Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 30, 2010, 07:52 PM   #1
mac&cheesey
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
New Apple TV - some files don't play

I had the old Apple TV. Today, I purchased a new Apple TV. Came home, replaced the old one, got Home Sharing all set up and tried to play some movies. It looks like about half of my library won't play. I think I've narrowed it down to my .m4v files. However, in looking at the specs for the new Apple TV it should play them just fine.

Anyone else having this problem. I was on the phone with Apple for an hour and they couldn't figure it out. The guy even said that the videos are within spec and should play. He is having their engineers look at it and they'll get back to me in a week.

I don't really want to reconvert half of my 1.5TB library if I don't have to.

Also, just to note... All of the files played on the old Apple TV and all of them play in iTunes.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
m&c
__________________
Me: 15" rMBP | iPhone5s | iPadAir
Her: 13" MBA | iPhone5 | retina iPad Mini
Us: 27" Cinema Display | MacMini | AppleTVs
mac&cheesey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2010, 09:40 PM   #2
mac&cheesey
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Nobody? Really??
__________________
Me: 15" rMBP | iPhone5s | iPadAir
Her: 13" MBA | iPhone5 | retina iPad Mini
Us: 27" Cinema Display | MacMini | AppleTVs
mac&cheesey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2010, 10:01 PM   #3
NEBaghead
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Omaha, NE
Send a message via Skype™ to NEBaghead
Same problem here. No idea why it is doing it. It's only happening to some of my MP4 files. I've tried renaming them with the m4v extension and still no luck.
__________________
|21.5" iMac, i5 2.5ghz QC Ghz 12GB|13" MBP 2.26GHZ 4GB -160GB SSD|
|White 16gb iPhone 4s|TV2|iPad 2 16gb White|
NEBaghead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2010, 10:28 PM   #4
mac&cheesey
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Thanks for the reply. Now I know I'm not the only one on the island!

So for you, it's your .mp4 files that are not playing? For me it was .m4v files that wouldn't play.

Do you know what you used to convert the videos? I think I used either Toast or VisualHub. All of my newer ones have been converted with iFlicks and seem to be working fine. In fact, I'm using iFlicks to convert the .m4v's to .mov format. Seems to be working so far. Just frustrating... I feel like I shouldn't have to re-encode a bunch of media that plays in iTunes and played in the old Apple TV. Oh well, until the Apple engineers get back to me that's what I'll be doing.

m&c
__________________
Me: 15" rMBP | iPhone5s | iPadAir
Her: 13" MBA | iPhone5 | retina iPad Mini
Us: 27" Cinema Display | MacMini | AppleTVs
mac&cheesey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2010, 11:17 PM   #5
NEBaghead
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Omaha, NE
Send a message via Skype™ to NEBaghead
I used Handbrake.

I found a way to fix the video. I downloaded Subler and updated the meta tags and saved the file as a m4v. It's a pass through conversion so no encoding occurs.

I don't know if it is a problem with the meta tag or somehow the Apple TV is having problems decoding the audio track. I'm going to try to just edit the meta tag and see if that fixes it. I'll let you know what I find out.
__________________
|21.5" iMac, i5 2.5ghz QC Ghz 12GB|13" MBP 2.26GHZ 4GB -160GB SSD|
|White 16gb iPhone 4s|TV2|iPad 2 16gb White|
NEBaghead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2010, 11:26 PM   #6
NEBaghead
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Omaha, NE
Send a message via Skype™ to NEBaghead
Ok, it looks like its the meta data. Just open the file with a meta tag editor. I used iDentify. Change something in the meta data. I just added a space in the Short description and save the changes.
__________________
|21.5" iMac, i5 2.5ghz QC Ghz 12GB|13" MBP 2.26GHZ 4GB -160GB SSD|
|White 16gb iPhone 4s|TV2|iPad 2 16gb White|
NEBaghead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2010, 11:31 PM   #7
ASFx
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
You might want to try using MetaX for your meta tags. I've used it for hundreds of movies and never had a problem with corruption in the meta data.
__________________
Early 2008 Mac Pro 8-Core 2.8GHz, 16GB RAM, ATI Radeon HD 5870 1024 MB, 256GB OCZ Vertex 4 SSD, AirPort Extreme, 2x 27" 2560x1440 Asus Monitors
ASFx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2010, 11:43 PM   #8
NEBaghead
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Omaha, NE
Send a message via Skype™ to NEBaghead
Quote:
Originally Posted by ASFx View Post
You might want to try using MetaX for your meta tags. I've used it for hundreds of movies and never had a problem with corruption in the meta data.
I used to use MetaX but lately, I can hardly get any return on my searches. I just started using iDentify and it works nicely.
__________________
|21.5" iMac, i5 2.5ghz QC Ghz 12GB|13" MBP 2.26GHZ 4GB -160GB SSD|
|White 16gb iPhone 4s|TV2|iPad 2 16gb White|
NEBaghead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2010, 11:51 PM   #9
Tor Eckman
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Try MetaZ
Tor Eckman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2010, 06:14 PM   #10
mac&cheesey
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Didn't work for me

I tried using both MetaX and iDentify to change some of the meta data of the files with no success.

Also, I tried to use iFlicks to "flatten to quicktime movie" which was also unsuccessful.

The only thing working for me is doing a full conversion in iFlicks to the AppleTV setting. Oh well, at least I can set it to run and then let it go for 24 hours.

I got a call back from Apple Support. They escalated it to their engineers who confirmed the files (based on their format, size and bitrate) should work in the new AppleTV. They want me to send a sample file to them so they can see if they can figure out why it's not working.

m&c
__________________
Me: 15" rMBP | iPhone5s | iPadAir
Her: 13" MBA | iPhone5 | retina iPad Mini
Us: 27" Cinema Display | MacMini | AppleTVs
mac&cheesey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2010, 06:40 AM   #11
KD35
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I had a similar problem, where most of my playlists would not even show up... I figured out if you go into your itunes library on your mac/pc, you have to make sure that anything music/movie/etc that you want to play on your ATV is "checked". My ATV will not play any content that is not "checked" in my mac itunes library.
KD35 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2010, 09:09 PM   #12
rediffusion
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brooklyn NY
I have opening some avi files in Quicktime and saved them as mov files. They play fine on iTunes but are not recognized by my TV2. Any idea why?
rediffusion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2010, 09:30 PM   #13
SurfMacJpMtb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by rediffusion View Post
I have opening some avi files in Quicktime and saved them as mov files. They play fine on iTunes but are not recognized by my TV2. Any idea why?
Try using the export function in Quicktime to create an AppleTV compatible file. File, Export and choose from Movie to AppleTV. I like to use the Quicktime 7 player but the newer player should get the same results.
__________________
MacPro, MacBook Pro, iPad, iPod Touch, tv
SurfMacJpMtb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2010, 10:16 PM   #14
rediffusion
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brooklyn NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by SurfMacJpMtb View Post
Try using the export function in Quicktime to create an AppleTV compatible file. File, Export and choose from Movie to AppleTV. I like to use the Quicktime 7 player but the newer player should get the same results.
Ok, thanks. I'll give it a try.
rediffusion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2010, 10:21 PM   #15
silentsim
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Try this, this is what solved some of my HD videos from not playing:

Options, Sound/video:

turn digital audio or whatever from Auto to ON.

Then they should play!
silentsim is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2010, 10:24 PM   #16
rediffusion
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brooklyn NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by silentsim View Post
Try this, this is what solved some of my HD videos from not playing:

Options, Sound/video:

turn digital audio or whatever from Auto to ON.

Then they should play!
My problem is they appear in iTunes but not on the AppleTV.
rediffusion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 08:21 AM   #17
mrgreen4242
macrumors 601
 
mrgreen4242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Any update to this? I've got one at least that won't work, so far, out of ~500, but haven't had a chance to do a lot of testing yet.
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1, 8x2.26ghz, 10gb, 128gb SSD, 2x750gb (RAID1), 2tb, ATI6750
iPad air 64gb wifi - 16gb iPhone 5s - AppleTV3
mrgreen4242 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 01:41 PM   #18
mac&cheesey
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Sorry, no update here. Haven't heard back yet from the Apple engineers. My solution is the most obvious one but also the most time consuming... I'm re-encoding all offending files.

m&c
__________________
Me: 15" rMBP | iPhone5s | iPadAir
Her: 13" MBA | iPhone5 | retina iPad Mini
Us: 27" Cinema Display | MacMini | AppleTVs
mac&cheesey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 02:10 PM   #19
musio
macrumors 68000
 
musio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Keep us updated with this Ol chap
musio is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 02:32 PM   #20
mac&cheesey
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Will do!
__________________
Me: 15" rMBP | iPhone5s | iPadAir
Her: 13" MBA | iPhone5 | retina iPad Mini
Us: 27" Cinema Display | MacMini | AppleTVs
mac&cheesey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 05:39 PM   #21
mrgreen4242
macrumors 601
 
mrgreen4242's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac&cheesey View Post
Sorry, no update here. Haven't heard back yet from the Apple engineers. My solution is the most obvious one but also the most time consuming... I'm re-encoding all offending files.

m&c
That's what I'm doing. So far it seems to be just one disc that was ripped long ago (that had 4 or 5 titles on it - kids stuff), but haven't had a chance to try everything, of course.
__________________
Mac Pro 4,1, 8x2.26ghz, 10gb, 128gb SSD, 2x750gb (RAID1), 2tb, ATI6750
iPad air 64gb wifi - 16gb iPhone 5s - AppleTV3
mrgreen4242 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 06:24 PM   #22
laurim
macrumors 6502a
 
laurim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Minnesota USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrgreen4242 View Post
That's what I'm doing. So far it seems to be just one disc that was ripped long ago (that had 4 or 5 titles on it - kids stuff), but haven't had a chance to try everything, of course.
You guys might want to check out the Automator script ( http://dl.dropbox.com/u/242398/Batch...ions-1.0.4.dmg ) a guy offers in the How to sticky on the main page of this ATV forum. Has worked like a champ for me for adding tags to movies and tv shows I processed with Handbrake.
laurim is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2010, 10:10 PM   #23
crotalus99
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
What is the error message you get?

I get something like "can not load data, try again later"

Some movies work and some don't.

The other problem is the menus into TV shows, podcasts, music are quick. Movies though I watch the spinning circle for awhile, but only sometimes. I wonder if it is related.

I have 3 aTV ver 1 and all movies work fine. I do have about 900 movies on a Drobo.
__________________
Planning on living forever.. So far so good!
Macbook Pro iPad MacMini as a server; Drobo 3TB 3 aTVs
crotalus99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2010, 08:21 AM   #24
Shoesy
macrumors 6502a
 
Shoesy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Colchester, UK.
Have you guys tried converting the audio streams to aac?

Just my best guess.
__________________
Virtual Print Shop In the UK
Lovely invitations designed and printed
or if you're local... Colchester Tweets

Last edited by Shoesy; Oct 19, 2010 at 04:13 PM. Reason: Don't know what I'm talking about.
Shoesy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2010, 03:53 PM   #25
Stuart21
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Im a noob when it comes to this stuff. I have some mp4 files that will not open in itunes and allow me to add it to my library. What should i be looking for to determine the problem?
Stuart21 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Files play in Apple TV but not iTunes DaPhatty Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Oct 30, 2013 02:15 AM
Transfer mp4 files to flash drive, don't play in order ViperDesign MacBook Pro 2 Apr 2, 2013 10:47 AM
Some Videos Don't Play iMas70 Mac mini 8 Feb 17, 2013 04:07 PM
Play Video_TS files with Apple TV Goop Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Feb 7, 2013 08:34 PM
Apple TV and a Home Receiver? Files won't play. DaGrandMastah Apple TV and Home Theater 9 Jan 2, 2013 06:53 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC