Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 23, 2010, 05:39 PM   #1
bob2131
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
G4 stuck at "Login window starting" screen

hi
I have an old G4, think its a powerMac, not sure.
It was given to me.

When i try to boot up, its loading up, but its stuck at "login window starting" screen.

No idea what to do.

Can anyone help?

thankyou
bob2131 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2010, 06:15 PM   #2
mr.steevo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Try booting into Safe Mode.

Shut down the computer. Press the power button to turn it on. Immediately after hearing the "bong" hold down the shift key until you see the spinning gear.
mr.steevo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2010, 06:29 PM   #3
bob2131
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
tried this (im reading the manual it came with)

shift key did nothing, all i got was apple screen logo, frozen.

command option P R, two boot up sounds as written ok,
(reset PRAM) im trying this now)

yes still not working, frozen at apple logo screen...

Last edited by bob2131; Sep 23, 2010 at 06:36 PM.
bob2131 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 11:43 AM   #4
mr.steevo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
If you have the install disc you could boot into Disk Utility and do a disk repair. The hard drive may be failing, or a multitude of other problems.
mr.steevo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 01:29 PM   #5
bob2131
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.steevo View Post
If you have the install disc you could boot into Disk Utility and do a disk repair. The hard drive may be failing, or a multitude of other problems.
I have cds saying
- apple hardware test
-osx install disc
- software restore(5 discs)
(all official apple discs, but im not sure if i have serial numbers etc, but i have a handful of paperwork with it) bookelets etc.

but i couldnt open the disc tray, when i pressed eject from qwerty keyboard, nothing happens. (looks like there are 2 disc bays on front of G4)

how do i open the disc tray? and what disc shall i insert?
bob2131 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 03:21 PM   #6
mr.steevo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
The bottom paragraph of this link should help.

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2286?viewlocale=en_US


You'll want to use the OS X install disc. There are no required serial numbers. Power on while holding down the C key until you see the gears turning. This link should explain more of the process at the "Start from your Mac OS X Install disc; use Disk Utility" section.

http://support.apple.com/kb/TS2570
mr.steevo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 08:37 PM   #7
bob2131
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
thankyou thankyou thankyou

when i tried to install to current drive, the installer was not recognising the main hard drive, only the cd drive disc, so i erased the main drive, and then the installer recognised it, installed osx, it seems to be working now fine.

This osx is so old, it was asking about internet connnections, and the technologies mentioned were not relevant for me.

The mac is OSX 10.1.3
Memory 896MB
Processor PowerPC G4

Would it be ok for me to use "Get mac osx software" menu option? To update?

And i have 5 discs "software restore"
what are these? and do i need to use them now? i dont understand what software it relates to.

I have plugged in my ethernet cable for internet from modem/router, internet works. The browser which is being used is internet explorer:mac 5.1. Could i download a better browser for my version of osx?
bob2131 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2010, 11:59 AM   #8
mr.steevo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
That's a very old and slow version of OS X. You'll want at least 10.4 (Tiger) while 10.5 (Leopard) is better. The G4 will have to be 867Mhz or faster to run 10.5. You can update your version of OS X to 10.1.5. Here is the link:
http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=122010

The software restore discs will have very old versions of things like iTunes and iLife. It may be interesting to see what is on there...or maybe not.
mr.steevo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help, stuck at "update needed" login screen GMunroe Mac Pro 2 Oct 30, 2013 04:51 PM
Automator "Set desktop picture" stuck on "Fill Screen" rollandburn Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Oct 23, 2013 06:01 PM
Ipod Touch 4G stuck on the "connect to itunes" screen akoumarina iPod touch 8 May 12, 2013 01:31 AM
Removing the "Other..." user on the Login screen on Mountain Lion. Hanlee OS X 1 Apr 11, 2013 09:48 AM
TextEdit "Save" window is HUGE, extends off screen PaperQueen Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 5 Mar 14, 2013 09:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC