Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 12, 2010, 10:42 AM   #1
hdsalinas
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Send a message via Skype™ to hdsalinas
My TV only has 2 HDMI inputs, what are my options?

My 42" LCD only has two HDMI inputs and I currently have my Cable DVR connected using one of the inputs. I want to get an appleTV and a PS3 later on. How can I connect these three units to my TV at the same time?
__________________
HDSalinas
iPhone 4 / 21" Imac / 15" MBP
hdsalinas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 10:44 AM   #2
CorporateFelon
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdsalinas View Post
My 42" LCD only has two HDMI inputs and I currently have my Cable DVR connected using one of the inputs. I want to get an appleTV and a PS3 later on. How can I connect these three units to my TV at the same time?
AV Receiver.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...e=&srchInDesc=
CorporateFelon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 10:45 AM   #3
thetruth1985
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Or you can hook your cable box to the component input on your tv.
thetruth1985 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 10:47 AM   #4
mchalebk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
HDMI switch:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...09&cp_id=10110
mchalebk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 10:47 AM   #5
Disc Golfer
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
You need an HDMI switch.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-197-_-Product
Disc Golfer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 10:48 AM   #6
joudbren
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
You can also try an inexpensive HDMI switch. Lot's of 3 or more port switches around that also have a remote to switch the ports. I had one before I got my new TV and it worked flawlessly even keeping the HDCP stuff alive when switching.

http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_no...remote&x=0&y=0

Cheers!

James
joudbren is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 12:23 PM   #7
bobsentell
macrumors 6502a
 
bobsentell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Alabama
I picked up a 3to1 Phillips HDMI switch at Wal-Mart. Works Perfectly. I have a Blu-Ray player and DirecTV running through it without any issues and plan on adding my Apple TV. Sure, it's a ye olde push button switch, but it works.

Just find the cheapest one you can find. The technology in the things are nothing fancy. You aren't getting a better signal out of a more expensive switch.
bobsentell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2010, 04:29 AM   #8
Frosticus
macrumors 6502a
 
Frosticus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bristol, UK
AV receiver... Got an inexpensive one myself a few months back and haven't regretted it - Sony HT-IS100. Everything sounds so much better now and have no shortage of HDMI ports!
__________________
iPhone 5S 32GB |iPad (3rd gen.) 4G 32GB | 27" iMac 2.7GHz Core i5 | Apple TV 2 | iPod Nano 8GB
Frosticus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2010, 05:50 AM   #9
Cartaphilus
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Or you could use the Georgia AV multiplexer. Carefully label each of the HDMI input cables, marking them as "ATV", "DSB" or "CBL", "DVD", etc. on distinctly colored paper for each. Then plug in the two you use most often into the HDMI ports on your television. If you need to switch to another device, unplug one of the cables and plug in the one you want. It is a surprisingly inexpensive, if inelegant, solution, but it works well if the rear of your television is easily accessible and you have no shame.
Cartaphilus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2010, 06:37 AM   #10
GTDaveMac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
On Thursday I should get my new Pioneer VSX-1020K.... had a 1014 that I got at a yard sale, and it is great but has no HDMI. In order to simplify my setup and avoid having to adjust my receiver as well as TV inputs to switch to the ATV2, I went with the 1020K... although the lower priced models have similar features (3 HDMI port and up) I wanted the dual zone capability of the 1020 for outside and in-house speakers. Aside from that, that, they all can be controlled via an iPhone app.

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PU...VSX-520-K.Kuro

It's pretty neat that I will be able to sit on my porch, open the Pioneer app and tell my receiver to turn on the outside speakers, select a source such as Apple TV, then open the Apple Remote app and stream music. (Or just stream directly to the receiver with Bluetooth, but I would rather not waste the battery.)

J&R has $30-150 off retail on these Pioneer receivers.
GTDaveMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XServe 2006: Supported Graphics Cards With HDMI or DVI with audio to hdmi iphone2g&3gfan iMac 3 May 30, 2014 04:42 PM
New Apple TV, out of HDMI inputs on my a/v receiver wigent Apple TV and Home Theater 14 Jan 9, 2014 02:40 PM
No Audio options for HDMI with 15 inch rMBP AdvocateUK MacBook Pro 1 Oct 4, 2013 10:12 AM
HDMI Adapter Options for iPad (Summer 2012) Kelped iPad Accessories 1 Aug 7, 2012 02:38 PM
Will my Macbook Pro (Mid 2012) do HDMI input (With a moshi HDMI adapter?) MarkGibbons Mac Peripherals 6 Jul 6, 2012 02:30 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC