Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

The.316

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jul 14, 2010
25100 GR
I am by no means a professional photographer, but I do love to take photos. I have about 9,000+ photos in iPhoto now, but Im looking for something a little more advanced. I will retouch my photos from time to time, but more so, I want to organize my photos better. I notice a lot of people use Aperture and Lightroom, and I was wondering if someone had opinions of the two, and which would be the better way to go. Thanks for the help.

benoitgphoto

macrumors 6502
Jul 19, 2007
I am by no means a professional photographer, but I do love to take photos. I have about 9,000+ photos in iPhoto now, but Im looking for something a little more advanced. I will retouch my photos from time to time, but more so, I want to organize my photos better. I notice a lot of people use Aperture and Lightroom, and I was wondering if someone had opinions of the two, and which would be the better way to go. Thanks for the help.

Feature wise, they are about the same. LIghtroom has probably more 3rd party add-in or presets available since it is available on both platforms Mac and PC. Lightroom is faster to use (less ressource hog) so it depends on which machine you are gonna use the software.

Aperture has better library management IMO. Also, Aperture has a better interface, full screen editing, direct printing and book creation capability through Apple printing services, Aperture integrates perfectly into Mac ecosystem(sync to Apple TV, iPhone, iWork,etc) it will import your iPhoto library in 1 clic.

I chose Aperture and love it. You can download the trial for both and see which one you prefer.

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
Burger King, McDonalds,
Mac or PC
Ford or Chevy.
Lightroom or Aperture

There are no right answers but only what fits your needs the best.