Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 8, 2010, 10:01 PM   #1
tximacusr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Can my old PC external speakers be used on an iMac?

I have Harmon Kardon speakers with a subwoofer that I used on my old PC; it used a Soundblaster card. Can I use the system on the iMac? If so, how? Thanks for your replies.
__________________
2010 iMac 21.5, i5, 3.6 GHz, 4G, 1T, magic trackpad, wireless keyboard, Airport Extreme, iPod, iPad, Apple TV.
tximacusr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2010, 10:03 PM   #2
PlaceofDis
macrumors Core
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
did they connect via any sort of unique/proprietary connectors? if not, as long as they connect optically, usb, or via a headphone jack connector you should be just fine.
__________________
dim my eyes on the waves of confessions...
PlaceofDis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2010, 10:06 PM   #3
tximacusr
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by PlaceofDis View Post
did they connect via any sort of unique/proprietary connectors? if not, as long as they connect optically, usb, or via a headphone jack connector you should be just fine.
I had to connect the audio connections to the soundcard in the back of the tower, so, yes, they were "unique."

Any recommendations on which speakers to buy?
__________________
2010 iMac 21.5, i5, 3.6 GHz, 4G, 1T, magic trackpad, wireless keyboard, Airport Extreme, iPod, iPad, Apple TV.
tximacusr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2010, 10:19 PM   #4
Vylen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by tximacusr View Post
I had to connect the audio connections to the soundcard in the back of the tower, so, yes, they were "unique."

Any recommendations on which speakers to buy?
That sounds a bit... unusual...

Want to actually state what model speakers you have?
__________________
Mac Pro 2010: 3.33Ghz Hexacore + 24GB RAM + PNY GTX 760 2GB OC + Dell U2711 + 2xDell U2311H

Vylen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2010, 10:53 PM   #5
tximacusr
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vylen View Post
That sounds a bit... unusual...

Want to actually state what model speakers you have?
It states on the back of the subwoofer (h/k595). CNET has it here: http://reviews.cnet.com/pc-speakers/...-30207714.html

Apparently, its PC compatible.
__________________
2010 iMac 21.5, i5, 3.6 GHz, 4G, 1T, magic trackpad, wireless keyboard, Airport Extreme, iPod, iPad, Apple TV.
tximacusr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2010, 11:22 PM   #6
Corey Grandy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
If they plug in via a 3.5mm audio jack (pictured below), then yes, you should be fine. The CNET article says they do, so I believe you are all set.

Thumb resize.
__________________
MBP, Mid-2010 | 2.4GHz i5, 180GB SSD, 1TB HDD, 8GB RAM
iPad 4 WiFi | Black, 16GB
iPhone 4S | Black, 64GB
Corey Grandy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 8, 2010, 11:32 PM   #7
Vylen
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Well, according to the user manual, it can be connected using either multi-channel audio (3 jacks) or stereo audio (1 jack).

Just use the stereo jack and connect the speakers to the headphone jack in the back of the iMac - which is the common thing to do with 2.1ch speakers.
__________________
Mac Pro 2010: 3.33Ghz Hexacore + 24GB RAM + PNY GTX 760 2GB OC + Dell U2711 + 2xDell U2311H

Vylen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2010, 06:46 PM   #8
tximacusr
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I'll try it out this weekend. I hope it works; I'll update. Thanks for your help.
__________________
2010 iMac 21.5, i5, 3.6 GHz, 4G, 1T, magic trackpad, wireless keyboard, Airport Extreme, iPod, iPad, Apple TV.
tximacusr is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can an old version of Applecare be used on a new ACD? Peteman100 Mac Peripherals 1 Jul 16, 2011 09:47 PM
Will my old 8800GT from Mac pro run on an older Intel based PC? xgman Mac Pro 3 Jun 8, 2009 11:36 AM
iPod Touch: Can a car charger be used on an airplane? Rick America iPod touch Accessories 10 Jun 6, 2009 02:12 PM
Can PC software can be used on new iMacs? knights Buying Tips and Advice 7 Feb 23, 2006 06:50 PM
Could a PC video card be used on a mac? Wildcat Mac Help/Tips 6 May 1, 2002 07:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC