Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 30, 2010, 12:01 PM   #1
parkds
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
How do you rename new AppleTV?

I don't know if I am just missing something, but how do you rename the new AppleTV? If you look in the Remote App, it is simply named Apple TV. This obviously gets very confusing with more than 1 unit on your network. Unlike the old AppleTV, the new unit does not show up in the "devices" sidebar or the "AppleTV" list in preferences.

Thanks!
parkds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 12:04 PM   #2
DeusInvictus7
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
On your Apple TV, go to Settings, then General...then Name. Did you look there?
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus - Hackintosh - Apple TV
DeusInvictus7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 12:06 PM   #3
parkds
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeusInvictus7 View Post
On your Apple TV, go to Settings, then General...then Name. Did you look there?
Of course not. That would have been way too obvious. Thanks much!
parkds is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 12:06 PM   #4
Sykotic
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeusInvictus7 View Post
On your Apple TV, go to Settings, then General...then Name. Did you look there?
Yep, they have a bunch of defaults and you can do a custom name from there too.
Sykotic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2010, 12:07 PM   #5
DeusInvictus7
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Kitchener, Ontario
Quote:
Originally Posted by parkds View Post
Of course not. That would have been way too obvious. Thanks much!
No prob.
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus - Hackintosh - Apple TV
DeusInvictus7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you rename OS on rEFIt? Apple Noob Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Mar 10, 2013 05:04 PM
Rename dcim? ivnj iOS 5 and earlier 1 Feb 13, 2013 11:46 PM
How do I rename photos? DarrenUK Mac Basics and Help 6 Dec 30, 2012 05:31 PM
Handbrake: iPad vs AppleTV vs AppleTV 2 vs AppleTV 3 presettings rrk100 Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Nov 11, 2012 06:04 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC