Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 13, 2010, 10:12 PM   #1
PowerGamerX
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Ways to increase PowerBook G4 performance.

I have the 12" 1.5ghz model as many of you know. While a great machine, and fast enough for most things, I'd like to get a little more omph out of it. I can't use Tiger by the way. My school's software requires Leopard.

I have click to flash already as I know that will be a common suggestion.

Thanks for any advice you have.

-Ryan
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" 2010 2.66ghz, 4gb, 320gb WD Scorpio Black
PowerGamerX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 05:29 AM   #2
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerGamerX View Post
I have the 12" 1.5ghz model as many of you know. While a great machine, and fast enough for most things, I'd like to get a little more omph out of it. I can't use Tiger by the way. My school's software requires Leopard.

I have click to flash already as I know that will be a common suggestion.

Thanks for any advice you have.

-Ryan
Max out the RAM and install a 7200RPM hard drive.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 06:30 AM   #3
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
i too would suggest to put as much ram inside as it can take , especially with leopard on board , and you could try a faster harddrive , thats really all you can do apart from some simple things
disabling spotlight which eats performance too ,so do the dock features
so only scale effect and no animation ,and disable dashboard too as it eats ram and performance even when not used , all the flashy stuff in leopard eats a bit performance ,even the backround picture one solid color please , and it ads up, here some percent processing power there some ram ....

dont know how to disable spotlight or dashboard under leopard ? here read further down that site
http://www.appletell.com/apple/comme...leopard-hints/

and here for dashboard
http://www.ehow.com/how_4509666_disa...-mac-os-x.html

but maybe you want one dashbord widget , no problem put it on the desktop it eats less there then in dashboard
http://www.ehow.com/how_4524899_make...e-desktop.html
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.

Last edited by MacHamster68; Sep 14, 2010 at 06:47 AM.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 07:14 AM   #4
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
SSD + max out RAM. It will fly
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 07:40 AM   #5
Giuly
macrumors 68040
 
Giuly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: That depends whether you ask for timezone, state of mind or GPS coordinates.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
SSD + max out RAM. It will fly
UltraATA-100 SSDs are really pricey. Better to get a 7200RPM hard disk and save the SSD for the next MacBook.
Giuly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 09:21 AM   #6
iThinkergoiMac
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Terra
In theory you could get an OptiBay and put a SATA SSD in it and transfer it to a MacBook(Pro) whenever you get one.
__________________
13" 2009 MBP, 2.26 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD; 2.2 GHz C2D MB, 6 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD; 32 GB iPod Touch 3G
-FWIW, my handle is iThink_ergo_iMac. There seems to be some confusion on this issue.-
iThinkergoiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 10:10 AM   #7
SuperJudge
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Triangle, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by iThinkergoiMac View Post
In theory you could get an OptiBay and put a SATA SSD in it and transfer it to a MacBook(Pro) whenever you get one.
Unfortunately not. No SATA bus on those Powerbooks.
__________________
"Contrary to popular belief, Unix is user friendly. It just happens to be very selective about who it decides to make friends with."
SuperJudge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 11:36 AM   #8
PowerGamerX
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Thanks for the ideas. PwerBook's with SSD's are pretty fast, but due to it being ATA, and thinking about cost, I think it would be easier for me to find a 7200rpm drive.

I think I'll disable some of the dock animations. However, I'm going to keep dashboard.
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" 2010 2.66ghz, 4gb, 320gb WD Scorpio Black
PowerGamerX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 03:38 PM   #9
666sheep
macrumors 68040
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperJudge View Post
Unfortunately not. No SATA bus on those Powerbooks.
Not exactly. There is optibay for PB with SATA to PATA interface. http://store.mcetech.com/Merchant2/m...=STORHDOPTIBAY
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2010, 04:04 PM   #10
SuperJudge
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: The Triangle, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by 666sheep View Post
Not exactly. There is optibay for PB with SATA to PATA interface. http://store.mcetech.com/Merchant2/m...=STORHDOPTIBAY
I stand corrected. I would be curious to see exactly what kind of difference it would make in HD speeds. A nifty gadget, though, and possibly worth it.
__________________
"Contrary to popular belief, Unix is user friendly. It just happens to be very selective about who it decides to make friends with."
SuperJudge is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GM Performance increase from re-restore kre62 iOS 7 5 Sep 12, 2013 02:21 AM
Anything Else I Can Do To Increase Performance? Eatsleepdrivesc MacBook Pro 4 Dec 7, 2012 04:38 PM
Help with decision - Ways to increase my fps in GW2 Arkados Mac Pro 11 Oct 14, 2012 11:54 AM
StarCraft 2 1.5 Performance Increase! rossip Mac and PC Games 0 Jun 2, 2012 08:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC