013 11:01 PM
Is this possibly the worst thing I could have done? revalationist MacBook Pro 42 Jul 29, 2012 06:24 PM
The worst thing about the iPhone is the carriers but DBZmusicboy01 iPhone 14 Jul 17, 2012 04:24 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC