Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 13, 2010, 05:53 PM   #1
baconroll
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Handbrake Question for ATV

Please can someone help me because this is driving me nuts!

I am ripping DVD's and I have a Season set of Hustle (aired in UK). So I have 2 discs with 3 episodes each on them. Here is the problem.

I load them in Handbrake then select the chapter that contains all 3 episodes. It takes 2hrs or so (or quicker), saves as m4v but will not play in iTunes or Quicktime.

So - exactly the same settings then, I load each chapter separately, Handbrake does it's stuff and Viola! - it works fine!

Why will it not convert the 1 chapter with all 3 episodes in yet will rip an episode separately with no problem?

I have tried everything and cannot figure this out!

Please help if you can.

Thanks
baconroll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2010, 07:13 PM   #2
GermanSuplex
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Are you selecting a title (i.e. a show) with three chapters, or are you ripping all the episodes into on file? If you're ripping all three episodes into one file, take a look at the m4v file size.

If the resulting file is over 4GB, you have to check the large file tickbox before encoding for compatability. This would explain why all three ripped into one file is large and won't play, but each episode encoded individually is smaller in size and will play fine.

If this is not the issue, then I have no idea.
GermanSuplex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2010, 08:04 PM   #3
JRoDDz
macrumors 68000
 
JRoDDz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NJ
What handbrake profile are you using?
JRoDDz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2010, 06:51 AM   #4
baconroll
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by GermanSuplex View Post
Are you selecting a title (i.e. a show) with three chapters, or are you ripping all the episodes into on file? If you're ripping all three episodes into one file, take a look at the m4v file size.

If the resulting file is over 4GB, you have to check the large file tickbox before encoding for compatability. This would explain why all three ripped into one file is large and won't play, but each episode encoded individually is smaller in size and will play fine.

If this is not the issue, then I have no idea.
Thanks, that worked. I had not got large file selected so that was the problem. One more question if you don't mind . . .

I selected the one file in Handbrake which contained all 3 episodes. However, when I load the file in iTunes - it goes straight to the 1st episode. There is no menu screen like there would be if you were playing the DVD in your player. i.e. Episode 1 - title etc. Now I realize that the titles are a separate file because I can see it in Handbrake as title 2, 12 secs or so, but is there a way to add this file to the outputted file containing the 3 episodes so that I can choose the episode I want when playing back?

Thanks
baconroll is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2010, 03:53 PM   #5
AppleNewton
macrumors 65816
 
AppleNewton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 1 Finite Place
You wont get menus from Handbrake.
it just rips the chapters of the actual movie itself.
your best bet is to rip each episode individually and select it specifically in iTunes/AppleTV
AppleNewton is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2010, 04:04 PM   #6
JRoDDz
macrumors 68000
 
JRoDDz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NJ
If you want menus, I believe you would need a DVD authoring program.
JRoDDz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2010, 04:07 PM   #7
nwcs
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleNewton View Post
You wont get menus from Handbrake.
it just rips the chapters of the actual movie itself.
your best bet is to rip each episode individually and select it specifically in iTunes/AppleTV
I honestly think there isn't another way. Not until someone makes an iTunes Extras maker that's simple and easy to use -- an maybe not even with that.
__________________
This space intentionally not blank
nwcs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2010, 04:56 PM   #8
baconroll
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleNewton View Post
You wont get menus from Handbrake.
it just rips the chapters of the actual movie itself.
your best bet is to rip each episode individually and select it specifically in iTunes/AppleTV
Thanks for that - I guessed as much. Will go down that route rather than rip them together. At least I can select the episode I want.
baconroll is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Optimizing DVD Encodes for HDTV (Handbrake, ATV Choices) wrongrobot Apple TV and Home Theater 17 Jun 3, 2013 02:20 PM
Handbrake Question Outkast27 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 10 Feb 10, 2013 01:45 AM
Handbrake Audio Settings for Dolby Digital 5.1 with ATV 3 preset miksterman Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Feb 8, 2013 03:24 AM
Handbrake settings ATV 1st Gen. 5.1 Audio Help? Superfly611 Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Dec 25, 2012 03:46 PM
Dark scenes ATV/Handbrake Spacecowboy1 Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Aug 30, 2012 03:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC