Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 24, 2010, 01:21 PM   #1
Bozley0621
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Has the new ATV caused anyone else to start ripping their DVDs?

Up until now, I had no desire to have all of my movies on my computer. Now I'm obsessed with ripping all of my DVDs and will have to upgrade my hard drive. I feel like ATV is going to give me more use out of my DVDs and TV DVDs.

When it comes to buying tv shows and movies, I still think I'll buy the disc version and rip it. I don't like the fact that if I ever leave the Apple system, that the media can't go with me due to DRM.
Bozley0621 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 01:26 PM   #2
WiiDSmoker
macrumors 65816
 
WiiDSmoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hermitage, TN
I already ripped all my DVDs and Blu-Rays prior to the Apple TV to the ISO format. Now I'm in the process of encoding just my DVDs to Apple TV format. As for Blu-Rays, well, it would be an insult to them to downgrade them to Apple TV formatting.
WiiDSmoker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 01:26 PM   #3
Sky Blue
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Why would the new Apple TV make you do that over the old one?
Sky Blue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 01:31 PM   #4
WiiDSmoker
macrumors 65816
 
WiiDSmoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hermitage, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky Blue View Post
Why would the new Apple TV make you do that over the old one?
Not sure if you're asking me or not, but I didn't have the original Apple TV and never had a desire to do so until now. I would assume that is the case for quite a bit of people.
WiiDSmoker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 01:36 PM   #5
OptyCT
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiiDSmoker View Post
Not sure if you're asking me or not, but I didn't have the original Apple TV and never had a desire to do so until now. I would assume that is the case for quite a bit of people.
+1...same here.

To the OP, I would recommend storing your ripped DVD's on an external HDD, if you're not doing so already. There's no reason to upgrade your internal HDD.
OptyCT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 02:31 PM   #6
DJinTX
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I have never owned an AppleTV, and am back and forth on the new one. Although at $99, I'm sure I will pick one up.

As for ripping...

I remember when I got my first Mac with iTunes and an iPod...I immediately started importing all my CDs, and God that took forever! It was an extremely painful process. I'm glad I did it, but i don't foresee doing this with DVDs. At least for now I still have the energy to walk over to the DVD player. We'll see if that lasts.
DJinTX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 03:01 PM   #7
Bozley0621
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I have a laptop and would prefer to just have everything on my MacBook as opposed to plugging in an external drive.

The old Apple TV didn't interest me due to having to sync. Plus, up until this past January, I only ever had PCs and it was always misplacing my iTunes library, I wasn't about to spend the time ripping DVDs.

Prior to the new ATV being announced, I was considering a Mac Mini for a home theatre system. I liked the UI on my MacBook with movies, but don't like hooking my laptop up to the TV. I have a habit of surfing the interwebs while the TV is on.

I'm excited about the ATV, b/c I love Netflix and the UI. It's a much cheaper option than a Mac Mini.
Bozley0621 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 03:10 PM   #8
rnelan7
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Boise
In preparation for the new Apple TV I have also started to rip my collection into iTunes
__________________
rnelan7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 03:16 PM   #9
Cliff3
macrumors 65816
 
Cliff3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky Blue View Post
Why would the new Apple TV make you do that over the old one?
Indeed, the old Apple TV (of which I have two) got me ripping my DVDs. My iTunes library is around 1.2TB in size. It's centrally hosted on a Windows server and content is streamed to the Apple TVs.
__________________
2009 MP 8-core 2.26GHz w/30" ACD | 2012 MBA 13" i78GB■480GB | iPad Air 64GB | iPhone 5 32GB | 2nd Gen AppleTV | 1st Gen AppleTV
Cliff3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 03:32 PM   #10
wmealer
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bozley0621 View Post
The old Apple TV didn't interest me due to having to sync.
Interesting how some people still aren't aware that the original tv allows streaming, just as the new one will require streaming. The only thing that must be synced to view on the original tv are photos. Everything else streams just fine.
wmealer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 03:33 PM   #11
emaja
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Not sure why the new ATV makes anyone more likely to rip, unless they didn't buy the first model of course.

I don't own a ton of DVDs - about 100. The initial rip of movies wasn't bad, but the TV shows were a bit more work. The tagging was the real PITA. Now I just rip them as I buy them.

EDIT: Streaming works beautifully on the old ATV. The new one will be just as good I am sure.
emaja is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 03:43 PM   #12
nzlucas
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cliff3 View Post
Indeed, the old Apple TV (of which I have two) got me ripping my DVDs. My iTunes library is around 1.2TB in size. It's centrally hosted on a Windows server and content is streamed to the Apple TVs.
When you say server, do you just mean a headless pc in the closet or do you have to install a server OS? I know on Mac you can just turn on the apache feature for a website is this different? How do you access the content? do you just load it into itunes on the 'server' then turn on home sharing?

Bit of a noob on networking as i have never got to grips with setting up home wireless networks. If there any articles you know off that would help please share.

To OP, i have ripped lots of my movies to .avi to watch when travelling on my 12inch powerbook( i use VLC). But now i want to use them on tv and ipad i am a bit stuck as the file type is wrong plus i ripped them too lower quality to watch on a decent TV screen. I may have to convert them all again : ( moral is, make sure its the right file and size. Don't be picky about the space required and external HDD otherwise there is no point ripping them cause your harddrive will be full in no time (unless you only have 5 dvd's).

Cheers
__________________
'Discovered by the Germans in 1904, they named it San Diego, which of course in German means a whale's vagina.' Ron Burgundy
nzlucas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 03:46 PM   #13
mullman
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NC
Send a message via AIM to mullman
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bozley0621 View Post
Up until now, I had no desire to have all of my movies on my computer. Now I'm obsessed with ripping all of my DVDs and will have to upgrade my hard drive. I feel like ATV is going to give me more use out of my DVDs and TV DVDs.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky Blue View Post
Why would the new Apple TV make you do that over the old one?
+1

We literally wore our original TV out.
It was a perfect solution for the children to watch our movie collection without damaging and or losing the discs. I am a little disappointed that the new unit will not have local storage, but it certainly is NOT a deal-breaker.

Hopefully the new units will start shipping next week.
__________________
Best, mullman
 since 1989
mullman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 03:58 PM   #14
Cliff3
macrumors 65816
 
Cliff3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: SF Bay Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by nzlucas View Post
When you say server, do you just mean a headless pc in the closet or do you have to install a server OS? I know on Mac you can just turn on the apache feature for a website is this different? How do you access the content? do you just load it into itunes on the 'server' then turn on home sharing?

Bit of a noob on networking as i have never got to grips with setting up home wireless networks. If there any articles you know off that would help please share.

To OP, i have ripped lots of my movies to .avi to watch when travelling on my 12inch powerbook( i use VLC). But now i want to use them on tv and ipad i am a bit stuck as the file type is wrong plus i ripped them too lower quality to watch on a decent TV screen. I may have to convert them all again : ( moral is, make sure its the right file and size. Don't be picky about the space required and external HDD otherwise there is no point ripping them cause your harddrive will be full in no time (unless you only have 5 dvd's).

Cheers
It's one of HP's MediaSmart Servers which run Windows Home Server: http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...4&postcount=52 It did pretty much everything I needed straight out of the box.
__________________
2009 MP 8-core 2.26GHz w/30" ACD | 2012 MBA 13" i78GB■480GB | iPad Air 64GB | iPhone 5 32GB | 2nd Gen AppleTV | 1st Gen AppleTV

Last edited by Cliff3; Sep 24, 2010 at 04:04 PM.
Cliff3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 04:21 PM   #15
From A Buick 8
macrumors 68030
 
From A Buick 8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ky Close to CinCinnati
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bozley0621 View Post
Up until now, I had no desire to have all of my movies on my computer. Now I'm obsessed with ripping all of my DVDs and will have to upgrade my hard drive. I feel like ATV is going to give me more use out of my DVDs and TV DVDs.

When it comes to buying tv shows and movies, I still think I'll buy the disc version and rip it. I don't like the fact that if I ever leave the Apple system, that the media can't go with me due to DRM.
Yes it has, bought a 2TB drive and enclosure and i have between now and Christmas to rip and encode all 600 of my DVD's, Very excited about the ability access all of them so quickly.
From A Buick 8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 04:32 PM   #16
DeusInvictus7
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
I have also started getting my iTunes library ready for the new Apple TV. I only have about 25 movies and a couple seasons of TV shows, but it'll will definitely get bigger.

Slightly off topic though, but does anyone know if streaming from an external drive connected to my AEBS to Apple TV through my MacBook will be good enough or will there be lag from going back and forth from my AEBS?
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus - Hackintosh - Apple TV
DeusInvictus7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 05:02 PM   #17
bohbot16
macrumors 6502a
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeusInvictus7 View Post
I have also started getting my iTunes library ready for the new Apple TV. I only have about 25 movies and a couple seasons of TV shows, but it'll will definitely get bigger.

Slightly off topic though, but does anyone know if streaming from an external drive connected to my AEBS to Apple TV through my MacBook will be good enough or will there be lag from going back and forth from my AEBS?
I do this and it works well. What I've learned:
Use a dual-band 802.11n AEBS (or Time Capsule).
Give the 5GHz and 2.4GHz networks different names (SSIDs).
Connect the Apple TV and MacBook to the 5GHz network.
If your MacBook supports it, use Wake On Demand.
bohbot16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 24, 2010, 06:50 PM   #18
trip1ex
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Nope in response to the OP, but....

The new ATV is going to make me more likely to watch my ripped DVDs.
trip1ex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2010, 01:12 AM   #19
DanMacApple
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
I have been wanting for a while to rip all my DVDs so yes the new apple TV did give me a reason to start working on it. Though it sure takes a lot of time to rip all dvds. I hope the new apple TV makes it worth it!!!
__________________
13.3" MacBook Pro (Mid 2010), 2.4Ghz, 250GB HDD, 4GB RAM, NVIDIA 320M; iPod Touch 32GB (1st Generation); TV2 (2010); Sony Vaio 22" AIO, 2.5Ghz, 1TB HDD, 4GB RAM, Blu-ray
DanMacApple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2010, 08:05 AM   #20
MrMister111
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
So all you rippers/converters, what tools/programs did you use on a Mac/PC, and what presets/settings please?

be interested to know what format etc that everyone is choosing, I've started using Handbrake>Apple TV preset on my Mac, and DVDCatalyst on my PC>Apple TV preset.

I then started do put a few movies through MetaX, iDentify2 for tagging the movie details, they look good on Apple TV when all tagged

cheers

Last edited by MrMister111; Sep 25, 2010 at 08:12 AM.
MrMister111 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2010, 08:20 AM   #21
DeusInvictus7
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by bohbot16 View Post
I do this and it works well. What I've learned:
Use a dual-band 802.11n AEBS (or Time Capsule).
Give the 5GHz and 2.4GHz networks different names (SSIDs).
Connect the Apple TV and MacBook to the 5GHz network.
If your MacBook supports it, use Wake On Demand.
Sweet that's exactly how I was gonna have it set up. Although, isn't the old apple tv only 2.4GHz for wireless N? I didn't think it was dual band. Either way we know that the new one does have wireless N 5GHz so connecting to that and streaming shouldn't be a problem.

Thanks
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus - Hackintosh - Apple TV
DeusInvictus7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2010, 08:35 AM   #22
bohbot16
macrumors 6502a
 
bohbot16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeusInvictus7 View Post
Sweet that's exactly how I was gonna have it set up. Although, isn't the old apple tv only 2.4GHz for wireless N? I didn't think it was dual band. Either way we know that the new one does have wireless N 5GHz so connecting to that and streaming shouldn't be a problem.

Thanks
I have the original Apple TV and it's dual band.
bohbot16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2010, 08:37 AM   #23
chrono1081
macrumors 604
 
chrono1081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Isla Nublar
Mine have already been ripped but I started ripping my Dads. I am getting him an Apple TV so my Mom and I have been ripping his DVD collection. Even though her iMac is fast my Mac Pro is faster I can rip 6 - 8 DVDs in the time it takes her to rip one lol.
__________________
Mac Pro (2010): 3.33Ghz Intel Xeon (6 core) - 24 GB RAM - NVidia Quadro k5000
Macbook Air (2010): 2.13 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM
chrono1081 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble ripping DVDs, but not BDs Michael CM1 Apple TV and Home Theater 4 May 14, 2014 11:09 PM
What's the best app for ripping DVDs? Z8beema Mac Applications and Mac App Store 8 Mar 26, 2014 09:01 PM
Ripping DVDs - there must be a better way mentaluproar Digital Video 11 Dec 30, 2012 02:04 AM
Ripping DVDs Bhunt Apple TV and Home Theater 25 Oct 29, 2012 01:25 PM
ripping DVDs to itunes KMC1993 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Jun 28, 2012 09:43 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:52 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC