Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 7, 2010, 09:53 PM   #1
Orange™
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Moving One Application To Another Mac? [Solved! ;]

Quote:
Can someone explain this to me?

Firstly, I'm a hardcore Mac fan and think that Time Machine was great idea.
I know it does COMPLETE backup, including software and applications.


My question is what is preventing the user from installing a time machine restore of another mac on a new one thus giving the new mac the same expensive software for free?


Example: I got a refurbished 2009 i7 iMac and would like to have Photoshop on my iMac too, it currently resides on my MBP.

Could I simply do a time machine back up from my MBP to my iMac and get the application pro bono?


I'm not an immoral person, but I don't want to fork over a few hundred dollars if I can legally do it without cost. Thanks MR!
UPDATE: Just used Migration Assistant and it worked flawlessly! Much better than using time machine. Good luck.

Last edited by Orange™; Sep 8, 2010 at 09:14 PM. Reason: Previous title drew the wrong demogaphic... Also, Answered question. :)
Orange™ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 09:57 PM   #2
alust2013
macrumors 68040
 
alust2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the fence
You may be able to do it, but it's certainly not legal
__________________
a computer with some GHz and a few GB, some stuff to play music.
-witty comment here-
alust2013 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 09:58 PM   #3
angelwatt
Moderator emeritus
 
angelwatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
If you have the legal licenses for the software what's stopping you from using it on the new machine?
angelwatt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 10:05 PM   #4
bender o
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelwatt View Post
If you have the legal licenses for the software what's stopping you from using it on the new machine?
Exactly, you bought it but not attached to A mac you should be able to install it on your new machine whether you backed it up or not.
bender o is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 10:05 PM   #5
Orange™
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelwatt View Post
If you have the legal licenses for the software what's stopping you from using it on the new machine?
Wow. Fast responses.
I'm a bit confused when you say 'legal license'?

I purchased the software legally from their sources. I purchased Photoshop from Adobe and so fourth. I was under the impression that you could only download these one time though... Can I really just use the same serial number for my new machine???

To reiterate, I am of the belief that I have a legal license, not multiple.



C'mon, has anyone here actually used time machine for a system restore??? Where your applications transferred? Thanks again.
Orange™ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 10:08 PM   #6
angelwatt
Moderator emeritus
 
angelwatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orange™ View Post
I'm a bit confused when you say 'legal license'?
As in legally obtained.

The answer to your question is easily obtained by searching MRoogle or Google.
angelwatt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 10:25 PM   #7
jaw04005
macrumors 601
 
jaw04005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: AR
Time Machine by design doesn't work across devices. It locks backups down by MAC address unless you hack it.
jaw04005 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 10:37 PM   #8
Orange™
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by angelwatt View Post
As in legally obtained.

The answer to your question is easily obtained by searching MRoogle or Google.
*FacePalm*
I clearly said from Adobe. Do you seriously think that I have more than one license to these programs? As if I wouldn't remember buying more?
And what exactly does that have to do with anything in the first place? Like I said earlier:

1) I paid for Photoshop
2) Installed on MBP
3) ...
4) Bought an iMac
5) Asking this question!!!


To reiterate for those not paying attention: When you do a backup from time machine, are your applications still running? That is the question that I am asking.

Thanks.
Orange™ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 10:39 PM   #9
batchtaster
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaw04005 View Post
Time Machine by design doesn't work across devices. It locks backups down by MAC address unless you hack it.
No, it doesn't. It does uniquely identify them by MAC address, but it doesn't "lock" them down. There is certainly a "browse other Time Machine backups" option in the Time Machine menu, and at a minimum, you can browse the "Latest" backup and pull things out manually. I recently restored a backup from a computer which had a failed hard disk to a different computer. No hackery. The Mac OS X boot DVDs support this functionality as well.

The crux of it is that it's entirely no different than installing the software onto multiple computers using the vendor's disks. What will stop you is a) any machine locking/activation/security/whatever put into an application by the vendor (eg: Adobe), and b) your conscience.
batchtaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 10:46 PM   #10
aristobrat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaw04005 View Post
Time Machine by design doesn't work across devices. It locks backups down by MAC address unless you hack it.
By "hack it", do you mean holding down the OPTION key as your click the Time Machine icon on the menu bar and then choosing "Browse Other Time Machine Disks..."?

You can also manually go into any machines backups via Finder and get what you're looking for too.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Orange™ View Post
*FacePalm*
I clearly said from Adobe. Do you seriously think that I have more than one license to these programs? As if I wouldn't remember buying more?
And what exactly does that have to do with anything in the first place? Like I said earlier:

1) I paid for Photoshop
2) Installed on MBP
3) ...
4) Bought an iMac
5) Asking this question!!!


To reiterate for those not paying attention: When you do a backup from time machine, are your applications still running? That is the question that I am asking.
First off, you don't need Time Machine to do this. You can connect your MBP and your iMac via Firewire or Ethernet and use the Migration Assistant to copy your applications (like Adobe, etc), settings and user documents from one Mac to another.

Second off, it depends on the application. I think apps that require an 'activation', like Adobe, can't simply be copied between machines (and run without being reactivated). The program certainly can figure out it's all of a sudden on a different Mac and react accordingly.

Most apps don't have a problem with being moved to a new Mac. Some do. I don't know of a definite list that says which do and which don't.
aristobrat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 10:56 PM   #11
Orange™
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by batchtaster View Post
No, it doesn't. It does uniquely identify them by MAC address, but it doesn't "lock" them down. There is certainly a "browse other Time Machine backups" option in the Time Machine menu, and at a minimum, you can browse the "Latest" backup and pull things out manually. I recently restored a backup from a computer which had a failed hard disk to a different computer. No hackery. The Mac OS X boot DVDs support this functionality as well.

The crux of it is that it's entirely no different than installing the software onto multiple computers using the vendor's disks. What will stop you is a) any machine locking/activation/security/whatever put into an application by the vendor (eg: Adobe), and b) your conscience.

That's what I was thinking...

My conscious, eh? Hmm....


Say that I ran a time machine restore from my MBP to my iMac and wasn't even aware that the software was transferred over. Then, upon starting up my iMac, I discover the programs are there. Are saying that you should delete those programs that are ready to use because it's unethical even though everything you did was legal? The software brought the applications over, isn't there a reason for that?


IDK, I'm not a pirate but this does seems bit different. Most students my age would probably torrent this stuff to begin with, I bought a legal copy and now want it on my iMac (far better screen for editing)... Is this really a moral problem?

I transferred the music I purchased for my MBP was transferred over, so what's the difference with the software? It's not like I'm selling hard drives full of software to people. So, how is this not legal?
Orange™ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 11:00 PM   #12
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
Check out the license agreement with Adobe; in many cases you are allowed to install on a laptop and desktop at the same time; but use only on one machine at a time.
Didn't used PS for some time but I also would assume that PS need some kind of activation. As you moved between complete different HW there is a good chance that you need to reregister.
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app.
ChristianJapan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 11:02 PM   #13
aristobrat
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orange™ View Post
So, how is this not legal?
It's totally up the software creators' licenses that you're almost always required to "Agree" to before you can initially install their software on your computer.

Some creators are more lenient than others in their licensing and usage terms.

So I guess, to answer your question "how is this not legal?", you'd really need to go read through all of the licensing agreements that you agreed to. Perhaps it is legal for some.
aristobrat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 11:07 PM   #14
Orange™
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by aristobrat View Post
It's totally up the software creators' licenses that you're almost always required to "Agree" to before you can initially install their software on your computer.

Some creators are more lenient than others in their licensing and usage terms.

So I guess, to answer your question "how is this not legal?", you'd really need to go read through all of the licensing agreements that you agreed to. Perhaps it is legal for some.
Quote:
Originally Posted by aristobrat View Post
By "hack it", do you mean holding down the OPTION key as your click the Time Machine icon on the menu bar and then choosing "Browse Other Time Machine Disks..."?

You can also manually go into any machines backups via Finder and get what you're looking for too.



First off, you don't need Time Machine to do this. You can connect your MBP and your iMac via Firewire or Ethernet and use the Migration Assistant to copy your applications (like Adobe, etc), settings and user documents from one Mac to another.

Second off, it depends on the application. I think apps that require an 'activation', like Adobe, can't simply be copied between machines (and run without being reactivated). The program certainly can figure out it's all of a sudden on a different Mac and react accordingly.

Most apps don't have a problem with being moved to a new Mac. Some do. I don't know of a definite list that says which do and which don't.

You've been really helpful, thanks a bunch! I'll report back here in a few days and see tell you guys the results.

Cheers
Orange™ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 11:10 PM   #15
smithrh
macrumors 68020
 
smithrh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orange™ View Post
Say that I ran a time machine restore from my MBP to my iMac and wasn't even aware that the software was transferred over. Then, upon starting up my iMac, I discover the programs are there. Are saying that you should delete those programs that are ready to use because it's unethical even though everything you did was legal? The software brought the applications over, isn't there a reason for that?
Bottom line - you'll have to check your license agreements (yeah, all that fine print crapola) for each and every app to see what sort of legal rights you have.

Some apps will be OK with you having and using the same app on multiple computers. Many will not.

That's the legal aspect. Ethics is something else altogether, although if you have the legal right to use multiple copies of an app, I wouldn't worry a lot about the ethics side - they gave you that right. But I doubt that most apps are distributed that way.

Note, many apps these days can "phone home" and report your usage of the software. I don't have any Adobe software, but I'm under the impression that Adobe does this, plus software key enforcement.

Bottom line, just because Time Machine "gave" you copies of apps doesn't mean that you can freely use them. You may find that you're locked out or that your usage is monitored. You'll have to scour the agreements to find your legal status.
smithrh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 7, 2010, 11:22 PM   #16
synth3tik
macrumors 68040
 
synth3tik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Send a message via AIM to synth3tik
Most software vendors allow you to install the software on 2 or 3 machines, with one license.

I have a feeling the OP was looking for help to illegally transfer software, which some of you have helped him with.
synth3tik is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2010, 03:54 AM   #17
Orange™
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by synth3tik View Post
Most software vendors allow you to install the software on 2 or 3 machines, with one license.

I have a feeling the OP was looking for help to illegally transfer software, which some of you have helped him with.
How about you leave this thread and... not come back?

On a completely unrelated note, another lamentable user has posted an incredibly unhelpful and quite inept comment with the classic moronic use of the rolleyes icon.
Orange™ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2010, 09:39 AM   #18
angelwatt
Moderator emeritus
 
angelwatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orange™ View Post
I clearly said from Adobe.
And I should believe you because ...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orange™ View Post
Like I said earlier:

1) I paid for Photoshop
2) Installed on MBP
3) ...
4) Bought an iMac
5) Asking this question!!!
And as I said earlier, your answer is easily found by searching. People have been discussing this for years now. Do you really think you were the first to think about it? With your attitude and the inability to know if you're looking into this for legitimate reasons, telling you that the answers are easily found is all I'm willing to help with. If you can't take the time to search then you're not worth helping.
angelwatt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2010, 11:59 AM   #19
Edot
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: NJ
Why aren't you using the Migration Assistant application?

http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3322

I think people are suspicious because you are using an unorthodox method of transferring files/applications to another computer. Not to mention your thread title and your focus on the licensing aspect of this procedure and not the procedure in itself. Most software licensing measures don't go so far as locking a piece of software to a specific machine or prevent you from running multiple copies on the same network, but some do. If you are simply upgrading to a new Mac and want to move your software to the new machine, I wouldn't think you would have a licensing problem, but you may want to check with the vendor. The question is why are you using Time Machine to move the files?
Edot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2010, 12:33 PM   #20
Duncanreally
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
As others have said, Migration Assistant is what you should use to migrate your apps, settings, and data from one mac to another. You can use MA to migrate from a Time Machine backup if you like. But don't "restore" a nice fresh mac with the TM backup from an old mac - you'll get all the old crap you don't want. Use MA to do it - it works really well, and just brings the stuff you want onto the new OS, and not the garbage from the old OS that you don't want.

Yes, some apps will require reactivation on the new mac, but most won't. Yes, in most cases, it's perfectly legal and correct to do this as long as you don't continue to use it on the old machine.

Duncan
Duncanreally is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2010, 03:56 PM   #21
Orange™
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I used the migration assistant like some of you advised and it worked great. It's what I wanted from the start, I'm glad some of you knew about this.

So now photo shop is on both my macs, I can only use it on one mac at a time though which actually doesn't bother me so thanks a lot guys.

And a special thanks to angelwatt for contributing nothing to this thread but libelous accusations and unhelpful comments. You were a real help.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edot View Post
Why aren't you using the Migration Assistant application?

http://support.apple.com/kb/ht3322

I think people are suspicious because you are using an unorthodox method of transferring files/applications to another computer.
I must admit that I had completely forgotten about Migration Assistant, it's exactly what I wanted. Auch easier to use than time machine and know I only have the applications, not the baggage from my other mac.
Quote:
If you are simply upgrading to a new Mac and want to move your software to the new machine, I wouldn't think you would have a licensing problem, but you may want to check with the vendor.
Yeah, it turned out fine. Adobe allows it to be installed on two computers but the catch is that they can only be used one at a time. Not a problem for me so cool.
Quote:
The question is why are you using Time Machine to move the files?
I foolishly forgot about Migration Assistant, that was much better. I thought the only way to move the files was a restore from time machine, thanks for pointing me in the right direction. The title was to get some attention on this subject(I was basically asking how to move the software on my new mac for free or even if I could, I only knew of time machine...), unfortunately it attracted some wrong users...


This thread can die now. Thanks MR

Last edited by kainjow; Sep 8, 2010 at 07:35 PM. Reason: merged posts
Orange™ is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Windows already installed on hard drive. Boot into it on Mac. How? (SOLVED) eyeangle Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 13 Jan 28, 2014 03:26 PM
FYI: Moving Mac Mail to Outlook for Mac jdaniel OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Sep 1, 2013 05:45 AM
Bootcamp with Win7 works, Mac partition doesn't! [Solved itself] rflusser Mac Basics and Help 0 Nov 29, 2012 02:02 PM
Has the HDMI audio issue been solved in the new Mac mini? PiroPhosphoric Mac mini 4 Oct 31, 2012 03:18 AM
Solved the iMac wait issue thanks to FE's Mac sale Mike Valmike iMac 0 Jul 27, 2012 02:45 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC