Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 22, 2010, 10:54 AM   #1
nzlucas
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London
Airplay- is a wireless network needed?

With the airplay streaming will you need a wireless network setup or will the device be able to talk without one.

Reason I ask is I am moving into a new flat will not have Internet for a bit so might have to hold off buying an apple tv and iPad.

Cheers
__________________
'Discovered by the Germans in 1904, they named it San Diego, which of course in German means a whale's vagina.' Ron Burgundy
nzlucas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2010, 11:01 AM   #2
DJinTX
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Other folks feel free to correct me if I am wrong, but I believe you can use Airport on your Mac to set up an Ad-hoc network (without a router in the mix) that will allow a wireless connection between your Mac and ATV. Obviously this will be for streaming only and you won't be able to connect to the iTunes store.
DJinTX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2010, 11:42 AM   #3
animatedude
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJinTX View Post
Other folks feel free to correct me if I am wrong, but I believe you can use Airport on your Mac to set up an Ad-hoc network (without a router in the mix) that will allow a wireless connection between your Mac and ATV. Obviously this will be for streaming only and you won't be able to connect to the iTunes store.
how do u do that?
animatedude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2010, 12:36 PM   #4
DJinTX
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by animatedude View Post
how do u do that?
Not sure how on a PC, but on a Mac you can do this in the menu bar by clicking on the Airport status icon. One of the choices there allows you to create a network. At one time it was phrased "Create a computer to computer network" but now I think it reads differently. In any case, it should be pretty straightforward. Be aware if you do this, that you then will be on this ad-hoc network and not your primary network, so you won't be accessing the internet at this point. You would have to switch back when you want to get online.
DJinTX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2010, 01:03 PM   #5
Matty-p
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJinTX View Post
Not sure how on a PC.
on xp to set up a adhoc
1) , right click wireless adapter and then click properties.
.

2) Wireless Network Connection Properties will appear. Click Wireless Networks tab, here I tick Use Windows to configure my wireless network settings. After that click Advanced button.


Wireless Network Properties

3) Advanced window will appear. Select Computer-to-computer (ad hoc) networks only option. Click Close at last.


Ad Hoc Mode

4) After that, click Add to add new ad hoc wireless network.

Add Ad Hoc Network

5) Name your ad hoc network, hTry to use open authentication without encryption first. After tested it works well, only proceed to enable WPA or WEP encryption. Click OK at last.

Add Ad Setting

6) Now you will see your created ad hoc network (PC card icon) in preferred networks list. Wooo.. Yoive done
Matty-p is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2010, 01:05 PM   #6
Mr Kram
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
if it's just temporary, you can connect your mac to the atv directly via ethernet. i do this often when i'm syncing a bunch of new content.
__________________
21.5" iMac 23" ACD 11" Air iPad 4 64GB iPad Mini 32GB 4G 64GB iPod Touch 5G 32GB iPod Touch 4G 8GB iPod Nano 3G 8GB Nano Apple TV2 160 GB Apple TV iPhone 5 32GB
Mr Kram is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2010, 04:46 PM   #7
Matty-p
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Kram View Post
if it's just temporary, you can connect your mac to the atv directly via ethernet. i do this often when i'm syncing a bunch of new content.
i belive he means ipad and atv for air play ipad will need wifi for airplay
Quote:
Originally Posted by nzlucas View Post
an apple tv and iPad.
Matty-p is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2010, 12:26 PM   #8
newagemac
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
If you have a wireless router, you don't need internet access for the local wireless network to work. The iPad and Apple TV will be able to talk to either other as usual. Airplay works over a local wireless network. Internet access is not needed.
newagemac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2010, 12:28 PM   #9
Mr Kram
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
good catch matty. sorry.
__________________
21.5" iMac 23" ACD 11" Air iPad 4 64GB iPad Mini 32GB 4G 64GB iPod Touch 5G 32GB iPod Touch 4G 8GB iPod Nano 3G 8GB Nano Apple TV2 160 GB Apple TV iPhone 5 32GB
Mr Kram is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2010, 04:42 PM   #10
nzlucas
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London
Wireless network minus internet connection is a great idea, except i don't have a router yet : ( hmm thanks a couple of things to think over, ultimately apple has been positioned itself strongly to web usage so i may just have to get the internet then wait til i can afford the rest.
__________________
'Discovered by the Germans in 1904, they named it San Diego, which of course in German means a whale's vagina.' Ron Burgundy
nzlucas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2010, 05:34 PM   #11
rumz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Utah
Quote:
Originally Posted by nzlucas View Post
With the airplay streaming will you need a wireless network setup or will the device be able to talk without one.

Reason I ask is I am moving into a new flat will not have Internet for a bit so might have to hold off buying an apple tv and iPad.

Cheers
I have the same question-- though I'm guessing I'll have to wait till ios 4.2 to find out. I'm interested in using an appletv + ipad as a travel system (don't want to have to also set up a wifi hotspot every time I go somewhere.)

Basically I'm curious about streaming music to a car stereo wirelessly from my iPad. Maybe I need an airport express, instead... assuming I can use airplay to send audio to an airport express directly from the iPad.
rumz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
extending wireless network with Airport Express marktronics Mac Peripherals 5 Dec 2, 2011 12:41 PM
Deleting Wireless Network cassiepaige Mac Basics and Help 0 Apr 30, 2011 07:39 PM
Wireless Network Connectivity problems...'DSL has failed to connect...' AniSaps MacBook 2 Jan 24, 2011 02:08 PM
MBP is on Wireless network but doesn't see Airport smt1192 Mac Peripherals 0 Feb 13, 2009 05:16 PM
Network Help needed, iPhone WIFI hanging / knocking both wired and wireless network SDPInc iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Dec 17, 2007 09:29 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC