Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 24, 2010, 12:06 AM   #1
DJ-R
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
MacBook Pro 4GB is not enough?

I wasn't expecting MacBook Pro with 4GB ram will run out so fast. On Windows it never hit the max.

Look at the photo I attached. Only a few megabyte left of ram. Wow and everything else became so sluggish.

4GB of ram... I have Mail, Adium, Contact, Preview and Photoshop which I just launched.

Only these programs are running, nothing else... just folders.

What is going on? 4GB of ram can't handle this? I need 6GB or 8GB? really?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot 2010-09-24 at 1.02.57 AM.png
Views:	880
Size:	194.0 KB
ID:	253172  
DJ-R is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 12:14 AM   #2
Shadow Runner
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Yes you don't have a lot free but you have 600 mb of inactive.
This means your mbp has that in "reserve" for the application it was for. If you ever open it again it doesn't need to reload that ram.

I believe you can close those apps by right clicking and clicking quit on the icon. That should help clear up some ram.

I believe what I am saying is correct but could be off by a bit.
__________________
So I have some Apple stuff, what about it?
Shadow Runner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 02:12 AM   #3
mulo
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1342?viewlocale=en_us
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 02:52 AM   #4
toxic
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
prl_vm_app (Parallels) is the problem. you shouldn't be running out of RAM unless you're doing stuff in PS, or any other resource-intensive application.
toxic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 04:14 AM   #5
mulo
macrumors 68020
 
mulo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Behind you
Send a message via MSN to mulo
Quote:
Originally Posted by toxic View Post
prl_vm_app (Parallels) is the problem. you shouldn't be running out of RAM unless you're doing stuff in PS, or any other resource-intensive application.
parallels is crap tbh
__________________
iPhone 5 Black 64GB.
17" MBP 2.2GHz i7, 16GB RAM.
Canon 7D + grip, 24-70mm f/2.8L USM, 70-200mm f/2.8L IS USM.
mulo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 05:06 AM   #6
iPhysicist
macrumors 6502a
 
iPhysicist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dresden
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ-R View Post
4GB of ram... I have Mail, Adium, Contact, Preview and Photoshop which I just launched.
What about WindowsServer, Safari, Parallels, iTunes... (>1GB of hogged Ram)? You have to quit (CMD+Q) them to close them. Just hitting the red button wont do anything but closing the window. The Application is running though.
iPhysicist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 08:02 AM   #7
Reelknead1
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
I have the same issue, I some times run out of ram just using word, itunes, and safari. Its crazy, luckily my SSD doesn't slow the computer down to much with swapping but its still driving me crazy because I have to have to restart the computer everyday.
__________________
15" MBP 2010 i7 HiRes 128gb SSD, Magic Mouse, iPhone 5 16gb, iPad 3 16gb wifi, ATV3, Broken 2tb Time Capsule, iTouch 2g 16gb, and many more.
Reelknead1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 09:38 AM   #8
AdamRock
macrumors 6502a
 
AdamRock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Toronto
i also had this issue, but its not realy an issue its due to the multi tasking and you have to fully quit out of programs to free up space on the ram but i was also thinking of going up to 8gb just to save me time.
__________________
5 Working iPods 17" MBP, Quad-Core i7, 750GB HDD, 4GB RAM - 2011 Quad Core PC iPhone 4 16GB
I'm Not An Apple Fanboy, Just Awesome.
AdamRock is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 10:04 AM   #9
DJ-R
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
How odd my Parallels isn't even running.
DJ-R is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 11:39 AM   #10
tastychicken
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
I think alot of users get caught up in the terms and look at only the free memory available.

Take a look at this article which explains the differences in detail:
http://www.macyourself.com/2010/02/1...em-memory-ram/


From the article for the lazy:
Quote:
Free memory
As one might expect, this is the RAM that is sitting there with nothing to do. It is completely free for the system to use when needed.

Wired memory
Critical information stored in RAM by the system, its kernel, and some key application components. This stuff is basically frozen Ė it allocates its space and never moves to the hard drive or gets replaced with user-level data when RAM becomes scarce. An interesting thing to note about wired memory is that it scales based on how much total system memory is installed. For example, a Mac with 1GB of RAM may show 400MB of wired memory, while a Mac with 4GB of RAM may use 700MB. The more memory you have, the more your Mac wants to use it!

Active memory
Information currently in use or very recently used. If youíve got Safari, GarageBand, iTunes, and Photoshop all going at the same time, your active memory is likely fairly high. Quit one or two of these applications and active memory will shrink. But not all of it will go straight back to free memoryÖ some goes to the next category.

Inactive memory
One of the great things about Mac OS Xís memory management system is that it never stops working for you. Inactive memory is basically a handy storage space for convenient access to your most used tools. Letís say you were working in iPhoto and decide to quit it. Some of the information that was stored in active memory by this application will be moved to inactive memory. This way, when you open iPhoto next time it will load up faster than before. Why? Because the computer is not reading everything from its slow hard drive again. I just ran a quick test myself to illustrate this point: After a system restart, I opened iPhoto and it took 3 Dock icon bounces to launch. I quit iPhoto, did some other stuff, and came back to it a few minutes later. This time it launched in 1 bounce.


How do I know if I should upgrade my Macís RAM?
Now that we all better understand how our RAM is being used, itís much easier to determine whether or not more system memory is needed. Most people look at the number next to free memory and think a low amount means they need more RAM. This isnít always the case. As previously mentioned, active memory can get released to inactive memory when itís no longer in use. And this is almost always a good thing, since it can increase speed and responsiveness. So low free memory is something to be happy about! Your RAM isnít sitting there being wasted Ė Mac OS X is utilizing it for your benefit.

Instead, you should be concerned when free AND inactive memory are both very low on a regular basis. This situation means most of your RAM is going to wired & active memory because your running applications are demanding all of it right now. Wired & active memory hold precedence, therefore they can grab as much RAM as they need and can force free & inactive memory to give up their space.
tastychicken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 02:53 PM   #11
Rizvi1
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Laurel, MD (Baltimore, MD / Washington, DC area)
Is taking a macbook pro to 8gb ram worth it if you're in parallels a lot? My 15" 2.53ghz i5 build is on its way to me and has 4gb ram like the rest of the builds
__________________
15" 2.4ghz i5 MBP HR-AG, 1.6GHz C2D MBA; two iPhone 4s 16gb (black,white), Mac Mini 2.53ghz w/ Dell U2410; 1.83 GHz C2D Mac Mini; two iPad 1s; iPhone 4 (all w/ Sprint); 2g iPod Touch 32gb
Rizvi1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 05:00 PM   #12
toxic
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tastychicken View Post
I think alot of users get caught up in the terms and look at only the free memory available.

Take a look at this article which explains the differences in detail:
http://www.macyourself.com/2010/02/1...em-memory-ram/


From the article for the lazy:
the free memory still matters. freeing inactive memory and reallocating it takes more time than it does to allocate free memory. having mere megabytes of memory is not normal and slows the system down to a crawl. moreover, there's no question something's wrong because 500MB has been paged out and 1.6GB has been swapped.

start with repairing permissions. is the OS updated? and check the Accounts - Login Items and /Library/LaunchDaemons for Parallels.
toxic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 07:08 PM   #13
stevemiller
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
i've posted this before, but i wanted to mention again that i've had this problem nonstop since installing snow leopard. i understand inactive memory *should* still be available if needed, but real world usage seems to suggest otherwise.

when free memory dips down to 30mb or so - and it does VERY often - the system becomes unusably sluggish and has on occassion generated up to 10gb of page-outs.

i do not have any virtual machine software on my system; i've reformatted multiple times; and most tellingly, i tried reverting to leopard for a while and the problems instantly went away (when running the exact same software) - but came back just as quickly when i decided to give snow leopard a chance again several months later.

obviously the easy solution would be to stick to leopard, but it doesn't change the fact that apple is getting lax in their software quality control... or conveniently tweaking performance requirements to match their ram upgrade options (or in my case prodding me to upgrade my entire system less than 2 years after purchase).

just sayin.
__________________
macbook pro | iphone | ipad
stevemiller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 07:31 PM   #14
toxic
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevemiller View Post
i've posted this before, but i wanted to mention again that i've had this problem nonstop since installing snow leopard. i understand inactive memory *should* still be available if needed, but real world usage seems to suggest otherwise.

when free memory dips down to 30mb or so - and it does VERY often - the system becomes unusably sluggish and has on occassion generated up to 10gb of page-outs.

i do not have any virtual machine software on my system; i've reformatted multiple times; and most tellingly, i tried reverting to leopard for a while and the problems instantly went away (when running the exact same software) - but came back just as quickly when i decided to give snow leopard a chance again several months later.

obviously the easy solution would be to stick to leopard, but it doesn't change the fact that apple is getting lax in their software quality control... or conveniently tweaking performance requirements to match their ram upgrade options (or in my case prodding me to upgrade my entire system less than 2 years after purchase).

just sayin.
I've had a similar experience, though it was never so bad to get to 30MB free...10.6.4 made it a lot better, though.
toxic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2010, 02:14 PM   #15
WardC
macrumors 68020
 
WardC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Send a message via AIM to WardC
I have a Mac Pro tower, and it takes advantage of triple-channel DDR3 RAM allocation. It runs better when you have three slots full instead of all four (ie. running with 12GB installed instead of 16GB). When you have all four slots filled (or 8 slots on the dual), it shares the memory bandwidth between the third and fourth memory stick and your memory bandwidth is decreased by half. Also, in the "Activity Monitor" it shows most of the free memory as GREEN "Free" space when you have all the slots full, but when you are running triple-channel with only 3 slots full, most of the RAM is displayed as BLUE "Inactive" space on the RAM chart. Quite interesting.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4GHz i7 SSD 16GB RAM
MacBook Pro 15-inch 2.6GHz i7 256GB SSD/ 16GB RAM
iPhone 5 White 64GB
Thinking about Apple...
WardC is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
L style MagSafe + 2006 MacBook Pro 17" = sometimes not charging Julianne MacBook Pro 3 Feb 15, 2011 01:24 PM
MacBook Pro (MBP) 13 inch RAM Bench Tests (XBench + Geekbench) 4GB, 6GB, & 8GB DDRAM NickZac MacBook Pro 15 Jan 26, 2011 08:33 PM
Return my new Macbook Pro 15, or not? Politis MacBook Pro 23 Jan 7, 2011 03:08 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC