Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 10, 2010, 08:37 AM   #1
Lichter21c
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: The frozen tundra
getting "no Sim Installed" error on iPhone 4

Alright, so me and my father both got iPhone 4's last monday and everything was working great until friday night. I got an error saying, "No sim installed" so of course I rebooted it, then hard reboot and neither did anything. So I completely turned it off, removed the sim card. Cleaned the connectors and then reinstalled and it. That worked all right but it happened again. Now my dad had the same problem but after reinstalling the sim it never went back to normal. Is this a common problem?? I tried looking here but I couldn't really find anything.

any input would be greatly appreciated. also we are definitely going back to att and either getting new units or they are completely fixing it.


thanks everyone

21c
Lichter21c is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2010, 04:56 PM   #2
dmk1974
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lichter21c View Post
Alright, so me and my father both got iPhone 4's last monday and everything was working great until friday night. I got an error saying, "No sim installed" so of course I rebooted it, then hard reboot and neither did anything. So I completely turned it off, removed the sim card. Cleaned the connectors and then reinstalled and it. That worked all right but it happened again. Now my dad had the same problem but after reinstalling the sim it never went back to normal. Is this a common problem?? I tried looking here but I couldn't really find anything.

any input would be greatly appreciated. also we are definitely going back to att and either getting new units or they are completely fixing it.


thanks everyone

21c
I got my iPhone on launch day, and only had that happen to me on the 4th of July (like7 times...I resolved it by popping the sim back out and in) and then just the other day on Friday 10/8. Got it like 5 times that day. Popped the sim like before and then all was good UNTIL just 5 minutes ago and it happened again. I just did a reboot instead of SIM pop. We'll see how it goes.
dmk1974 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2010, 05:00 PM   #3
DroidRules
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Maybe a new sim for the both of you may be the fix. Pop on down to at&t or your provider and pick one up. Good luck.
DroidRules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2010, 10:28 PM   #4
DroidRules
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
LoL guess the joke is on me!! I'll be taking a trip to att to get a new sim as mine has done it several times in the last few hours!
DroidRules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2010, 11:05 PM   #5
kelpi
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Send a message via AIM to kelpi
Got the same error everyday for two weeks. Put a piece of scotch tape on the non-contact side and haven't got an error since.
kelpi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2010, 12:21 AM   #6
Surrix
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Interesting, all of you guys too? Yeah, this has happened to me about 4 times now. Oddly, I can usually fix it by toggling Airplane Mode. It seems odd to me that this would work, given that the No SIM error sounds more like a hardware issue while toggling Airplane Mode is a software fix.

I've also been considering trying a new SIM anyway.
Surrix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2010, 02:25 AM   #7
mcaddict
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Switzerland
Had the same problem, used to happen about twice a day. A reboot would usually fix it. But it was pretty annoying so i went to the apple store and they replaced the phone no questions asked.
mcaddict is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2010, 02:52 AM   #8
Hellishness
macrumors 65816
 
Hellishness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA
My first iP4 had this. Took it to Apple, walked out with a new one in 15 minutes. See my sig...
__________________
Black iPhone 5, 16GB. White iPad 3 WiFi 32GB
Mid 2010 15" MBP 2.4 i5/4GB/320GB
Hellishness is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2010, 04:04 AM   #9
spikefood
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Had this problem on mine as well. Got it replaced thankfully. They likely problem is that the metal part of the sim is contacting the metal tray and causing it to short. A quick temp fix is to try using a small amount of thin tape to hold the sim higher in the tray. Also, you can always go to att and get another sim, hopefully one without any movement in the tray.
spikefood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2010, 05:24 AM   #10
DroidRules
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Well mine literally started doing it today, after I read and posted to this thread. I was jb on 4.0.1 and tried to upgrade and got an error from iTunes. It then started happening. Updated and it has done it 2 times. If it continues I will visit ye ol apple store and swap.
DroidRules is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2010, 03:38 PM   #11
Surrix
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
To anyone else this is happening to: try togging Airplane Mode on and off to see it that fixes it (temporarily) for you as well. Ensure that you leave it in Airplane Mode for 2 seconds or so before toggling back, as it appears that if you toggle too quickly it doesn't finish.

It'd be great if you could report back here as to whether or not that works for you.
Surrix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 2010, 06:52 PM   #12
danh808
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Had same issue today with no sim installed. Took it down to AT&T and sim card was bad. They installed a new one and everything is back to normal now.
danh808 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2010, 02:14 PM   #13
Someareteeth
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Having the same problem. Called Apple last week, they suggested the following steps:

1) take sim out and put it back in (didn't work)
2) restore phone and set up as new (didn't work)
3) get new sim (worked so far)
4) take to Genius Bar for new phone

It's been about three hours since I got the new sim and it hasn't happened since. However, I'm still inclined to take it in to the Genius Bar (have an appointment in two hours) and see if they'll replace it.

Any idea if they can tell through diagnostics if the "No Sim Card Installed" notification has happened and when? Partially I'm afraid I've missed one and partially I'd just rather they swap it out so I don't have this problem again.
Someareteeth is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2010, 07:18 PM   #14
Surrix
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Someareteeth View Post
Having the same problem. Called Apple last week, they suggested the following steps:

1) take sim out and put it back in (didn't work)
2) restore phone and set up as new (didn't work)
3) get new sim (worked so far)
4) take to Genius Bar for new phone

It's been about three hours since I got the new sim and it hasn't happened since. However, I'm still inclined to take it in to the Genius Bar (have an appointment in two hours) and see if they'll replace it.

Any idea if they can tell through diagnostics if the "No Sim Card Installed" notification has happened and when? Partially I'm afraid I've missed one and partially I'd just rather they swap it out so I don't have this problem again.
Any update on this? Did the new SIM fix the problem for more than 3 hours?
Surrix is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2010, 07:40 PM   #15
cdesigns
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
My wifes iphone 4 had the same problem today, after searching online for a fix, I found the simcard tray fix with tape, I used their picture to show what I did on mine.

Before this tape mod I TRIED EVERYTHING......Restore, Simcard insertion and removal several times, Airplane mode, update from 4.0 to 4.1 lets say nothing worked.

In my case the simcard electrical contacts on the outside edge were smaller and not close to the outside edge, but I did find that the sim card electrical contacts on the side are very close to the metal tray.

I just added a tape to make sure the simcard electrical contacts doesnt short with the simcard tray. And so far is the only thing that worked great SO FAR.

I tried to move the simcard tray once it was installed with the tape mod and so far I havent had any problems.

Here is a picture of what I did photoshop style
cdesigns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2010, 07:23 AM   #16
cristiantm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdesigns View Post
My wifes iphone 4 had the same problem today, after searching online for a fix, I found the simcard tray fix with tape, I used their picture to show what I did on mine.

Before this tape mod I TRIED EVERYTHING......Restore, Simcard insertion and removal several times, Airplane mode, update from 4.0 to 4.1 lets say nothing worked.

In my case the simcard electrical contacts on the outside edge were smaller and not close to the outside edge, but I did find that the sim card electrical contacts on the side are very close to the metal tray.

I just added a tape to make sure the simcard electrical contacts doesnt short with the simcard tray. And so far is the only thing that worked great SO FAR.

I tried to move the simcard tray once it was installed with the tape mod and so far I havent had any problems.

Here is a picture of what I did photoshop style
Does that fixed the issue til now?
cristiantm is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5 "no SIM" error Joybulb iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Apr 7, 2014 09:30 PM
iPhone 4 and the dreaded "No SIM" error ... cmeisenzahl iPhone 6 Dec 5, 2012 06:03 PM
Verizon iPhone 5 "No sim installed"? nicknicknickh iPhone 2 Sep 29, 2012 10:21 AM
iPhone 3G: "No SIM card installed" after resetting all settings while jailbroken mb.dc2008 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Aug 9, 2012 04:27 AM
Upgraded to iOS 5.1.1, but now getting "no SIM card installed" message maus iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jun 2, 2012 06:52 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC