Internet speed seems very low on my MDD! - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 11, 2010, 05:23 PM   #1
raysfan81
macrumors 6502a
 
raysfan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Carolina
Internet speed seems very low on my MDD!

I have a router with gigabit ethernet ports plugged directly into my MDD and I'm not getting good speeds at all.

System Profiler:
Media Options: Full Duplex, flow-control
Media Subtype: 100baseTX
Hardware Type: Broadcom 5421

Does that mean that I'm getting 100 mbit speeds? I really notice it on youtube where all of my computers, even my eMac, don't need to wait for the video to load this one will stop many times because the video hasn't fully loaded.

__________________
Broken Ipod Touch 1st gen 16gb & Zune HD 64gb
eMac 1.42 ghz,80gb hd & 500mhz Snow iMac g3, 2ghz Unibody MB
400 mhz G4 "Sawtooth", Dual 1.42 ghz MDD, 17" 1.83 ghz C2D iMac

Last edited by raysfan81; Sep 11, 2010 at 05:34 PM.
raysfan81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2010, 12:21 AM   #2
MacForScience
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by raysfan81 View Post
I have a router with gigabit ethernet ports plugged directly into my MDD and I'm not getting good speeds at all.

System Profiler:
Media Options: Full Duplex, flow-control
Media Subtype: 100baseTX
Hardware Type: Broadcom 5421

Does that mean that I'm getting 100 mbit speeds? I really notice it on youtube where all of my computers, even my eMac, don't need to wait for the video to load this one will stop many times because the video hasn't fully loaded.

Go into network settings for your ethernet connection in the advanced section there is a tab call ethernet where you can manually set the speed and duplex mode. (Keep full duplex)

The other thing to consider is when did this issue first occur? Because if it occurred in the not to distant past, or slowly over time, then it may well be a software issue. For example when was the last time you restarted your computer? Have you run the cron tasks recently? Have you repaired permissions? Does this slowness apply to all websites or just youtube? Are any other aspects of your system unusually slow etc.?

What router do you have?

If I am not mistaken the emac doesn't even have gigabit ethernet which makes me think the issue is software not hardware. The fact that your connection is running at 10/100 should not be causing you a problem since that is still 12.5MB/sec. If you are running a file sharing network or other network services this will cause overheads but you probably won't notice unless your internet is supposed to deliver 4-6MB/sec.

Cheers
__________________
24" AL iMac 3.06Ghz 4GB Ram 1TB HD Radeon 4850; Mac Mini Server 2.5Ghz 4GB Ram 2 500GB HDs; 2 23" Monitors; 11" MB Air 1.4Ghz 64GB SSD 2GB Ram; iPad 2 16GB CDMA, Touch 4th gen 32GB; 4.5TB storage
MacForScience is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2010, 11:52 AM   #3
raysfan81
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
raysfan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Carolina
I have a D-link Dir-825. I have the Ethernet set to auto 10/100/1000 so I don't know if it chooses the compatible speed because I have a 100 mbit device hooked up to it. That might be why I'm not getting fast speeds.
__________________
Broken Ipod Touch 1st gen 16gb & Zune HD 64gb
eMac 1.42 ghz,80gb hd & 500mhz Snow iMac g3, 2ghz Unibody MB
400 mhz G4 "Sawtooth", Dual 1.42 ghz MDD, 17" 1.83 ghz C2D iMac
raysfan81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 03:53 PM   #4
MacForScience
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by raysfan81 View Post
I have a D-link Dir-825. I have the Ethernet set to auto 10/100/1000 so I don't know if it chooses the compatible speed because I have a 100 mbit device hooked up to it. That might be why I'm not getting fast speeds.
Did you try forcing the speed. Also does your router have any setting regarding its ethernet ports?

Cheers
__________________
24" AL iMac 3.06Ghz 4GB Ram 1TB HD Radeon 4850; Mac Mini Server 2.5Ghz 4GB Ram 2 500GB HDs; 2 23" Monitors; 11" MB Air 1.4Ghz 64GB SSD 2GB Ram; iPad 2 16GB CDMA, Touch 4th gen 32GB; 4.5TB storage
MacForScience is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 04:34 PM   #5
raysfan81
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
raysfan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacForScience View Post
Did you try forcing the speed. Also does your router have any setting regarding its ethernet ports?

Cheers
I forced it to gigabit and I couldn't connect to the internet...
__________________
Broken Ipod Touch 1st gen 16gb & Zune HD 64gb
eMac 1.42 ghz,80gb hd & 500mhz Snow iMac g3, 2ghz Unibody MB
400 mhz G4 "Sawtooth", Dual 1.42 ghz MDD, 17" 1.83 ghz C2D iMac
raysfan81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Guide to changing MDD bus speed / CPU upgrade harrymatic PowerPC Macs 15 Feb 20, 2014 02:49 AM
Low/No fan speed Fried Chicken MacBook 4 Feb 16, 2013 10:39 PM
MDD with DDR-RAM not faster than same CPU speed Quicksilver (SDRAM)? Cox Orange PowerPC Macs 7 Jan 15, 2013 02:59 PM
PPC MDD - No Internet Via Ethernet BWCDoc PowerPC Macs 6 Oct 31, 2012 03:23 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC