Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 9, 2010, 09:43 PM   #1
hijar69
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
True HD Playback

Does the old aTV support True HD? If so what are good settings in Handbrake?
hijar69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2010, 09:44 PM   #2
killmoms
macrumors 68040
 
killmoms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Washington, DC
Send a message via AIM to killmoms Send a message via Yahoo to killmoms
If by “true HD” you mean 1080p, then no, it does not.
__________________
thrillmoms.com - You know it.
Welcome to the family…
Mugi: Mid-2012 15" Retina MBP, 8GB RAM, 256GB SSD
Azusa: 64GB iPhone 5, Nagato: 16GB WiFi Retina iPad Mini
killmoms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2010, 09:46 PM   #3
techfreak85
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Maybe he is talking about the audio codec.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dolby_TrueHD
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.™
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2010, 09:52 PM   #4
hijar69
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Correct! Does anybody know? I'm connecting through an Onkyo TXSR606 and I know that through my Blu Ray player I get True HD. I'm trying to figure out encoding for audio. I have ripped MKV files that have True HD, just trying to figure out the setup.
hijar69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2010, 10:07 PM   #5
emegmac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
I dont think it even plays dts let alone lossless audio. No mac can play it right now
emegmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2010, 10:11 PM   #6
hijar69
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
My receiver has a signal of dts through the setting of Neo:6 Cinema believe it or not but thanks for the answer on lossless
hijar69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 9, 2010, 10:15 PM   #7
hijar69
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Can anybody explain the difference between Dolby Pro Logic II and 6 Channel Discrete in the Mixdown section under Audio tab in Handbrake?
hijar69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2010, 07:35 AM   #8
NightStorm
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Whitehouse, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by hijar69 View Post
Can anybody explain the difference between Dolby Pro Logic II and 6 Channel Discrete in the Mixdown section under Audio tab in Handbrake?
One is a two-channel matrix surround sound format (DPL2), the other is six-channel discrete surround sound in AAC format. Not many devices can properly decode multichannel AAC if I remember correctly.

By spec, any Bluray with a TrueHD soundtrack must also include a standard Dolby Digital (AC3) 5.1 soundtrack (either standalone or contained within the same track). Handbrake can recognize and use the AC3 5.1 track when encoding from a Bluray source. There is currently no way to mux a TrueHD track into the mp4 container and have it playback through the AppleTV.
__________________
Mac Mini (2.0GHz i7) | 27" Apple TB Display
15" Macbook Pro Retina (2.3GHz i7) | 11" Macbook Air 1.4GHz
AppleTV (x2)| 32GB iPad Mini (Wi-Fi) | 32GB iPhone 5S (x2)
Netgear ReadyNAS Ultra 4+ (4x2TB)
NightStorm is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iTunes choppy audio playback & no video playback Arkious Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 May 23, 2013 06:29 AM
True 5.1 nismoasfuh iMac 3 Mar 30, 2013 01:21 PM
Is this true hoosier1 iPhone 17 Dec 2, 2012 07:48 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC