Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 2, 2010, 10:24 AM   #26
Angelo95210
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Angelo95210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paris, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meldar View Post
Most likely...lots of people have told me that it's a bad idea to run BOINC on a laptop. I'm not sure why...no problems here...
The only problem might be heating issues. Monitor that and you will be safe.

BTW we are now 6 members in the team !
__________________
Hackintosh G31M-S2L - Macbook 3,1
Angelo95210 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2010, 04:37 PM   #27
Meldar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: pocket of liberalism in farm country
Send a message via ICQ to Meldar Send a message via AIM to Meldar Send a message via MSN to Meldar Send a message via Yahoo to Meldar Send a message via Skype™ to Meldar
Yes 6 members...the most recent of which has 8 processors and a 512MB GPU. I feel like I'm doing something wrong...like everyone else is doing 10x the work that I am.

Not that it's a big deal (this isn't a big competition) but still, a little confusing. :P
__________________
2010 MBP 2.53GHz ML | 1993 Centris 660AV | 1992 LC II
25+ other machines
NCPrime
Meldar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2010, 04:59 PM   #28
Merthyrboy
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Umm I think I joined but I don't know if my computer is doing anything? Any help with this please.

Last edited by Merthyrboy; Oct 2, 2010 at 05:05 PM. Reason: Actually I think I've got it now
Merthyrboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2010, 05:04 PM   #29
techfreak85
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meldar View Post
Yes 6 members...the most recent of which has 8 processors and a 512MB GPU. I feel like I'm doing something wrong...like everyone else is doing 10x the work that I am.

Not that it's a big deal (this isn't a big competition) but still, a little confusing. :P
MOOOHAHAHAH!!!

Actually a 4 core, but I have hyperthreading on so it just looks like 8.
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.™
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2010, 11:13 PM   #30
mmomega
macrumors Demi-God
 
mmomega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, TX
if i join can i add multiple computers or 1 computer per person... maybe i need to go to the site and read before asking
either way i'll have 2 i5's, a 2.66C2D laptop, and the new 2.4C2D mini.

Late tonight and just reading n watching TV, i'll join up in the a.m.


edit: Just added my iMac and MBP, i'll add the other 2 tomorrow

Last edited by mmomega; Oct 2, 2010 at 11:36 PM.
mmomega is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2010, 01:26 AM   #31
techfreak85
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
I wish milky way had support for my GPU, otherwise I would be cranking out more than costabunny.
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.™
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 03:28 AM   #32
Angelo95210
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Angelo95210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paris, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmomega View Post
if i join can i add multiple computers or 1 computer per person...
Yes you can totally have many computers. Some have dozens...

Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
I wish milky way had support for my GPU, otherwise I would be cranking out more than costabunny.
I almost regret to have invited costabunny, he's spoiling our nice game ! Just kidding obviously...

8 members now ! Welcome to the newcomers and congrats to you raquel/costabunny !

__________________
Hackintosh G31M-S2L - Macbook 3,1

Last edited by Angelo95210; Oct 4, 2010 at 03:40 AM.
Angelo95210 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 10:17 AM   #33
Meldar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: pocket of liberalism in farm country
Send a message via ICQ to Meldar Send a message via AIM to Meldar Send a message via MSN to Meldar Send a message via Yahoo to Meldar Send a message via Skype™ to Meldar
If grid computing such as this was more serious than a simple volunteer hobby, I'd shell out $1500 on a Firestream GPU and get millions of credits a week...but since there's no monetary reward for crunching the most numbers, that'd be silly.

That said, I'm considering upgrading the GPU on my gaming PC. Probably gonna get an HD Radeon something-or-other (9620 or something like that) once I can cobble together $150 and budget the rest of my important expenses. Yay for being a broke college student.

In other news, it would appear as though I've joined the team again yesterday...not quite sure why, but yes...the progress I'm making, might as well call me NullCruncher.

Once I get home, I can have 4 or 5 of my computers running on this! Granted, only one is multi-core (and at that, it's hyper-threaded and from 2005) but it should still help. Oh my poor power bill...
__________________
2010 MBP 2.53GHz ML | 1993 Centris 660AV | 1992 LC II
25+ other machines
NCPrime
Meldar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 10:23 AM   #34
costabunny
macrumors 68000
 
costabunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: ~/
Send a message via Skype™ to costabunny
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelo95210 View Post
I almost regret to have invited costabunny, he's spoiling our nice game ! Just kidding obviously...
just to say 'She' (the Raquel bit should be a clue
__________________
Bunny has an iPhone 5C, an iPad Mini Retina, a PC & a MacBook Pro retina

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”
costabunny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 11:14 AM   #35
TheVendor
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Canada
You now have my 2.4ghz C2D, and a 2.8ghz P4 once I get it a network card
__________________
Join the MacRumors Folding@H or MilkyWay@H team!
TheVendor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 04:41 PM   #36
Angelo95210
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Angelo95210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paris, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by costabunny View Post
just to say 'She' (the Raquel bit should be a clue
Sorry for this mistake. I get too much used to talk with dudes here!
__________________
Hackintosh G31M-S2L - Macbook 3,1
Angelo95210 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 05:29 PM   #37
grooveattack
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
you've got my 8-core on bored.....


EDIT: any ideas on how to get my GPU involved?
__________________
***27" iMac - 3.4GHZ-1TBF-680MX + 16GB iPhone 5***

Last edited by grooveattack; Oct 4, 2010 at 05:49 PM.
grooveattack is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 11:44 PM   #38
Meldar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: pocket of liberalism in farm country
Send a message via ICQ to Meldar Send a message via AIM to Meldar Send a message via MSN to Meldar Send a message via Yahoo to Meldar Send a message via Skype™ to Meldar
Hey -

I just got my GPU online a few hours ago. It's not suited for MW@H since it's not a DP card, but there's a list of all the supported cards on the MW@H forums.

For a Mac, I only know about NVIDIA cards. One needs to download and install the CUDA environment (check the BOINC wiki, it's fairly straightforward - 3 steps or so) which requires Xcode, which you probably have.

ATi cards work differently, but setup isn't any different (I wouldn't think). I honestly don't know about Mac Pros...wish I did. First-hand. bleh I'm broke.

If you check my profile on MW, you notice my GPU is listed - but the only tasks it will do are those from PrimeGrid (after I configured my GPU, it downloaded no fewer than 40 tasks for it ) - even Einstein@Home won't run because my GPU only has 256MB of memory.

On a Mac Pro you should be able to run MW@H GPU tasks, but I'm about as new to GPU CUDA computing as you are!

damn my MBP is getting hot hot hot...
__________________
2010 MBP 2.53GHz ML | 1993 Centris 660AV | 1992 LC II
25+ other machines
NCPrime

Last edited by Meldar; Oct 4, 2010 at 11:45 PM. Reason: wrong info!!
Meldar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2010, 03:49 AM   #39
grooveattack
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
oh gosh......
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cpu.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	383.0 KB
ID:	254518  
__________________
***27" iMac - 3.4GHZ-1TBF-680MX + 16GB iPhone 5***
grooveattack is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2010, 04:12 AM   #40
Angelo95210
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Angelo95210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paris, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by grooveattack View Post
oh gosh......
Wow... That's a loaded Mac Pro!
__________________
Hackintosh G31M-S2L - Macbook 3,1
Angelo95210 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2010, 09:52 AM   #41
Meldar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: pocket of liberalism in farm country
Send a message via ICQ to Meldar Send a message via AIM to Meldar Send a message via MSN to Meldar Send a message via Yahoo to Meldar Send a message via Skype™ to Meldar
Yikes

-

On a different note, does anyone have a MBP with the GeForce 9600 GT or GT 330M (or comparable?) These cards don't work for MW@H but if enough people have 'em (since they are in the newer MBPs), I can make a brief tutorial on how to get BOINC to recognize them for use on projects like PrimeGrid. So far, that's the only one that works with my 330M.

Perhaps once I'm home, I'll have a few more computers on my little grid - may even invest in a new GPU for my gaming PC so I can a) run games made past 2004 and b) crunch MW@H and chase the speedy white rabbit...
__________________
2010 MBP 2.53GHz ML | 1993 Centris 660AV | 1992 LC II
25+ other machines
NCPrime
Meldar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2010, 12:42 AM   #42
mmomega
macrumors Demi-God
 
mmomega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: DFW, TX
i have the 9600gt in my laptop but I never enable it anymore since it is purely my wife's mobile facebook at the moment and farmville hardly stresses out the 9400
mmomega is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 05:10 AM   #43
Angelo95210
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Angelo95210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paris, France
Good news guys !

Our team has entered the top 200 ranking and is now #193 in the MW project! A big thank you to costabunnny especially! We need more GPUs!!!

__________________
Hackintosh G31M-S2L - Macbook 3,1

Last edited by Angelo95210; Oct 8, 2010 at 05:16 AM.
Angelo95210 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 01:53 PM   #44
Meldar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: pocket of liberalism in farm country
Send a message via ICQ to Meldar Send a message via AIM to Meldar Send a message via MSN to Meldar Send a message via Yahoo to Meldar Send a message via Skype™ to Meldar
Gotta love how we outrank Apple Inc. XD

Yeah we do need more GPUs...seems as though costabunny's tasks are completed in little more than two minutes...for US$145 that's a darn good GPU.

I have my doubts about the ATi X800 SE in my home desktop...don't think it would work for MW@H. As it stands, all I can crunch in CUDA is PrimeGrid, and that takes a little over an hour per task. eOn and Einstein won't even support my GPU. (that's the GeForce GT 330M)

Perhaps over the summer I'll be upgrading my gaming PC at home, if I'm able to come by a couple hundred dollars or so (read: get a job) for a great GPU. The machine's pretty much on 24/7 anyway!

Wish I could help more, but I do as much as I can here at college with my MBP...
__________________
2010 MBP 2.53GHz ML | 1993 Centris 660AV | 1992 LC II
25+ other machines
NCPrime
Meldar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 02:30 PM   #45
Angelo95210
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Angelo95210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paris, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by Meldar View Post
Wish I could help more, but I do as much as I can here at college with my MBP...
Every little helps... I think we did already very well with this team in less than one month!
__________________
Hackintosh G31M-S2L - Macbook 3,1
Angelo95210 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 02:58 PM   #46
metamorphoses
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
just joined-up...thanks for the opportunity to participate!
metamorphoses is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 04:01 PM   #47
Matty-p
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
just joined same user name as the forums here . have litterally just put my cpu on it but how do i put my gpu on it is compatible and supported and ive turned on gpu online and in client but dosent work and also each of the 4 tasks says that it has 10 hours to complete (one for each pysical core) also my cpu usage is like 100% then 42-50 then 5 seconds later 100 then 10 seconds later 43-50% again
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cpu usage.PNG
Views:	20
Size:	5.9 KB
ID:	255013  

Last edited by Matty-p; Oct 8, 2010 at 04:14 PM.
Matty-p is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 05:27 PM   #48
Angelo95210
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Angelo95210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paris, France
Quote:
Originally Posted by metamorphoses View Post
just joined-up...thanks for the opportunity to participate!
Welcome metamorphoses!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matty-p View Post
just joined same user name as the forums here . have litterally just put my cpu on it but how do i put my gpu on it is compatible and supported and ive turned on gpu online and in client but dosent work and also each of the 4 tasks says that it has 10 hours to complete (one for each pysical core) also my cpu usage is like 100% then 42-50 then 5 seconds later 100 then 10 seconds later 43-50% again
Welcome too! I can't help for the GPU but some here will I am sure...
__________________
Hackintosh G31M-S2L - Macbook 3,1
Angelo95210 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 09:00 PM   #49
MonksMac
macrumors 6502a
 
MonksMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: DFW
I too have joined!
__________________
Early 2011 MBP|Mac Mini Core Duo 1.83Ghz|12" PowerBook G4 1.33Ghz|iBook G3 Blueberry|PowerBook G3 Wallstreet 233Mhz|
MonksMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 09:25 PM   #50
Meldar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: pocket of liberalism in farm country
Send a message via ICQ to Meldar Send a message via AIM to Meldar Send a message via MSN to Meldar Send a message via Yahoo to Meldar Send a message via Skype™ to Meldar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matty-p View Post
just joined same user name as the forums here . have litterally just put my cpu on it but how do i put my gpu on it is compatible and supported and ive turned on gpu online and in client but dosent work and also each of the 4 tasks says that it has 10 hours to complete (one for each pysical core) also my cpu usage is like 100% then 42-50 then 5 seconds later 100 then 10 seconds later 43-50% again
If it is an NVIDIA card, then check here for info on how to go about setting it up; you need to download some CUDA drivers from the NVIDIA site.

If it's an ATi card then I have no idea about how to set it up. Theoretically you shouldn't have to do anything.

Good luck
__________________
2010 MBP 2.53GHz ML | 1993 Centris 660AV | 1992 LC II
25+ other machines
NCPrime
Meldar is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacRumors Folding@home Team Reaches One Billion Points MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 47 May 21, 2014 11:10 PM
Branding Agency CEO Karl Heiselman to Join Apple's Marketing Team MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 23 Apr 15, 2014 03:06 AM
Cannot join home Wi-Fi after upgrading to iOS 6 rahul247rocks iOS 6 2 Sep 20, 2012 10:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC