Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 4, 2010, 12:58 AM   #1
aznwar
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Jailbreak FAIL.!!!!

Hello. I neeed urgent help. I just attemped to jailbreak my 3GS from 3.1.3 to 4.1 using snowbreeze. And now my sim card is not being supported. Please help. On Tinyumbrella, I've been able to check my BB and it is still 04.26.08. Is there any solution?
aznwar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 12:37 PM   #2
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
So is it jb now on 4.1? Did you install ultrasnow to unlock?
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 03:31 PM   #3
PaHtSaN
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznwar View Post
Hello. I neeed urgent help. I just attemped to jailbreak my 3GS from 3.1.3 to 4.1 using snowbreeze. And now my sim card is not being supported. Please help. On Tinyumbrella, I've been able to check my BB and it is still 04.26.08. Is there any solution?
What do you mean jailbreak from 3.1.3 to 4.1? That makes no sense, do you mean upgrade from 3.1.3 to 4.1?
PaHtSaN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 03:35 PM   #4
PaHtSaN
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznwar View Post
Hello. I neeed urgent help. I just attemped to jailbreak my 3GS from 3.1.3 to 4.1 using snowbreeze. And now my sim card is not being supported. Please help. On Tinyumbrella, I've been able to check my BB and it is still 04.26.08. Is there any solution?
I'm pretty sure you meant you upgraded your jailbroken phone, yes, the solution is to now downgrade your phone back to 3.1.3 since you probably have those shsh files. Go on YouTube and type in "how to downgrade 4.1 to 3.1.3", you should find a few good tutorials on how to do it.
PaHtSaN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 05:19 PM   #5
aznwar
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaHtSaN View Post
I'm pretty sure you meant you upgraded your jailbroken phone, yes, the solution is to now downgrade your phone back to 3.1.3 since you probably have those shsh files. Go on YouTube and type in "how to downgrade 4.1 to 3.1.3", you should find a few good tutorials on how to do it.
Kay, so in detail this is what happened. I have a 3GS, on 3.1.3 and BB 04.26.08 so then yesterday, I downloaded snowbreeze, and I created the custom ipsw. Then, I restored using the new ipsw made. After, when it was done, it said my sim isn't supported. And BTW, I don't even know what shsh files are. =[
aznwar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 05:22 PM   #6
Myzhi
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Right now, phone is locked to original carrier. You need to install ultrasnow through Cydia to unlock the phone.

If you are stuck at emergency screen, borrow or eBay for original carrier sim to activate the phone. Even a non active sim will work. Afterward, install ultrasnow to use your sim card.
Myzhi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 05:33 PM   #7
aznwar
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myzhi View Post
Right now, phone is locked to original carrier. You need to install ultrasnow through Cydia to unlock the phone.

If you are stuck at emergency screen, borrow or eBay for original carrier sim to activate the phone. Even a non active sim will work. Afterward, install ultrasnow to use your sim card.
But I'm not sure what carrier it was on, is there a way to check? I'd say it's probably a USA carrier. Since I did get it in a store over there, but I'm in canada now.
aznwar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 05:37 PM   #8
Myzhi
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznwar View Post
But I'm not sure what carrier it was on, is there a way to check? I'd say it's probably a USA carrier. Since I did get it in a store over there, but I'm in canada now.
If USA, it's only ATT. Get one. eBay is probably easiest route.
Myzhi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 05:42 PM   #9
aznwar
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myzhi View Post
If USA, it's only ATT. Get one. eBay is probably easiest route.
Alright. Thanks. I'll try to get back in a week or 2, when I get the card.
aznwar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 05:55 PM   #10
aznwar
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myzhi View Post
If USA, it's only ATT. Get one. eBay is probably easiest route.
Just before that, I just wanted to know if there's another way? I don't want to spend money. It's best if theres another way, because I want to have some experience.
aznwar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 06:04 PM   #11
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
You can buy an AT&T sim on eBay for $1-2 in order to activate it. Any AT&T sim will do even inactivated or empty prepaid gophone sims.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 06:06 PM   #12
Myzhi
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznwar View Post
Just before that, I just wanted to know if there's another way? I don't want to spend money. It's best if theres another way, because I want to have some experience.
Borrow someone's ATT sim card.

It cost $1 to buy ATT sim card on eBay.
Myzhi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 06:13 PM   #13
PaHtSaN
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznwar View Post
Just before that, I just wanted to know if there's another way? I don't want to spend money. It's best if theres another way, because I want to have some experience.
If the phone isn't activated then you need an AT&T sim card to activate it like he said, however there's something called hacktivating where you can activate without the sim. I've never tried it since i have a sim, but supposedly people outside the US do it all the time, so either YouTube a tutorial on how to do it, or try this guys link http://answers.yahoo.com/question/in...7011810AAK6Heu

It would be a good idea to get an AT&T sim card though because it makes things alot easier, you can check your local craigslist or even post your own ad for one, it won't cost you a significant amount of money.

Shsh files are apples signiture for older firmwares that will basically allow you to downgrade your OS. Question for you, when your phone was jailbroken, do you remember selecting an option in cydia called "make my life easier"?
PaHtSaN is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 06:29 PM   #14
aznwar
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaHtSaN View Post
If the phone isn't activated then you need an AT&T sim card to activate it like he said, however there's something called hacktivating where you can activate without the sim. I've never tried it since i have a sim, but supposedly people outside the US do it all the time, so either YouTube a tutorial on how to do it, or try this guys link http://answers.yahoo.com/question/in...7011810AAK6Heu

It would be a good idea to get an AT&T sim card though because it makes things alot easier, you can check your local craigslist or even post your own ad for one, it won't cost you a significant amount of money.

Shsh files are apples signiture for older firmwares that will basically allow you to downgrade your OS. Question for you, when your phone was jailbroken, do you remember selecting an option in cydia called "make my life easier"?
I think it seems familiar, is there any other way to check is I did so? And BTW, I already ordered just simcard a few mins ago, but I just wanna try a different way so i can have experience.
aznwar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 06:35 PM   #15
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
You won't be able to hactivate it right now. Maybe when future jb tools are released. I wouldn't bother so you don't mess up and regret it later.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 06:37 PM   #16
aznwar
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
You won't be able to hactivate it right now. Maybe when future jb tools are released. I wouldn't bother so you don't mess up and regret it later.
Yea, I guess so. I guess I'll just hafta wait few weeks for my sim to arrive =[
aznwar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 04:17 PM   #17
aznwar
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Myzhi View Post
Right now, phone is locked to original carrier. You need to install ultrasnow through Cydia to unlock the phone.

If you are stuck at emergency screen, borrow or eBay for original carrier sim to activate the phone. Even a non active sim will work. Afterward, install ultrasnow to use your sim card.
Ok. So I just got my SIM card in the mail and i got the phone to work. Now how do I unlock it to that my Rogers SIM card will work?
aznwar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 04:19 PM   #18
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
So you restored to custom 4.1 IPSW while preserving your unlockable baseband?
Do you see cydia on your springboard?
Open up cydia and install ultrasnow to unlock it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by aznwar View Post
Ok. So I just got my SIM card in the mail and i got the phone to work. Now how do I unlock it to that my Rogers SIM card will work?
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 04:45 PM   #19
aznwar
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
So you restored to custom 4.1 IPSW while preserving your unlockable baseband?
Do you see cydia on your springboard?
Open up cydia and install ultrasnow to unlock it.
OMG. THANKYOU ALL SO MUCH.
I have sucessfully unlocked my iPhone.Also, I'm never going to update the firmware ever again. LOL
aznwar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 04:52 PM   #20
chargit
macrumors 6502a
 
chargit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Evansville, In
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznwar View Post
OMG. THANKYOU ALL SO MUCH.
I have sucessfully unlocked my iPhone.Also, I'm never going to update the firmware ever again. LOL
sure you wont.....
__________________
iUnlock All Cell Phones
iClean Verizon ESN's
chargit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 05:02 PM   #21
HighLife420
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznwar View Post
OMG. THANKYOU ALL SO MUCH.
I have sucessfully unlocked my iPhone.Also, I'm never going to update the firmware ever again. LOL
i wouldnt say that, you can upgrade anytime...just make sure you know what you are doing with it. Make sure you do your research as to the steps you need to take. Upgrading to a new firmware will render your ultraSNOW useless. So remember, plan out what you going to do. Have all the steps ready to go. Make sure you have the right tools for the right job, like the JB software, Tiny Umbrella etc etc. Make sure next time, you firmware youre upgrading too is able to be unlock before you do it. Just remember these few things and it will make your upgrade less painful =)

Glad you got it working.
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus 64GB
HighLife420 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 08:08 PM   #22
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Lmao
We heard that before.
But I think the op learned a few things from this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chargit View Post
sure you wont.....
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2010, 07:10 PM   #23
PaHtSaN
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by aznwar View Post
OMG. THANKYOU ALL SO MUCH.
I have sucessfully unlocked my iPhone.Also, I'm never going to update the firmware ever again. LOL
Lmao, glad you got it.
PaHtSaN is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple Maps just one fail after another... security fail DanteMann iOS 6 6 Nov 18, 2014 02:32 AM
Windows Sp3 Fail!+AppleMNT.sys Fail...Help! Liquigladiators Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 6 Jun 9, 2013 06:37 PM
Ad fail moonman239 Wasteland 1 Jan 25, 2013 12:10 PM
iPhone: Updated from my jailbreak to iOS6... went back to my jailbreak... where are my pics? andyACEcandy Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 1 Sep 22, 2012 11:48 PM
Fail...just fail!!!! gagaliya Wasteland 4 Jun 11, 2012 03:02 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC