Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 21, 2010, 11:36 AM   #1
darksnake
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Seagate GoFlex 1.5TB as internal HDD ?

Hello guys!

I just read about the External GoFlex drivers from Seagate and they deliver them also in 1.5TB size. CLICK
Seagate

They also have a normal SATA connection that can be used with the GoFlex cables USB 3.0 , Firewire etc.

My question :
Can we put these drive inside a macbook pro to operate like a normal HDD? afaik is this a normal 2,5" drive and should it be possible. I did not found out about a teardown. But this would be great !
__________________
15" Unibody Macbook Pro, 2.8 Ghz
iPhone 4
iPod Video 30GB
darksnake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2010, 11:39 AM   #2
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
There is no news about the height of the actual drive. We have to wait till teardown to know will it fit or not. As Seagate is selling it as external, I'm guessing that it might be higher than what most laptops can take
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2010, 11:55 AM   #3
darksnake
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
You can check the dimensions on the Seagate site. They are identical to the 750GB and 1TB drives. 22x89x120 mm

Can someone confirm that the 750GB or the 1TB uses 12.5 mm drives?
__________________
15" Unibody Macbook Pro, 2.8 Ghz
iPhone 4
iPod Video 30GB
darksnake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2010, 11:59 AM   #4
Hellhammer
Moderator
 
Hellhammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Send a message via MSN to Hellhammer
Quote:
Originally Posted by darksnake View Post
You can check the dimensions on the Seagate site. They are identical to the 750GB and 1TB drives. 22x89x120 mm

Can someone confirm that the 750GB or the 1TB uses 12.5 mm drives?
That only tells about the dimensions of the enclosure.
__________________
SSD Editor for AnandTech
You can also follow me in Twitter!
Hellhammer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2010, 04:23 PM   #5
ringwormcletus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I hope it fits unibody MBP...

I hope it fits. I was about to buy the western digital 1 tb, but would still not fit everything I wanted to on the drive.
__________________
 15" Unibody MacBook Pro,OSX 10.8.4, 2.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 128 GB SSD
 64 GB iPad Mini
 32 GB iPhone 4S
 AppleTV 2
ringwormcletus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 03:15 PM   #6
ringwormcletus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I can't find any teardowns yet. I guess it's too new and hasn't gotten into too many hands yet. If anyone finds a teardown, post the link here.
__________________
 15" Unibody MacBook Pro,OSX 10.8.4, 2.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 128 GB SSD
 64 GB iPad Mini
 32 GB iPhone 4S
 AppleTV 2
ringwormcletus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 08:02 PM   #7
DJ-R
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I just bought the Seagate normal USB2.0 and its a 2TB.

If there are GoFlex 2TB still available for sale I would recommend going for it. But I'm out of luck unless I order online which is a bit more pricey (shipping).

GoFlex + FireWire or USB3.0 adapter interface is awesome. I just love how they manage to design this.

All they need is drive size for price, regardless of the interface. Better sales for Seagate for sure. All you need to pay is the extra $40-50 interface card/adapter.
DJ-R is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2010, 01:40 AM   #8
ljonesj
macrumors 6502a
 
ljonesj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kingsport TN
the expansion portable seagate drive i had was 12.5 in 750gb my western digital is 9.5 i know wd has a 750 internal at 9.5 but the 1tb is 12.5 i think as of right now wd is the only that does this
__________________
acer win 7 3.0ghz amd dc 4gb ram; mac mini late 09 2.53ghz 8 gb of ram now with 500gb hard drive; mid 2010 macbookpro 13 base model with 500gb 7200 hybrid drive in place of the 250
ljonesj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2010, 04:28 AM   #9
Chase R
macrumors 65816
 
Chase R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: PDX
Quote:
Originally Posted by darksnake View Post
You can check the dimensions on the Seagate site. They are identical to the 750GB and 1TB drives. 22x89x120 mm

Can someone confirm that the 750GB or the 1TB uses 12.5 mm drives?
Yes the 750GB and the 1TB drives are 12.5mm in height.

I can almost guarantee that these 1.5TB 2.5" drives are going to be 12.5mm. I've never even heard of anything taller than that.

Give it a little bit and the internal versions of this drive will become available.

I plan on replacing my 1TB drive with a 1.5TB drive and putting an OWC SSD in the optical bay.
__________________
iOS 7: iPhone 5, 16GB
OS X 10.9: MacBook, Aluminium, 2.4GHz C2D, 9400M, 8GB, SSD
Windows 8.1 (Plex Server): Mid, i3-3225, HD4000, 8GB, 16TB Mirrored, 128GB SSD
Chase R is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 12:38 AM   #10
jkester
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
FYI, I just got the 1.5TB model in the mail and it is thicker than 12.5mm. It will not fit comfortably inside my 17" MBP unibody. I can get the case to screw shut, but even with the stabilizing screws on the hard drive removed, the case will not fully close there. I may leave it anyway, since the case at least screws shut, but this is not the elegant solution that the WD 1TB was.
jkester is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 01:04 AM   #11
redboxcar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkester View Post
FYI, I just got the 1.5TB model in the mail and it is thicker than 12.5mm. It will not fit comfortably inside my 17" MBP unibody. I can get the case to screw shut, but even with the stabilizing screws on the hard drive removed, the case will not fully close there. I may leave it anyway, since the case at least screws shut, but this is not the elegant solution that the WD 1TB was.
Thanks for the update, I was considering doing this, but now it seems like a no-go for my 2010 13".
__________________
macbook pro | retina | late 2013 | 13" | 2.4 ghz i5 | 8gb ddr3 | 256gb
mac mini | mid 2010 | 2.4 ghz c2d | 8gb ddr3 | 320gb
iphone 6+ | 64gb | white/gold
ipad mini | retina | wifi | 16gb | white
redboxcar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 01:15 AM   #12
jkester
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
No problem. I'm gonna experiment with modifying my optical bay hd caddy and see if it'll fit better over there. It seems like there's only 1-2mm keeping this thing from being perfect. As a last resort, it might be possible to file down the metal on the bottom of the drive, which looks to jut out about 1mm from the drive board.
jkester is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 04:52 AM   #13
darksnake
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
can you measure it and say how thick it is? I have never seen a 2.5" drive thicker than 12.5mm.. so i guess they are using more than 3 platters.

can you also include a picture of the drive without the enclosure?

Thanks!
__________________
15" Unibody Macbook Pro, 2.8 Ghz
iPhone 4
iPod Video 30GB

Last edited by darksnake; Oct 8, 2010 at 05:02 AM.
darksnake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 05:32 AM   #14
MacModMachine
macrumors 68020
 
MacModMachine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by darksnake View Post
can you measure it and say how thick it is? I have never seen a 2.5" drive thicker than 12.5mm.. so i guess they are using more than 3 platters.

can you also include a picture of the drive without the enclosure?

Thanks!
there is,

i have seen a 14mm and 16mm thick 2.5" disk.
__________________
MBPr - 13" 2.5/8GB/128GB (Swapped for 480 OWC Aura)
MacModMachine is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 07:53 AM   #15
jkester
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by darksnake View Post
can you measure it and say how thick it is? I have never seen a 2.5" drive thicker than 12.5mm.. so i guess they are using more than 3 platters.

can you also include a picture of the drive without the enclosure?

Thanks!
I'll measure later in the day. I'm transferring data to it right now so I won't be able to remove it for a few hours. I would guess this thing has 4 platters.
jkester is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 10:41 PM   #16
jkester
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Okay, I measure it to be 14mm. Frankly, it fits well enough that I'm gonna use it until a better 1.5TB or larger solution is out there.

Here is a pic of it next to the WD 1TB:
Thumb resize.

And a couple more of the bulging case:
Thumb resize.
Thumb resize.

Last edited by 840quadra; Mar 21, 2012 at 10:06 AM. Reason: Please use TIMG tags for large images
jkester is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 10:58 PM   #17
redboxcar
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
jkester: thanks for the pictures!

is the hdd bay in your 17" bigger than in my 13"? reason i'm asking is because i have the 13" and would like to do this, even with the slight bulge, if it'll fit...

thanks!
linda
__________________
macbook pro | retina | late 2013 | 13" | 2.4 ghz i5 | 8gb ddr3 | 256gb
mac mini | mid 2010 | 2.4 ghz c2d | 8gb ddr3 | 320gb
iphone 6+ | 64gb | white/gold
ipad mini | retina | wifi | 16gb | white
redboxcar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2010, 06:14 AM   #18
jkester
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by redboxcar View Post
jkester: thanks for the pictures!

is the hdd bay in your 17" bigger than in my 13"? reason i'm asking is because i have the 13" and would like to do this, even with the slight bulge, if it'll fit...

thanks!
linda
I don't know. Maybe someone else does.
jkester is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2010, 05:08 PM   #19
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Looks like it's still too thick. I just know 15mm is definitely impossible.
__________________
Mac Pro | Mac mini | 15" MacBook Pro | iPad Air | iPhone 6
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2010, 06:51 AM   #20
jc00k
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Hi, I'm a newbie here.
After Seagate released the slim version of the 1TB GoFlex, I heard that they also changed the hard drive inside the 1.5TB version. So instead of using 4-platter hard drive, the newer one uses 3-platter hard drive.

Can anyone confirm this? And how can we differ the 3-platter type to the 4-platter?
jc00k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2010, 01:57 PM   #21
Chase R
macrumors 65816
 
Chase R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: PDX
Quote:
Originally Posted by jc00k View Post
Hi, I'm a newbie here.
After Seagate released the slim version of the 1TB GoFlex, I heard that they also changed the hard drive inside the 1.5TB version. So instead of using 4-platter hard drive, the newer one uses 3-platter hard drive.

Can anyone confirm this? And how can we differ the 3-platter type to the 4-platter?
Buy one and let us know! If the same, return it
__________________
iOS 7: iPhone 5, 16GB
OS X 10.9: MacBook, Aluminium, 2.4GHz C2D, 9400M, 8GB, SSD
Windows 8.1 (Plex Server): Mid, i3-3225, HD4000, 8GB, 16TB Mirrored, 128GB SSD
Chase R is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2010, 03:36 PM   #22
ringwormcletus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chase R View Post
Buy one and let us know! If the same, return it
Yeah, buy one and let us know!!
__________________
 15" Unibody MacBook Pro,OSX 10.8.4, 2.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, 128 GB SSD
 64 GB iPad Mini
 32 GB iPhone 4S
 AppleTV 2
ringwormcletus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2010, 04:47 PM   #23
ihonda
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
hm how do i know if its the new revision? i will go buy one..
__________________
late-13 13.3" rMBP 8/256 | late-13 15.4" rMBP 8/256 | 2x white iphone 5S 32gb
selling history: ipod touch: j2048b | ipad 2: eternlgladiator | iphone 5: mrat93 | iphone 5: Filip
ihonda is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2010, 03:45 PM   #24
jc00k
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihonda View Post
hm how do i know if its the new revision? i will go buy one..
Look at the code written on the internal HDD. One digit of the code shows the number of platter, but I forgot which digit.

Better yet, take a picture of the internal HDD and post it here. I'm looking forward to it
jc00k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 08:07 PM   #25
TheCM
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
same bulge issue with my 15" Macbook pro 2010 with case it still works for me.

Jkester's pic show the same issue I had. The Seagate drive is taller than my 1TB WD hard drive I had already upgraded to. The case on my 15" 2010 model seems to have a larger bulge than Jkester's 17" and the bulge makes the bottom of my 15" macbook pro uneven. This becomes a big problem as you type, the macbook rocks back and forth just like a uneven table in a resturant.



Lucky for me I am ruff on my macbook and I travel constantly for work. Also the edges of this macbook were cutting into forearms. For these two reasons I have always have a specter see thru hard case case on my macbook since the day I bought it. The design of this case happens to also fix the problem of the uneven surface caused by the hard drive bulge. The case fits perfectly and I didn't have to force the case to fit over the bulge so no concerns of the case wanting to "pop" off or anything.



I hope this helps anyone else thinking about upgrading that has the same style macbook pro as myself. If you use your macbook pro naked than I would hold off. If you use a case or are willing to use one then I can recommend the specter cases for 3 reasons now.

Last edited by TheCM; Nov 15, 2010 at 08:13 PM. Reason: spelling and missed a word :)
TheCM is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backing up 10.4.11 to a Seagate GoFlex... nonarticulate Mac Basics and Help 7 Feb 2, 2013 01:47 PM
Running Movies off of Seagate GoFlex Portable 1.5TB HDD on rMBP Callumbear845 MacBook Pro 14 Aug 10, 2012 09:57 AM
Seagate Goflex 2tb HDD works on one MBP but not the other Mags88 MacBook Pro 5 Jul 12, 2012 07:16 PM
Will I need to reformat my Seagate GoFlex HDD... ? TheBeastman13 Mac Peripherals 3 Jul 8, 2012 10:30 PM
Can I use a Seagate Goflex drive with standard SATA (internal) cables? LimeiBook86 Mac Peripherals 1 Jun 11, 2012 01:34 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:23 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC