Are facetime calls free? (Orange, UK) - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 4, 2010, 08:06 PM   #1
Bathplug
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Are facetime calls free? (Orange, UK)

I always thought that I'd be charged for the call and a little extra because of the video call. I talk to people abroad (USA) who also have iphone 4s but we use apps like fring and tango for facetime over wifi and sometimes 3g for free because normal phone calls would cost a fortune.

I just learned that apparently apples facetime is free because it uses our wifi? so its free just like a skype to skype call is free? If so I guess we don't need to use fring or tango if were on wifi right?

Thanks
Bathplug is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 08:21 PM   #2
Amnesia87
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bathplug View Post
I always thought that I'd be charged for the call and a little extra because of the video call. I talk to people abroad (USA) who also have iphone 4s but we use apps like fring and tango for facetime over wifi and sometimes 3g for free because normal phone calls would cost a fortune.

I just learned that apparently apples facetime is free because it uses our wifi? so its free just like a skype to skype call is free? If so I guess we don't need to use fring or tango if were on wifi right?

Thanks
Correct, completely free as long as you actually start the call as a facetime call and not from inside a normal cell call.
Amnesia87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 08:33 PM   #3
ephailey
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amnesia87 View Post
Correct, completely free as long as you actually start the call as a facetime call and not from inside a normal cell call.
How do you start a call as Facetime. I thought you had to start a call as a regular call and then if both parties are on wifi, you can push the Facetime button.
ephailey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 09:03 PM   #4
Drewsky87
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: MD
Quote:
Originally Posted by ephailey View Post
How do you start a call as Facetime. I thought you had to start a call as a regular call and then if both parties are on wifi, you can push the Facetime button.
View the contact info and scroll down to "FaceTime"
__________________
Drewsky87 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 09:48 PM   #5
ephailey
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewsky87 View Post
View the contact info and scroll down to "FaceTime"

If you start as a regular call are you only charged for the time that you are on regular service before you switch to facetime?
ephailey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 09:55 PM   #6
Mr Kram
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ephailey View Post
If you start as a regular call are you only charged for the time that you are on regular service before you switch to facetime?
it has to be. facetime would need to switch from 3G to wifi to operate.
__________________
21.5" iMac 23" ACD 11" Air iPad 4 64GB iPad Mini 32GB 4G 64GB iPod Touch 5G 32GB iPod Touch 4G 8GB iPod Nano 3G 8GB Nano Apple TV2 160 GB Apple TV iPhone 5 32GB
Mr Kram is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 09:56 PM   #7
aleni
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ephailey View Post
If you start as a regular call are you only charged for the time that you are on regular service before you switch to facetime?
yes, when the facetime starts, you're not charged anymore. ain't that cool?

better to press the facetime button to initiate the call, so you are not charged at all.
__________________
easier to see my post.
aleni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 11:05 PM   #8
Mliii
macrumors 65816
 
Mliii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to Mliii Send a message via Yahoo to Mliii Send a message via Skype™ to Mliii
Quote:
Originally Posted by ephailey View Post
How do you start a call as Facetime. I thought you had to start a call as a regular call and then if both parties are on wifi, you can push the Facetime button.

From what I understand, the very first FaceTime call you make has to be initiated via cell. (I made my first one so long ago I don't remember now how it actually worked)
After that, if you just use the FaceTime button, no cell minutes are ever used and it is free wifi to wifi. That part, I am sure of!
__________________
"...and the end of all our searching shall be to return to the place where we first started and know it for the first time" - TS Eliot
Mliii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 11:06 PM   #9
aleni
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mliii View Post
From what I understand, the very first FaceTime call you make has to be initiated via cell. (I made my first one so long ago I don't remember now how it actually worked)
After that, if you just use the FaceTime button, no cell minutes are ever used and it is free wifi to wifi. That part, I am sure of!
no u shouldn't do that, just find a contact, press the blue arrow, and then u can find a facetime button to initiate the call.
__________________
easier to see my post.
aleni is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2010, 11:10 PM   #10
Mliii
macrumors 65816
 
Mliii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Southern California
Send a message via AIM to Mliii Send a message via Yahoo to Mliii Send a message via Skype™ to Mliii
Quote:
Originally Posted by aleni View Post
no u shouldn't do that, just find a contact, press the blue arrow, and then u can find a facetime button to initiate the call.
Too late now for me, but maybe someone else can benefit from this approach!

Bottom line is that FaceTime 'calls' themselves are free!
__________________
"...and the end of all our searching shall be to return to the place where we first started and know it for the first time" - TS Eliot
Mliii is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 5, 2010, 05:27 AM   #11
Bathplug
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Thanks for the replies. On the adverts they always show off facetime but never mention its free. So how long do you think it will be before we can do a nornal phonecall for free over wifi without using apps like skype?

When I choose a contact then press the facetime button it says choose facetime option which also lists there email address. Can I facetime an ipod touch 4 or iphone4 user via there email from my iphone 4 and vice versa? If so how does it work? Do they need to have my email saved on my contact on their phone?

Thanks

Last edited by Bathplug; Oct 5, 2010 at 05:39 AM.
Bathplug is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which drains battery faster - iMessage, FaceTime audio calls or telephony calls? kylera iPhone 5 Dec 10, 2013 08:25 AM
iPhone: FaceTime calls all FaceTime ID's iOS 7 Komrad808 iOS 7 5 Sep 19, 2013 10:01 PM
iPhone: JB Iphone freezes on incoming calls (FaceTime and Cellular calls) seance765 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 10 Dec 6, 2012 02:56 AM
up to 6 facetime calls? captain cadet Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Oct 5, 2012 04:33 PM
Facetime Question - Can't see myself during calls? A4orce84 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 0 Jul 12, 2012 10:45 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC