Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 25, 2010, 11:36 PM   #1
rekhyt
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Part of the old MR guard.
How does Migration Assistant Work For New Computers?

I'm quite curious on how Migration Assistant works. Probably in a few more years when OS X 10.7 comes out, I will be purchasing another Mac and giving away my current MacBook Pro.

I really want to keep all my current system config that I have tailored for quite a while and don't want to restart again on a clean installation.

How does Migration Assistant work when restoring through Time Machine?
__________________
iPhone 4 (8GB) // iPad 3rd gen // MacBook Air 11" ('11) // Magic Mouse
rekhyt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 12:08 AM   #2
pdjudd
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Plymouth, MN
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekhyt View Post
I'm quite curious on how Migration Assistant works. Probably in a few more years when OS X 10.7 comes out, I will be purchasing another Mac and giving away my current MacBook Pro.

I really want to keep all my current system config that I have tailored for quite a while and don't want to restart again on a clean installation.

How does Migration Assistant work when restoring through Time Machine?
If you recover from time machine it will restore everything as of the last backup - thatís what time machine was designed for.
pdjudd is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2010, 04:25 AM   #3
rekhyt
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Part of the old MR guard.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdjudd View Post
If you recover from time machine it will restore everything as of the last backup - thatís what time machine was designed for.
I don't think you get what I mean-I want to know how well Migration Assistant copes with restoring from Time Machine from a backup from an old computer to a new computer.
__________________
iPhone 4 (8GB) // iPad 3rd gen // MacBook Air 11" ('11) // Magic Mouse
rekhyt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2010, 09:23 AM   #4
John T
macrumors 68020
 
John T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK.
I've recently purchased a new iMac. Using Migration Assistant, I copied everything from my old to the new computer.

Now, my new machine is exactly the same as the old one - settings for Airport, Internet, mail, iTunes, Accounts etc are all intact.
John T is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2010, 09:26 AM   #5
miles01110
macrumors 604
 
miles01110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
I had a bunch of permissions problems (namely when I restored from the TM backup the new account had none) when I used Migration Assistant. If I did it again I would clone from a bootable backup.
__________________
Got a problem? Check here first.
miles01110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2010, 09:31 AM   #6
Batt
macrumors 65816
 
Batt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Syracuse, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by rekhyt View Post
I don't think you get what I mean-I want to know how well Migration Assistant copes with restoring from Time Machine from a backup from an old computer to a new computer.
Use Setup Asst. It's the thing that comes up automatically when you fire up a new Mac for the first time. It works like MA but better. For one thing, it doesn't require you to make a new account, it just transfers everything in one clean operation.
__________________
13" MBP i7 8/750 Yellow Miata Touch 2 & 5, buncha Nanos iPad 1, iPad 3, iPad Air 3 ATVs more
Batt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2010, 05:28 PM   #7
chappy87
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southampton, UK
Hi guys,

Just about to get rid of my Alu MacBook, and replacing it with a 2007 iMac- I am running Snow Leopard, whereas the iMac is arriving with Tiger on it. I have the Snow Leopard discs, so I will be upgrading straight away, but I also want to transfer all of my MacBook's data onto the iMac with the Time Machine Migration Assistant. Obviously Snow Leopard will have to be installed before I have the option to use Time Machine Migration Assistant, so in what order should I do everything?! Should I originally boot from the Snow Leopard disc so I get a clean install, and then do the Migration?

Cheers in advance guys.
__________________
MacBook Air, 13", i5, 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD
iMac, 20", C2D 2.4 Ghz, 2GB RAM, 500GB HDD
iPhone 5, iPad 2 16GB, iPad Mini 16GB
Apple TV 2
chappy87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Migration Assistant mediotanque Mac Applications and Mac App Store 22 Mar 18, 2014 02:10 PM
migration assistant between DP and GM PinkWaters OS X Mavericks (10.9) 4 Oct 11, 2013 09:23 AM
migration assistant or setup assistant? [also connection method] KaraH iMac 1 Oct 7, 2013 10:48 AM
Migration assistant EK23 iMac 0 Jan 11, 2013 03:33 PM
Migration Assistant, password does not work?? weezerr OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Sep 2, 2012 04:22 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC