Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 26, 2010, 08:00 AM   #1
MK25toLife
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
How do I make use of Facetime w/family members out of the country w/o paying?

I am in the US and have family members in Europe and Asia that have the iPhone 4, how do I make use of Facetime and not have to pay long distance fees?
MK25toLife is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 08:00 AM   #2
Jare
macrumors 65816
 
Jare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada
Google.

Facetime is done over WiFi only, and therefor it is free for anyone, anywhere.
__________________
"Feels like I'm wearing NOTHING AT ALL!" - Stupid Sexy Flanders
iOS, OS X & Android Developer
13" MacBook Air, Space Grey iPhone 5S, Moto X, Google Glass Explorers Kit
Jare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 08:15 AM   #3
MK25toLife
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jare View Post
Google.

Facetime is done over WiFi only, and therefor it is free for anyone, anywhere.
Ok, I was thrown off b/c I just got back from a trip in Asia and was using Airplane mode the whole time and had wi-fi and could not utilize Factime.
MK25toLife is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 08:46 AM   #4
Jare
macrumors 65816
 
Jare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by MK25toLife View Post
Ok, I was thrown off b/c I just got back from a trip in Asia and was using Airplane mode the whole time and had wi-fi and could not utilize Factime.
You can still use Facetime under Airplane Mode. Turn on Airplane mode, THEN turn on WiFi, which will keep you connected to your WiFi Network. From there, just call someone via Facetime and ta-da.
__________________
"Feels like I'm wearing NOTHING AT ALL!" - Stupid Sexy Flanders
iOS, OS X & Android Developer
13" MacBook Air, Space Grey iPhone 5S, Moto X, Google Glass Explorers Kit
Jare is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 08:58 AM   #5
iPhone1
macrumors Demi-God
 
iPhone1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Honolulu, HI
I've noticed that FaceTime may not work with Ad-Hoc wireless networks. Some airlines use this type of network and call it Wi-Fi. Also, if you use MyWi to broadcast a network, FaceTime will not work either.
iPhone1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 09:11 AM   #6
JediMeister
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
To initiate a Facetime call with a family member who's abroad you should do it from their contact card in the Contacts application, rather than calling them normally and converting to a FaceTime call.
JediMeister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2010, 12:17 AM   #7
eastercat
macrumors 68040
 
eastercat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX
IIRC, facetime does require sending a text message to that person.
__________________
64 GB space grey iPhone 5S (AT&T); 16 GB space grey iPad retina mini (Verizon with T-Mobile sim); 2014 rMBP 2.8 GHz quad core i7, 16 GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Nvidia GeForce GT 750M
eastercat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2010, 11:56 AM   #8
dyn
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: .nl
That text message is only used to activate FaceTime. It only registers your phone number (if you have an iPhone; if you have an iPod Touch you have to register your e-mail address) on some Apple server so it can use it as a unique id to recognize you. The activation is a one time thing only (except when you disable FaceTime and enable it afterwards as well as restoring the iPhone; these actions will trigger a new activation).

The actual FaceTime call uses known protocols such as xmpp (better known as jabber) over a standard tcp/ip connection. To connect users FaceTime uses the phone number (in case of an iPhone) or the registered e-mail address (in case of an iPod Touch) so it knows which persons to connect.
dyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2010, 11:01 AM   #9
duliel
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
regarding your question about facetime

Quote:
Originally Posted by MK25toLife View Post
I am in the US and have family members in Europe and Asia that have the iPhone 4, how do I make use of Facetime and not have to pay long distance fees?

Did you find a solution to your question? because I came to Asia and tried to use Facetime, but I could not use the Facetime somehow. I am connected to wifi, and disabled airplane mode but it didn't seem to work at all.
duliel is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Info constantly changes between family members bt22 iOS 7 1 Dec 25, 2013 07:24 PM
iMessage FaceTime not working when in different country araje iPhone 3 Mar 29, 2013 02:01 AM
Any USA members that use a bill paying service? lpeedin Community Discussion 4 Jul 30, 2012 12:42 PM
RapidProtect: Track your family members and locate them on Map nancylewis iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Jun 4, 2012 02:32 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC