Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 12, 2010, 01:24 PM   #1
bibi2205
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
PowerMac G5 - shall I take the risk

I have the possibility to buy a PowerMac G5. There's 'only' 1 problem with it: it refuses to boot.

The problems started with the fans spinning louder then usual, then trouble when booting (with up to 20 tries before it actually working), now it is completely lifeless.

I'd be able to buy it for 125 (+- $175) and I'm not sure if it is 'worth' it. After Googling I found out that its a common problem for the G5, with 'not too great' power supplies, for instance. But I'm not sure the PSU is the problem in this case.

Shall I take the risk or look elsewhere?

System specs: (2005) G5 2GHz, 3GB, GeForce FX5200.
__________________
Mac Pro (Mid 2010) - Intel Xeon Quad Core 2.8GHz : 12GB : 256GB SSD + 1TB & 2TB HDD : HD7950 Boost
13" Macbook Pro Retina (Late 2013) - Intel Core i5 2.4GHz : 8GB : 256GB : Intel Iris
bibi2205 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 01:48 PM   #2
cluthz
macrumors 68040
 
cluthz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Norway
Send a message via MSN to cluthz
All G5s have had issues, I'd stay away from it, unless you want a G5 just for the sake of it and can afford to loose some money on it.

If it's a single CPU G5, then it's really not any speedy either.
I have a 1.8GHz iMac G5 and it's slow.

If you need more info on reliability on G5s, look here:
http://www.macintouch.com/reliability/pmg5.html
__________________
-tb
MacBook Air 13" i5 osx10.7.5
HackPro 4.3GHz, 16GB RAM, GTX780GHz Edition, 3x SSD , win7+osx10.9.2
cluthz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 02:36 PM   #3
raysfan81
macrumors 6502a
 
raysfan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Carolina
This seems like an obvious question to me. It doesn't make sense to pay $175 on a broken computer. The only models I would totally avoid are the LQ dual processor 2.3, 2.5, and 2.7 ghz models. The DUALCORE 2.0, 2.3 had air cooling and the Quad didn't have nearly as many problems with the LCS as the others did.
__________________
Broken Ipod Touch 1st gen 16gb & Zune HD 64gb
eMac 1.42 ghz,80gb hd & 500mhz Snow iMac g3, 2ghz Unibody MB
400 mhz G4 "Sawtooth", Dual 1.42 ghz MDD, 17" 1.83 ghz C2D iMac

Last edited by raysfan81; Oct 12, 2010 at 04:30 PM.
raysfan81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 02:38 PM   #4
alust2013
macrumors 68040
 
alust2013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: On the fence
I wouldn't buy a nonworking computer, especially an older Mac. Parts can get pretty pricey, and few of the computers are very fast anymore.
__________________
a computer with some GHz and a few GB, some stuff to play music.
-witty comment here-
alust2013 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2010, 02:49 PM   #5
sysiphus
macrumors 6502a
 
sysiphus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
The air-cooled G5 towers that aren't dead yet will probably last for many more years--BUT there's no way I'd buy a partially dead one. Parts are horribly costly, and sinking much money into a 5+ year old machine doesn't make sense.

The price you quoted seems absurdly high to me (in the US); my single 1.6 G5 in perfect order is probably worth about 150USD on the open market.

The short answer is that it's too much to sink into a machine that's going to eat more money. If you're stuck on the idea of a G5 tower (I can understand it, even though they're not practical), get one that works--and make sure to stay far, far away from the liquid-cooled models.
__________________
We hear only those questions for which we are in a position to find answers. (Friedrich Nietzsche)
sysiphus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2010, 06:05 AM   #6
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
the problem is you are not sure whats wrong with it definitely , and a rough guess towards the powersupply doesnt help, really as it could as well be the logicboard , if it was the powersupply definitely then its cheap and easy to replace , if its the logicboard then it would be a near write off,
but having said that the case if in really good nick can fetch nearly what you pay for it , some people pay good cash to get one be it to replace their damaged one , but more often by people to build a hackintosh
so here in the uk you could easy get your money back if the case is in AS NEW condition outside ,but if its dented or scratched dont even bother selling it as the ebay fees will cost more then you get for it
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2010, 06:36 AM   #7
mrkramer
macrumors 601
 
mrkramer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Somewhere
As everyone else has said I wouldn't buy it, if you really want a G5 look for a working one. it would cost way to much to fix it most likely.
__________________
"Jesus was the first socialist, the first to seek a better life for mankind." -Mikhail Gorbachev
mrkramer is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2010, 07:59 AM   #8
bizzle
macrumors 6502a
 
bizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
You can buy a working one for not much more.
__________________
oh no my fans are spinning and my computer is hot wtf?????!!??!?!?1/1/1/111````oneonetwo
bizzle is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2010, 01:01 PM   #9
bibi2205
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Ok, thanks all for the replies. I couldn't make up my mind, but the replies here and on a Dutch forum made it pretty clear that I should stay (far) away from it. Better save some more for an Intel Mac Pro then.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bizzle View Post
You can buy a working one for not much more.
Well, in Belgium the G5 Pro's go for 300+ (about $400).. So being able to get one for about $175 is 'a bargain'. Too bad it's dead.
__________________
Mac Pro (Mid 2010) - Intel Xeon Quad Core 2.8GHz : 12GB : 256GB SSD + 1TB & 2TB HDD : HD7950 Boost
13" Macbook Pro Retina (Late 2013) - Intel Core i5 2.4GHz : 8GB : 256GB : Intel Iris
bibi2205 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2010, 05:45 AM   #10
124151155
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by bibi2205 View Post
But I'm not sure the PSU is the problem in this case.
I don't really have any advice.

I just wanted to say that I found your pun mildy humorous, even though I'm sure it was unintentional.

Advice so I don't get banned: look into what a repair may cost, factor in how much life you'll get out of it before upgrading and then consider whether you should get this or a new mac.
124151155 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2010, 08:25 AM   #11
roadbloc
macrumors 604
 
roadbloc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Don't do it. Especially since it's PowerPC. Get an intel mac and you will get a lot more for your money.
__________________
roadbloc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2010, 07:28 PM   #12
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Well this is a dual-core model so it could be anything like the CPU or logic board. It's also air-cooled so that rules out any liquid damage. G5 prices over there still sell pretty high compared to the US market but $175 is a pretty decent price here in the US for a broken system. Just check ebay for completed listings so you can gauge what the market determines a fair value.

If you knew what you were doing and what parts to replace and know the costs of the parts, it would be OK to buy it if the repair costs are less than the going value. If not then find another deal on a working G5.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2010, 02:22 AM   #13
666sheep
macrumors 68030
 
666sheep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Poland
Quote:
Originally Posted by bibi2205 View Post
System specs: (2005) G5 2GHz, 3GB, GeForce FX5200.
It seems to be 2004 model, so it's DP, not DC. From symptoms OP have described I think it's not worth it. Most probably it's logic board issue, so fix will be expensive.
666sheep is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2010, 08:11 AM   #14
Hakkera
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
No, in short.

As has been said certain parts can be very expensive and difficult to obtain. I think there are plenty of legs in a PM G5 - I own one and love it.

If I were you I'd save an extra 1-200 Euros and buy a working PM G5, as you may end up spending more than this trying to fix it anyway.
Hakkera is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2010, 09:47 AM   #15
Aussiebute
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Exclamation PowerPC No Longer Supported for WoW

If you wore thinking playing World of Warcraft on that PowerPC mac Longer Supported

http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/th...60539886&sid=1
Aussiebute is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:41 AM   #16
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
Quad g5 lcs going strong!!!
__________________
2008 Mac Pro 3,1
2.8Ghz V8/12GB/GTX470/8800GT/SSD
Wacom Cintiq 21UX 1x24" Sony PS3 3D display.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 03:39 PM   #17
bibi2205
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aussiebute View Post
If you wore thinking playing World of Warcraft on that PowerPC mac Longer Supported

http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/th...60539886&sid=1
I never said I wanted to play WoW on it..
I have a Windows machine for that (i7 920, 6gb ddr3, radeon hd4870).
__________________
Mac Pro (Mid 2010) - Intel Xeon Quad Core 2.8GHz : 12GB : 256GB SSD + 1TB & 2TB HDD : HD7950 Boost
13" Macbook Pro Retina (Late 2013) - Intel Core i5 2.4GHz : 8GB : 256GB : Intel Iris
bibi2205 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2010, 07:33 PM   #18
Aussiebute
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Thumbs up I was just telling

well that post on the Mac Technical Support is now 33 pages
Aussiebute is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2010, 12:30 AM   #19
Epsilon88
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Look elsewhere for sure.
Epsilon88 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerMac G5 as a server? Good idea? alexreich PowerPC Macs 35 Sep 11, 2012 04:46 PM
PowerMac G5 AirPort card installation osxoverwin PowerPC Macs 7 Oct 16, 2011 03:42 AM
Trading 16gb iPad 1 for a PowerMac G5 geekindisguise Buying Tips and Advice 5 Sep 19, 2011 08:28 AM
Should I take the risk in installing Lion as my primary? hellomoto4 Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 26 Feb 28, 2011 07:33 PM
Triple boot - Need some advice on whether there is any point in taking the risk! MBPFTW Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 8 Jan 25, 2010 03:58 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC