Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 7, 2010, 06:40 PM   #1
Number6
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Does the new Apple TV check ip addresses for TV rentals?

Just got my new Apple TV today and set it up as the old one by using my US account (I am located in Germany). Generally I'm very satisfied with the speed and quality of streaming and the fast response times of the menu. However when I wanted to check out the TV rentals there were only previews available!
I could not find a single rental and that makes me wonder if the new Apple TV checks for my ip address. Movie rentals work, although I was surprised to find a Top Sales section in the menus section of this rental only device! Anyone from around the world with an US account having the same experience? I am slightly disappointed and thinking about getting a really fast VPN (which might help with Netflix as well...).
Number6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2010, 08:23 PM   #2
benoitgphoto
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Number6 View Post
Just got my new Apple TV today and set it up as the old one by using my US account (I am located in Germany). Generally I'm very satisfied with the speed and quality of streaming and the fast response times of the menu. However when I wanted to check out the TV rentals there were only previews available!
I could not find a single rental and that makes me wonder if the new Apple TV checks for my ip address. Movie rentals work, although I was surprised to find a Top Sales section in the menus section of this rental only device! Anyone from around the world with an US account having the same experience? I am slightly disappointed and thinking about getting a really fast VPN (which might help with Netflix as well...).
I'm in Canada and I can rent TV shows with my US account.
benoitgphoto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 08:52 AM   #3
Number6
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by benoitgphoto View Post
I'm in Canada and I can rent TV shows with my US account.
Okay, that's encouraging. Maybe it's only a problem with my setup? Still I would love to hear from other users (UK anyone?) if they can rent TV shows with a foreign ip address...
Number6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 09:04 AM   #4
peterjcat
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Make sure you've selected "United States" in the Apple TV menu, as well as logging in to your US account -- you could also make sure you're logged into the US account in iTunes on the computer, and have Home Sharing set up using that account, and be logged into Home Sharing on the same account on the Apple TV!

I haven't rented anything but the rental button is clearly there, not just previews, so I'm assuming it'll work. (In the UK.)
peterjcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 09:10 AM   #5
Number6
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Thanks for the reply! I am all US on all my Macs and both of my Apple TVs and the store works for movies. Why does it block from renting TV shows? Ironically I could download the free 'Lie to me' episode on my Mac and stream it to the Apple TV
Number6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2010, 09:12 AM   #6
trance2
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Quito, Ecuador
Send a message via AIM to trance2 Send a message via MSN to trance2 Send a message via Skype™ to trance2
Now, the next hurdle is to get Netflix to allow us to watch content outside the US. I am currently stationed abroad and I have a Netflix account in which I receive my DVDs via the APO/DPO system.

Last night I fired up my brand new Apple TV 2 and tried to view a movie on Netflix and got the error message of "This content is not available for your location". I feel that Netflix needs to follow the Apple model of if your billing address is a US based one then by all means welcome.

This content management model frustrates me to no end, the Internet is global network. For the time being I have to VPN (read, huge network performance hit) to the US in order to watch content on Hulu.com and Netflix.com.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro (late 2008); Core 2 Duo 2.53GHz, 8 GB RAM, 240GB SSD (OptiBay) + 1TB HDD
27" iMac (late 2009); Core 2 Duo 3.33GHz, 16GB RAM, 160GB SSD (OptiBay) + 3 TB HD
trance2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When does the new Apple TV come out? ChUukEy Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Oct 13, 2011 08:12 PM
What power cable does the new Apple TV take? delfmen Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Nov 24, 2010 07:26 PM
What Operating System Does The New Apple TV Use? rs14smith Apple TV and Home Theater 20 Nov 15, 2010 04:23 PM
Does the New Apple TV have Bluetooth? tech324 Apple TV and Home Theater 13 Oct 2, 2010 09:12 AM
When does the new apple tv arrive in stores in UK? chriso89 Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Sep 12, 2010 03:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC