Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 6, 2010, 09:17 PM   #1
jimstolz76
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
New to PPC, having trouble with a Powerbook G4

Hey all,

My step-daughter just got a hand-me-down Powerbook G4 that I swear looks brand new. It's obviously been used, but not much at all. Anyway, I'm stumped with a problem. I'm used to working on PCs, and the only macs I've worked with so far are Intel-based, so I'm totally flying blind here.

Started having random issues. Programs closing themselves, running slow, Disk Utility would run endlessly with no progress, etc. After a few hours of running Disk Warrior and Drive Genius 2, I THOUGHT I had it fixed. I was able to repair the disk, and repair permissions, and after testing and retesting and retesting I got to the point where I was getting ZERO errors on anything. I put the 2nd RAM chip back in, ran some more tests and thought we were good to go.

Then we got a kernel panic while she was using it today. OK, here we go again. Tried Drive Genius. Kicked back an error and said to restart. Tried Disk Warrior. Kicked back an error and said it couldn't be rebuilt. Umm ok. Now what? When you try to boot from the HD it just sits at the Apple logo with the spinning graphic below it. Finally after a while (5 minutes?) it just shuts down. It will do this every time.

We don't have the original OS X install disk. I only have a 10.4 install disk from an intel iMac and I can't boot to that.

I'm assuming the HD is dying --- OR that some of the RAM really is bad and it somehow jacked up something on the HD when she started using it. I wanted to run memtest86 from a linux USB stick but couldn't get it to work, then burned a CD of a PowerPC build of Ubuntu 10.04 and it just booted right in and didn't give me the option to run memtest...argh...

If I go out and grab a Firewire cable and boot into Target Disk Mode from my intel iMac, will I be able to run Disk Utility to do verify/repair and maybe even repair permissions at the same time?

I'm struggling here, and my step-daughter is really bummed that she can't use her "new" laptop..... I'd be bummed to... she was going from an Asus eeePC to a shiny aluminum Mac...even if it is a few years old.

ANY help is greatly appreciated!
jimstolz76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2010, 09:49 PM   #2
PowerGamerX
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Take out the ram sticks (or rather, take one out, leave one in) and see if that solves the issue. It sounds like the HDD is going bad, and they aren't fun to replace in PowerBooks.

After you do it a few times, its easy, but the amount of screws is insane, but, as long as you keep track where each one goes, you should be fine if you decide to replace it.
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" 2010 2.66ghz, 4gb, 320gb WD Scorpio Black
PowerGamerX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2010, 10:17 PM   #3
jimstolz76
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Thanks for the info. I've tried booting it with 1 memory stick, but for some reason haven't tried booting with just the "other" memory stick. Right now I'm too tired to deal with those 4 microscopic phillips head screws on the memory cover. Seriously, what are they, #0000 size?? I'm using a jeweler's screwdriver and it's too big... WTF? LOL

So I'm gonna try this:
Boot with RAM stick 1 only
Boot with RAM stick 2 only
Go buy firewire cable at the store for $32 even though I can get one online for like $2...
Start in TDM and try running Disk Utility, Disk Warrior, Drive Genius, etc from my iMac
Hope for the best

The S.M.A.R.T. status of the drive reads as OK... but I suppose it's still possible that the drive is going bad?
jimstolz76 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2010, 11:00 PM   #4
PowerGamerX
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimstolz76 View Post
Thanks for the info. I've tried booting it with 1 memory stick, but for some reason haven't tried booting with just the "other" memory stick. Right now I'm too tired to deal with those 4 microscopic phillips head screws on the memory cover. Seriously, what are they, #0000 size?? I'm using a jeweler's screwdriver and it's too big... WTF? LOL

So I'm gonna try this:
Boot with RAM stick 1 only
Boot with RAM stick 2 only
Go buy firewire cable at the store for $32 even though I can get one online for like $2...
Start in TDM and try running Disk Utility, Disk Warrior, Drive Genius, etc from my iMac
Hope for the best

The S.M.A.R.T. status of the drive reads as OK... but I suppose it's still possible that the drive is going bad?
Thats what it probably is, it's probably just worn out and starting to die. You have to remember, the newest of these machines are 5 years old, and although the build quality of Apple products is good, the 3rd party parts they use aren't always the best.
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" 2010 2.66ghz, 4gb, 320gb WD Scorpio Black
PowerGamerX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2010, 12:40 AM   #5
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimstolz76 View Post
Right now I'm too tired to deal with those 4 microscopic phillips head screws on the memory cover. Seriously, what are they, #0000 size?? I'm using a jeweler's screwdriver and it's too big... WTF? LOL
Use cellular phones screwdrivers, they fit. Besides: if DW wasn't able to fix your drive, it deserves to be replaced. Even if you'll fix it somehow (I doubt that), it won't be for a long time.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2010, 07:59 PM   #6
raysfan81
macrumors 6502a
 
raysfan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimstolz76 View Post
Go buy firewire cable at the store for $32 even though I can get one online for like $2...

The S.M.A.R.T. status of the drive reads as OK... but I suppose it's still possible that the drive is going bad?
Do what you want, but it seems stupid not to get a cheap firewire cable off of amazon. It would save you lots of money. And yes the drive S.M.A.R.T status can still be fine if the drive is failing. Like PowerGamer said, you might as well replace the hd as it is probably 5-7 years old now.
__________________
Broken Ipod Touch 1st gen 16gb & Zune HD 64gb
eMac 1.42 ghz,80gb hd & 500mhz Snow iMac g3, 2ghz Unibody MB
400 mhz G4 "Sawtooth", Dual 1.42 ghz MDD, 17" 1.83 ghz C2D iMac
raysfan81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2010, 03:13 AM   #7
mr1970
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I replaced the HDD in my PB G4 a year or so ago in order to get more space (nothing to do with faults) and couldn't believe the difference - vastly quicker and quieter than with the original drive. If it is a HDD problem, it's a relatively cheap fix too.

As others have said, however, you need to take your time when taking the screws out - I think I took out 32 or something ridiculous. You'll need different sized screwdrivers and make sure you're using the right one or you'll strip the heads and they're almost impossible to replace. Oh, and watch when you're taking the F2 key off; it needs to go back on square.
mr1970 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2010, 03:23 AM   #8
yamabushi
macrumors 65816
 
yamabushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
I agree that it sounds like either bad RAM or a bad HDD.
yamabushi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2010, 07:01 AM   #9
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
yes sounds like a bad ram or bad HDD , but i add another culprit the powerbook g4 (the later models http://lowermemoryslot.editkid.com/ ) had been notorious for the ram slot failing sometimes, symptoms can be similar
and are not always there all the time
as a mates powerbook g4 sometimes works with the two slots occupied with ram ,other times plays up with kernel panics or sometimes, but not often, it just beeps when booting and doesn't start up , most times suddenly just gets slow like it had the processor speed cut down to 1.5 mhz instead of the 1.5 ghz it normally has and comes back to life as unexpected as it slows down means suddenly one ram slot is not recognised one minute and is recognised the next minute
there had been a repair extension scheme which, what a surprise ran out in 2008 , so leaving one slot empty i think its the lower slot will solve the problem if yours is affected by the failing ram slot
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.

Last edited by MacHamster68; Oct 16, 2010 at 07:07 AM.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerBook G4 display issues alew!mac920 PowerPC Macs 2 Aug 9, 2011 04:25 AM
New to programming. Having trouble with Xcode chrisc23 Mac Programming 8 Nov 24, 2010 10:21 PM
New to programming, having trouble with xcode kevinlyman7 Mac Programming 4 Jul 31, 2010 09:51 AM
To Anyone Having Trouble with HD Playback - Solution defenestrate211 Mac Basics and Help 0 Feb 5, 2009 01:02 AM
NEW Mac user having trouble with file transfer Doremus256 iPod 2 Jan 4, 2009 02:28 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:33 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC