Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 2, 2010, 03:54 PM   #1
Icculus
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Send a message via AIM to Icculus Send a message via MSN to Icculus Send a message via Yahoo to Icculus
ATV2 - TV Seasons Out Of Order -- SOLUTION!

After countless hours of google searches and more hours trying every thing I can think of, I have FINALLY found a solution on my own! I was shocked to find out this works, but it does and this is a bit tedious but its worth it!

For each season I assume you already have the season's/episodes marked correctly in iTunes (which is the baffle as to why it doesn't sort correctly.) If that is done, then just do the following and AppleTV will have everything sorted in the RIGHT order.

I will use the example of Seinfeld, Season 1. Go ahead and highlight the entire season and do get-info. Since this is the first season change the Disc Number to 1 of 2 (all other seasons will be 2 of 2 for season 2, or 6 of 6 for season 6, but for the first season in order for them to be named correctly in finder it HAS to be 1 of 2.)

After that you can hit OK to close out/save changes. Now go to the first episode, go back into get info and change the track number to 1, 2 for the 2nd episode and so on. Make sure to start back at 1 for the 2nd season, 3rd season, etc. I know this is tedious (I had 754 TV shows I had to do this for.) Once you are done doing all that quit/restart itunes and go check out your AppleTV and everything should be named correctly.

PM me with any questions you have, I am so thrilled to have a solution and want to help anyone looking for one! I included some pictures to help everyone out, because this ANNOYED me to death and so glad to have a solution!

Here is a breakdown of the screen captures (upper left to bottom right)

1 - This is just a listing of how your shows should already look in iTunes with the season/episode number, if not like this please correct before moving on.

2 - Get info on the first episode of the first season, and notice the track number is 1 and the disc number is 1 of 2 (ONLY for the first season).

3 - Get info on the second episode of the first season, track number is 2, and disc number is still 2 of 2.

4 - Get info on the first episode of the second season. Track number resets back to 1 and now the disc number is 2 of 2 to indicate second season.

5 - If you pull up finder > itunes > tv shows > seinfeld (or whatever season you are doing) you should see the file names listed out like this. Should list out like season number-episode number - episode title. Please let me know if you have any questions or this does not work for you. Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	iTunes -- Season and Episode.jpg
Views:	162
Size:	497.1 KB
ID:	254263   Click image for larger version

Name:	iTunes - GetInfo_1.jpg
Views:	139
Size:	428.7 KB
ID:	254264   Click image for larger version

Name:	iTunes - GetInfo_2.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	463.5 KB
ID:	254265  

Click image for larger version

Name:	iTunes - GetInfo_3 2nd Season.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	467.0 KB
ID:	254266   Click image for larger version

Name:	Final iTunes Finder.jpg
Views:	131
Size:	275.6 KB
ID:	254267  
Icculus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2010, 04:28 PM   #2
trip1ex
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Thanks.

Going to wait for Apple to fix it though. It does look too tedious for me. I don't care that much. But nice to know there is a solution in case Apple doesn't fix it eventually.

Got another problem that's more annoying. MOvie cover art isn't showing up for a few handfuls of my movies even though it is in iTunes. PUt the cover art in last night.

This comes after a season of Mad Men's cover art only shows up on half the episodes and it won't take to the others even if added manually. Annoying.

Last edited by trip1ex; Oct 2, 2010 at 05:09 PM.
trip1ex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2010, 05:31 PM   #3
WiiDSmoker
macrumors 65816
 
WiiDSmoker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hermitage, TN
How does one get the Rating (TV-14, etc) to show up?
__________________
Windows 7 64 | FreeNAS 30 TB | White iPhone 5 32GB | TV 3 | iPad 3 White 32GB
WiiDSmoker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2010, 08:26 PM   #4
Icculus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Send a message via AIM to Icculus Send a message via MSN to Icculus Send a message via Yahoo to Icculus
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiiDSmoker View Post
How does one get the Rating (TV-14, etc) to show up?
You need to use a program called MetaX (if you are on OS X). Not sure what to use for Windows, but that will allow you to enter your PG rating, and save it. Then in itunes if it doesn't refresh just double click the file and it will populate.
Icculus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2010, 02:39 PM   #5
BlackMangoTree
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
MetaX is outdated and clunky use iDentify or iFlicks both far superior.
BlackMangoTree is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2010, 02:45 PM   #6
bbyers70
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Subler (if you're using OS X). MetaX (for Windows users)
bbyers70 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2010, 03:50 PM   #7
BlackMangoTree
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bbyers70 View Post
Subler (if you're using OS X). MetaX (for Windows users)
Subler is great though not for tagging.

iFlicks which costs is the best iDentify which is free is a close second.

Try tagging a TV seriers with Subler a nightmare with no TVDB support.
BlackMangoTree is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2010, 06:46 PM   #8
agentphish
macrumors 65816
 
agentphish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
It's pretty crazy that this happens...I just noticed it with always sunny. it's listing season 2 before season 1, but the rest are in order.
__________________
agentphish is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 01:23 AM   #9
vastoholic
macrumors 68000
 
vastoholic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Tulsa, OK
I thought I would try this with my apple tv take 2 but it didn't work for me. My seasons have always done this and it drives me bonkers scrolling through tons of episodes for series like MASH and mythbusters.
__________________
View my flickr sets....if you want. They're not too exciting.
vastoholic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2010, 08:55 AM   #10
Icculus
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Frisco, TX
Send a message via AIM to Icculus Send a message via MSN to Icculus Send a message via Yahoo to Icculus
Quote:
Originally Posted by vastoholic View Post
I thought I would try this with my apple tv take 2 but it didn't work for me. My seasons have always done this and it drives me bonkers scrolling through tons of episodes for series like MASH and mythbusters.
You followed my instructions of entering the the track number and discs numbers like it was part of a music album? Did you close and reopen iTunes? I will help you get this sorted out because I know this works as I had over 30 seasons I had to fix and they are all listed out perfectly....so let me know.
Icculus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2010, 06:31 PM   #11
bobsentell
macrumors 6502a
 
bobsentell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alabama
Cool. I'll work on this now. Hopefully it works the same on the Windows version of iTunes.
bobsentell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2010, 03:51 PM   #12
pedz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I tried the instructions below with no luck on an atv2. I set the track number, and disk number, as well as the show and season... And I restarted iTunes.

Still shows separate seasons in main tv show list on atv2.
pedz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
any new way to show seasons .... bergmef Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Apr 6, 2014 01:23 AM
OS X: [New Game] The Seasons Kaktuss Mac and PC Games 2 Feb 22, 2014 02:26 PM
ATV2, Harmony One, + Original ATV2 Remote canuckle Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Sep 24, 2012 11:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC