Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 16, 2010, 05:27 PM   #1
Sounds Good
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Can an iPhone be used as WiFi *ONLY* without any phone service?

I'll soon be upgrading from an old iPhone 2G to the new iPhone 4.

My 7 year old son would LOVE to be able to use my "dead" iPhone after it's been disconnected from my AT&T account.

Is this possible? Would he be able to use it as a WiFi only device?

Thanks...
Sounds Good is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 05:29 PM   #2
ryan0402
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
yes it will say no sim and say to activate it but u can ignore it as long as you do not update fw
ryan0402 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 05:33 PM   #3
Sounds Good
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryan0402 View Post
yes it will say no sim and say to activate it but u can ignore it as long as you do not update fw
So, can it be still be plugged into iTunes? Can any apps be added and/or updated? Or no?

I'm not really sure how this works, obviously.
Sounds Good is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 05:35 PM   #4
tastychicken
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Yes it can. Just turn to airplane mode which turns off the cell radios. You can still turn on wifi and use it as a ipod touch. I do this with my old 3G.
tastychicken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 05:37 PM   #5
saving107
macrumors 603
 
saving107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: San Jose, Ca
it will work just like an iPod touch. You will be able to add/delete all media without any issues.

if for some reason you need to restore your Original iPhone firmware, it will need to have a Sim card to be activated with iTunes (you could use an old deactivate sim card), all it needs is to have a Sim card in the Sim tray.
__________________
When I want to vent I must take it to the internet to get satisfaction, because people must know I am not happy.
saving107 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 05:37 PM   #6
Sounds Good
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Excellent. Thanks.

In that case, how do you use more than one iPhone with iTunes? I'll have one new iPhone 4 plus the old iPhone 2G.
Sounds Good is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 06:27 PM   #7
specify
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tastychicken View Post
Yes it can. Just turn to airplane mode which turns off the cell radios. You can still turn on wifi and use it as a ipod touch. I do this with my old 3G.

oops nvm
specify is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 06:50 PM   #8
Sounds Good
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Come to think of it, if the phone has no service (shut off by AT&T) is it even necessary to turn on the Airplane mode?
Sounds Good is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 06:55 PM   #9
megadon
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sounds Good View Post
Come to think of it, if the phone has no service (shut off by AT&T) is it even necessary to turn on the Airplane mode?
No, you don't need airplane mode. It's better than an iPod touch because you can make skill calls through wifi
__________________
In Dog We Trust
megadon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 06:57 PM   #10
ok3wire
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sounds Good View Post
Come to think of it, if the phone has no service (shut off by AT&T) is it even necessary to turn on the Airplane mode?
I'm thinking it might improve your battery life if you did.
ok3wire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 06:59 PM   #11
Sounds Good
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
The plot thickens: My wife now wants an iPhone 4 also. So we'll have 3 iPhones on one iTunes account.
Sounds Good is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 06:59 PM   #12
ssdeg7
macrumors 6502a
 
ssdeg7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
There's a switch for "No cellular data" On or Off in settings.
__________________
wOzy Co-founder: http://wozy.co
----
MacBook Pro 15.4'', 2.53 GHz iPhone 4 16GB iPad Air 32GB iPod Touch 1G 8GB iPod Photo 20GB
ssdeg7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 07:03 PM   #13
Myzhi
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sounds Good View Post
The plot thickens: My wife now wants an iPhone 4 also. So we'll have 3 iPhones on one iTunes account.
I have IP4, 3GS, 2G (no service) and IPod Touch 2G without any issue on same computer / iTunes.

And, just keep 2G on airplane mode (saves battery?), but no service is OK too.
Myzhi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 08:02 PM   #14
Sounds Good
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myzhi View Post
I have IP4, 3GS, 2G (no service) and IPod Touch 2G without any issue on same computer / iTunes. And, just keep 2G on airplane mode (saves battery?), but no service is OK too.
Good to know. Thanks Myzhi!
Sounds Good is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 08:33 PM   #15
mackmgg
macrumors 65816
 
mackmgg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ok3wire View Post
I'm thinking it might improve your battery life if you did.
This. My 3GS gets much better battery life in Airplane mode then with the old deactivated SIM in it. Just be sure to keep that SIM for restoring
mackmgg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 08:34 PM   #16
Sounds Good
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mackmgg View Post
Just be sure to keep that SIM for restoring
Thanks. I wasn't sure if AT&T took the SIM upon de-activation or left it alone.

EDIT: On second thought, won't they just move the SIM chip from my old 2G iPhone to the new iPhone 4 ?
Sounds Good is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 08:38 PM   #17
IrishVixen
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sounds Good View Post
Thanks. I wasn't sure if AT&T took the SIM upon de-activation or left it alone.

EDIT: On second thought, won't they just move the SIM chip from my old 2G iPhone to the new iPhone 4 ?
Different SIM sizes--the ip4 uses a smaller one.
IrishVixen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 08:39 PM   #18
Sounds Good
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by IrishVixen View Post
Different SIM sizes--the ip4 uses a smaller one.
Ahhh, interesting. Thanks.
Sounds Good is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2010, 12:17 AM   #19
unlimitedx
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sounds Good View Post
Ahhh, interesting. Thanks.
Different size, but easily trimmed
unlimitedx is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you make phone calls with iphone with just wifi? pauly1 iPhone 7 Feb 22, 2014 08:20 AM
Anyway to get phone service without data plan on old iPhone mmelgar iPhone 7 Dec 20, 2013 08:18 AM
At work when I unlock my phone sometimes my phone has the 'O' for service aliensarecool iPhone 3 Nov 29, 2012 07:50 AM
iPhone 5 cell phone service Tmurray315 iPhone 0 Sep 28, 2012 11:05 AM
iPhone 4S wifi/service repair FearlessNick iPhone 5 Aug 13, 2012 01:28 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC