Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad > iPad Accessories

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 16, 2010, 06:46 PM   #1
tdfitz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I need help connecting iPad to internet through ethernet NOT wifi

Has anyone tried connecting the Apple camera connector kit to an iPad, then connecting the Apple USB Ethernet Adapter to that so an ethernet cable can then, theoretically, be connected to the iPad? I will traveling to Tokyo and staying in a hotel with wired internet access only, no wifi and I only want to take my iPad and not my laptop. Yes I know I can go elsewhere for wifi, but I specifically want to use the iPad to check email while at the hotel at all hours. PLEASE help! Thanks in advance.
tdfitz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 06:47 PM   #2
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
It won't work. The iPad lacks the proper drivers.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 06:50 PM   #3
tdfitz
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
right. makes perfect sense. dammit.
tdfitz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 16, 2010, 07:11 PM   #4
prot0type
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Maybe consider a travel router like the ones listed here:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...router&x=0&y=0
prot0type is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2010, 03:32 AM   #5
miamijim
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2010
Errr.

Apple Airport Express shoud do the trick plug in and connect the ethernet cable and you are away.
miamijim is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2010, 04:03 AM   #6
chiefroastbeef
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
I travel extensively, and like the poster above mentioned, buy an Airport Express (I also have the Extreme and Time Capsule, all of them works great).

I just connect the Express into an outlet, and then plug in the Ethernet cable. I then have wireless access for my MBP, iPad, and Blackberry anywhere in the room. However, some hotels has a device detection that limits each room to one device (usually it is with hotels that charges for internet use), but that is only a small percentage of hotels I've been to.

Just buy an Airport Express and enjoy your trip to Tokyo.
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33GHZ 24GB Ram Nvidia GTX 670
Macbook Pro 15" 2.4 Penryn Macbook Air 11" 1.6GHZ C2D
Apple Cinema Display 30", 20"
Nikon D700
chiefroastbeef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2010, 10:40 AM   #7
tdfitz
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
thanks for the solution. much appreciated.
tdfitz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2010, 10:45 AM   #8
sushi
Moderator emeritus
 
sushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: キャンプスワンピー [Japan]
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdfitz View Post
I will traveling to Tokyo and staying in a hotel with wired internet access only, no wifi and I only want to take my iPad and not my laptop.
Is this a one time shot?

If so, I think that the Airport Express (or similar) as others have mentioned is a good solution.

If however, you will be traveling regularly to Tokyo, there are other options to consider that will provide more flexibility while here in Japan. Basically, Internet access along the lines of the Verizon MiFi. Softbank and E-mobile offer similar devices and there are others.
__________________
You only live twice, once when you are born, and when you look death in the face. *Basho style poem from 007 YOLT.
sushi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2010, 06:12 PM   #9
misterbig
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiefroastbeef View Post
I travel extensively, and like the poster above mentioned, buy an Airport Express (I also have the Extreme and Time Capsule, all of them works great).

I just connect the Express into an outlet, and then plug in the Ethernet cable. I then have wireless access for my MBP, iPad, and Blackberry anywhere in the room. However, some hotels has a device detection that limits each room to one device (usually it is with hotels that charges for internet use), but that is only a small percentage of hotels I've been to.
Chiefroastbeef, how do you get your Airport Express to bypass the hotels' login page? I have an Airport Express and most hotels I stay at require you to login and the AE can't seem to work when such a page exists.
misterbig is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2010, 08:30 PM   #10
chiefroastbeef
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, Texas/ Hong Kong
Quote:
Originally Posted by misterbig View Post
Chiefroastbeef, how do you get your Airport Express to bypass the hotels' login page? I have an Airport Express and most hotels I stay at require you to login and the AE can't seem to work when such a page exists.
I connect the Ethernet cable to the AE, connect to the AE on my computer, and when the login page pops up, I just click login, and then I will have access to the internet. Most of the Sheratons, Hyatts, or Holiday Inns in China for when I travel require a login (and some require payment).

Perhaps the hotels you stay at completely block wireless router usage? I have never seen that though traveling in the US, China, or elsewhere.
__________________
Mac Pro 6-core 3.33GHZ 24GB Ram Nvidia GTX 670
Macbook Pro 15" 2.4 Penryn Macbook Air 11" 1.6GHZ C2D
Apple Cinema Display 30", 20"
Nikon D700
chiefroastbeef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2013, 07:53 PM   #11
cherft
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Unhappy Airport Express as a router in 3rd rate hotels

Hello - I have seen all your replies.
I do not believe any suggestions will work unless you also carry a laptop that will help you to initially configure the router.
So if you are ONLY carrying an iPad, you are stuffed! Can anyone help to confirm this?
thanks very much.
Chris
cherft is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2013, 03:59 AM   #12
Capt T
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherft View Post
Hello - I have seen all your replies.
I do not believe any suggestions will work unless you also carry a laptop that will help you to initially configure the router.
So if you are ONLY carrying an iPad, you are stuffed! Can anyone help to confirm this?
thanks very much.
Chris
Depends on how the login page works. For the most part, there is no problem. And most router can be configure from your browser, I use the iPad with the one I carry, but barely ever need to reconfigure the router anyway.
Capt T is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad > iPad Accessories

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet Connectivity Issues (wifi, ethernet, usb) Since 10.9.3 phillyred79 OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 May 23, 2014 06:03 PM
Is internet through Wifi is slower than Ethernet? MacMan988 MacBook Pro 8 Dec 30, 2013 05:40 PM
Connecting Airport Extreme to Internet without Ethernet socket. DrakeInception Mac Peripherals 2 Jul 30, 2013 02:02 PM
Powermac ethernet says its on but not connecting to known working ethernet? Lil Chillbil PowerPC Macs 13 Jul 21, 2013 07:38 PM
iPad: iPad 4 not connecting to WiFi network desertman iPad 6 Feb 16, 2013 12:51 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC