Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 26, 2010, 10:02 AM   #1
travis32134
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Carrier Name and Battery Precentage without Jailbreak



1. Download ibackupbot from here http://www.icopybot.com/ibackupbot_setup.exe

2. Plug in your ipod touch, and in itunes right click your device and create a bcakup.

3. Open Ibackupbot, and click your backup which should be located on the left side.

4. Find Library/Preferences/com.apple.springboard.plist and open it, hit cancel if there is some registration notice.

5. after <dict> type your info in this format <key>SBFakeCarrier</key>
<string>Carrier</string>
<key>SBShowBatteryLevel</key>
<true/>

6 ctrl + s to save the file

7. then right click your backup in ibackupbot and hit restore.

8. done!
travis32134 is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 12:08 PM   #2
Abscissa
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VA
My 4.1 iPod touch fourth generation already had numeric battery.
__________________
 MacBook 2.1ghz, 500gb HD, 4gb RAM
 32gb 4G iPod Touch 4.1 - Jailbroken - Emulator Slave
 GameCenter: Abscissa
Abscissa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 12:26 PM   #3
tablo13
macrumors 65816
 
tablo13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abscissa View Post
My 4.1 iPod touch fourth generation already had numeric battery.
It's because u restored from backup.
__________________
iPod touch 4th gen 32GB (jailbroken with limera1n and greenpois0n)
tablo13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 02:14 PM   #4
SoraLimit
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
What if you only want the battery percentage? Just enter the last two lines?
__________________
iPod touch 4G 32GB iOS 4.2.1 Game Center: soralimit
SoraLimit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 02:23 PM   #5
Code.Red
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoraLimit View Post
What if you only want the battery percentage? Just enter the last two lines?
Correct, all you would add is

<key>SBShowBatteryLevel</key>
<true/>
Code.Red is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 02:33 PM   #6
SoraLimit
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Pretty simple stuff. Seems like an obvious feature that Apple should have done in the first place.

Anyways, thanks for the help!
__________________
iPod touch 4G 32GB iOS 4.2.1 Game Center: soralimit
SoraLimit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 02:47 PM   #7
burgundyyears
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Really useful, thanks for posting this.
burgundyyears is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 02:49 PM   #8
ohaithar
macrumors 6502a
 
ohaithar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Elk Grove Village, IL, USA
Other lines that work....
Quote:
Hide Youtube Itunes and Safari double tap to hide restart ipod for them to come back:
<key>SBEnableAppReveal</key>
<string>YES</string>

show numerical signal strength:
<key>SBShowRSSI</key>
<string>YES</string>

change what time says:
<key>SBFakeTime</key>
<string>YES</string>
<key>SBFakeTimeString</key>
<string>what you want it to say</string>
ohaithar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 03:51 PM   #9
tablo13
macrumors 65816
 
tablo13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
If I'm doing the signal strength in percentage and battery percentage, I write
<key>SBShowBatteryLevel</key>
<true/>
<key>SBShowRSSI</key>
<string>YES</string>

correct? Or do I put the <true/> at the end? It didn't work.
__________________
iPod touch 4th gen 32GB (jailbroken with limera1n and greenpois0n)

Last edited by tablo13; Sep 26, 2010 at 04:17 PM.
tablo13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 05:18 PM   #10
SoraLimit
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ohaithar View Post
Other lines that work....
Are you sure the value is YES? Since the iPod touch obviously reads boolean values, the value under the one you want should say <true/>. Writing YES as a string, the iPod touch will literally read that as "YES" rather than identifying what it should do.
__________________
iPod touch 4G 32GB iOS 4.2.1 Game Center: soralimit
SoraLimit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 05:22 PM   #11
tablo13
macrumors 65816
 
tablo13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoraLimit View Post
Are you sure the value is YES? Since the iPod touch obviously reads boolean values, the value under the one you want should say <true/>. Writing YES as a string, the iPod touch will literally read that as "YES" rather than identifying what it should do.
Okay, I'll try it now.

EDIT: It still doesn't change the battery or signal percentage.
__________________
iPod touch 4th gen 32GB (jailbroken with limera1n and greenpois0n)
tablo13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 08:28 PM   #12
SoraLimit
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tablo13 View Post
Okay, I'll try it now.

EDIT: It still doesn't change the battery or signal percentage.
Make sure you're editing on the "Library/Preferences/com.apple.springboard.plist" and not the "Library/Preferences/com.apple.springboard.plist.nNDIWET". It's the fourth last one from the bottom.

I made that mistake.
__________________
iPod touch 4G 32GB iOS 4.2.1 Game Center: soralimit
SoraLimit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 09:10 PM   #13
tablo13
macrumors 65816
 
tablo13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoraLimit View Post
Make sure you're editing on the "Library/Preferences/com.apple.springboard.plist" and not the "Library/Preferences/com.apple.springboard.plist.nNDIWET". It's the fourth last one from the bottom.

I made that mistake.
Yeah, I did. I put

<key>SBShowBatteryLevel</key>
<true/>
<key>SBShowRSSI</key>
<true/>

EDIT: Looks like I put it under SBParentalControls something... it works now.
Is there any way to display the signal strength in bars AND numbers?

EDIT: looks like I can just tap the number to get the bars.
__________________
iPod touch 4th gen 32GB (jailbroken with limera1n and greenpois0n)

Last edited by tablo13; Sep 26, 2010 at 11:07 PM.
tablo13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 09:16 PM   #14
SoraLimit
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by tablo13 View Post
Yeah, I did. I put

<key>SBShowBatteryLevel</key>
<true/>
<key>SBShowRSSI</key>
<true/>
And restored from backup in the program, and not iTunes?
__________________
iPod touch 4G 32GB iOS 4.2.1 Game Center: soralimit
SoraLimit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2010, 09:35 PM   #15
tablo13
macrumors 65816
 
tablo13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoraLimit View Post
And restored from backup in the program, and not iTunes?
Of course.
__________________
iPod touch 4th gen 32GB (jailbroken with limera1n and greenpois0n)
tablo13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2010, 07:31 PM   #16
dododedodonl
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Is there an app for mac available?? (like iBackupBot)??
dododedodonl is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2010, 06:30 PM   #17
citizenal
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Sweet.. been looking for this fix. Thanks!
citizenal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2010, 10:06 PM   #18
iLike2Touch
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Can you enable Multitasking and Unified iPod with this?
iLike2Touch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2010, 08:14 AM   #19
battlekid
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Somewhere in the middle of nowhere
Quote:
Originally Posted by iLike2Touch View Post
Can you enable Multitasking and Unified iPod with this?
No, you need to be jailbroken.
3.1.3-4.0.1 -- www.jailbreakme.com

4.1 -- www.greenpois0n.com
__________________
iPod Touch 4G 32GB
battlekid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2011, 01:14 AM   #20
axyz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by travis32134 View Post
image

1. Download ibackupbot from here http://www.icopybot.com/ibackupbot_setup.exe

2. Plug in your ipod touch, and in itunes right click your device and create a bcakup.

3. Open ibackupbot, and click your backup which should be located on the left side.

4. Find library/preferences/com.apple.springboard.plist and open it, hit cancel if there is some registration notice.

5. After <dict> type your info in this format <key>sbfakecarrier</key>
<string>carrier</string>
<key>sbshowbatterylevel</key>
<true/>

6 ctrl + s to save the file

7. Then right click your backup in ibackupbot and hit restore.

8. Done!
i tried this on my ipod touch 4th gen for several times but still no effect...help....please...thanks!
it's just the carrier name that doesn't work...

Last edited by axyz; Jul 7, 2011 at 02:20 AM.
axyz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 4, 2011, 07:21 AM   #21
niknik1998
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
i dont have the fake carrier

i did it but i only got the battery percentage but not the fake carrier what should i do?
niknik1998 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 08:34 PM   #22
iphonenub
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Just did this works great! Questions: (battery percent)
1. Is this like the jailbreak method in that if I restore through iTunes with a backup post battery percent it will give any iPod the percent?

2. If I update to iOS 5 when it comes out will the percent carry over or do you guys think I will have to re-do it?

Basically what the above questions are asking is: will I ever have to re-do these steps? Either way this is awesome because I need to know my battery level at all times and I want to stay stock and I'm too lazy to keep checking a 3rd party app.
iphonenub is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 11:07 AM   #23
Ipoded
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Smile Works for 5.1

it works for my 5.1 but sometimes not accurate
Ipoded is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 03:07 PM   #24
Sawa
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Apple must add battery precentage nativly to iOS. This is only resone that I jailbreak my ipod touch.

Last edited by Sawa; Mar 24, 2012 at 03:15 PM.
Sawa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2012, 04:15 PM   #25
Invincibilizer
macrumors 6502a
 
Invincibilizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Why mess with the code when you can just jailbreak which is easier and you can access to apps and tweaks
__________________
Former- iOS 5.0.1
Current- Android 4.0.3 ICS
Windows XP and Windows 7
Invincibilizer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has anyone figured out how to change the carrier logo w/o jailbreak? tymaster50 iOS 7 3 Aug 10, 2013 01:09 PM
Carrier settings update & jailbreak? ideal.dreams iOS 6 1 Jun 17, 2013 01:34 AM
iPhone: Do carrier settings updates effect your jailbreak in anyway? quietstormSD Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Jun 15, 2013 03:40 PM
iPhone: Any way to change Carrier image/text without jailbreak? plainwhitetay iOS 6 25 Jan 9, 2013 07:38 PM
iPhone: BytaFont carrier and battery traumuhhtize Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Jul 11, 2012 03:02 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC