Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bahlquist

macrumors member
Original poster
Oct 6, 2010
I want to understand what code Xcode produces so that, if I wanted, I could write all the files for my program in a text editor and compile them from a Unix command line. In my simple example (using Interface Builder), I have a single button: an object of the class NSButton which I call buttonToPress, and some text: an object of the class NSTextField which I call numberToDisplay. Using Interface Builder, I make a new object of (my own) class BAFoo that tells what number to display when the button is pressed.

Now, I have inspected the files that were made when I created this program, the only interesting ones being BAFoo.*, but I don't see where there is code instantiating the objects buttonToPress or numberToDisplay, nor do I see where the appropriate files (NSTextField.h and NSButton.h) were included. I am new to programming. Can you help me out? Feel free to correct me if I used the incorrect language.

chown33

Staff member
Aug 9, 2009
A sea of green
You can't duplicate Interface Builder's files using the command-line alone. Interface Builder doesn't generate code. Instead, it creates actual objects, changes their attributes according to the different UI elements you interact with, then serializes or archives those objects to an xib or nib file.

When a program loads a nib or xib file, the opposite occurs: the file data is deserialized or unarchived and interpreted in a way that recreates the object.

Some of the pivotal classes and protocols to do this are NSCoding, NSCoder, NSArchiver, and related.
http://developer.apple.com/library/.../Archiving.html#//apple_ref/doc/uid/10000047i