Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 28, 2010, 07:35 PM   #1
annefront
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Install Snow Leopard on iMac G5

I think I have an iMac G5 - flat screen, white covering. Right now I have OS X 10.5.8 & it's running rather slow. The processor is 2 GHz Intel Core Duo, Memory 512 MB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM. I want to upgrade to Snow Leopard 10.6.3 - tried today but says I don't have enough memory. How do I get more memory & what do I need to do it.
Thank you for any help!

Last edited by annefront; Sep 28, 2010 at 07:36 PM. Reason: add
annefront is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2010, 07:36 PM   #2
r.j.s
Moderator emeritus
 
r.j.s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Fort Knox
It's not possible. SL requires Intel.
r.j.s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2010, 07:39 PM   #3
alust2013
macrumors 68040
 
alust2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the fence
Wait. Is it a G5 or a Core Duo? It sounds like you have a first generation Intel machine rather than a G5. If it's a core duo, you need to upgrade to at least 1GB RAM (2GB would be better), then you can run Snow Leopard. If it's a G5, you're unfortunately out of luck. I would definitely up the RAM either way, 512MB isn't much anymore.
__________________
a computer with some GHz and a few GB, some stuff to play music.
-witty comment here-
alust2013 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2010, 07:43 PM   #4
annefront
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
is there anyway to add intel to the computer?

What other thing could i do to make the system faster? or do i just need to upgrade to a new computer?
annefront is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2010, 07:44 PM   #5
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Quote:
Originally Posted by annefront View Post
is there anyway to add intel to the computer?

What other thing could i do to make the system faster? or do i just need to upgrade to a new computer?


Look for the Model Identifier and report back, and you can't add an Intel CPU to a G5 iMac.

If you have a G5 iMac, no Snow Leopard, but if the amount of RAM you stated is correct, you can add up to 2GB RAM I suppose. That can be determined via the Model Identifier.

If you have a Core Duo iMac, Snow Leopard can be installed and more RAM can be added too. The Model Identifier will help there to identify how much.

To see a list of all the existing iMacs: http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl...ndex-imac.html

To know the difference between G5 and Core Duo, in a way anyway: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apple–Intel_transition
spinnerlys is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2010, 07:45 PM   #6
annefront
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
It's a Intel Core Duo
2 Ghz
1 processor
2 cores
L2 Cache 2 MB
Memory 512 MB
Bus speed 667 MHz
Boot ROM Version IM41.0039.B00

Model Identifier iMac 4,1

Last edited by r.j.s; Sep 28, 2010 at 08:57 PM. Reason: Post Merge - Please use multiquote
annefront is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2010, 07:50 PM   #7
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Quote:
Originally Posted by annefront View Post
It's a Intel Core Duo
2 Ghz
1 processor
2 cores
L2 Cache 2 MB
Memory 512 MB
Bus speed 667 MHz
Boot ROM Version IM41.0039.B00
Quote:
Originally Posted by annefront View Post
Model Identifier iMac 4,1
Then it is this iMac: http://www.everymac.com/systems/appl...cd_2.0_20.html

You can install Mac OS X 10.6 Snow Leopard via the 29 USD Upgrade DVD onto it.
And you can upgrade the RAM to 2GB for 50 USD via this: http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other.../53DR2SPAIR2G/

Last edited by r.j.s; Sep 28, 2010 at 08:57 PM.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2010, 07:51 PM   #8
alust2013
macrumors 68040
 
alust2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the fence
Quote:
Originally Posted by annefront View Post
It's a Intel Core Duo
2 Ghz
1 processor
2 cores
L2 Cache 2 MB
Memory 512 MB
Bus speed 667 MHz
Boot ROM Version IM41.0039.B00
Ok, you do have an Intel machine, not a G5. They do look the same though. Anyhow, you just need 1GB or more memory to run snow leopard, and this memory will work with your computer.
__________________
a computer with some GHz and a few GB, some stuff to play music.
-witty comment here-
alust2013 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2010, 07:54 PM   #9
OllyW
Moderator
 
OllyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Black Country, England
Quote:
Originally Posted by annefront View Post
I think I have an iMac G5 - flat screen, white covering. Right now I have OS X 10.5.8 & it's running rather slow. The processor is 2 GHz Intel Core Duo, Memory 512 MB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM. I want to upgrade to Snow Leopard 10.6.3 - tried today but says I don't have enough memory. How do I get more memory & what do I need to do it.
Thank you for any help!
That isn't a G5, it sounds like you've got an Early 2006 iMac. (Yes, iMac 4.1 confirms this.)

You should upgrade the memory to 2GB (2 x 1GB) and it will run Snow Leopard reasonably well.

Crucial is an easy place to source the correct RAM if you use their Memory Advisor tool.

It shows you how to install memory in your iMac User Manual. If you've lost the manual you can download a PDF copy from the Apple web site.
__________________
Some Apple stuff
Some other stuff
https://soundcloud.com/disco-tramps
OllyW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2010, 07:56 PM   #10
annefront
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010

thank you for all of you & your help!
annefront is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Used iMac (mid 2011) had Mavericks erased and crashes with Snow Leopard install disk Timberwoofy Mac Applications and Mac App Store 5 Mar 4, 2014 11:02 PM
iMac was running Snow Leo; Genius put Mtn Lion; I NEED Snow Leopard back; have disk SophiaSapphire Mac Basics and Help 14 Oct 20, 2013 01:17 PM
Install Snow Leopard on a new 2012 iMac? douglas iMac 20 Sep 18, 2013 05:45 AM
MacBook pro running 10.5.8 won't install Snow Leopard, reboots 25% through install akmusher907 MacBook Pro 0 Feb 18, 2013 12:41 AM
No disk showing on Snow Leopard install - early-2008 iMac estevito iMac 0 Nov 27, 2012 03:32 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC