Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 17, 2010, 10:26 AM   #1
DreadAlert
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Microphone Problems.

Hey guys.

I bought a microphone, and plugged it into my Microphone input, but nothing worked.. I tried everything. Although, my microphone does work on my old windows laptop.

I then took my laptop to the apple store and saw a genius. He plugged his iPhone into the microphone port and it could record music fine from the iPhone. So.. no problems with the port.

I then bought a headset with a microphone on it, which uses the line-in and headphone ports and still nothing works. Although this headset works flawlessly on my old windows laptop again.

Someone please help. I have checked all settings, tried to record in Audacity and Garageband. I've made sure everything is on and working.. There's nothing wrong with the port either.

Please help!
-DreadAlert-
DreadAlert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 10:30 AM   #2
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Have you checked System Preferences > Sound > Input? Have you checked the preferences of Audacity and Garage Band, especially the input preferences?
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 10:34 AM   #3
DreadAlert
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I checked the settings for Garageband but I'll try the settings in Audacity now.

But it SHOULD pick up sound in System Preferences > Sound > Input > Build In Input, right?
DreadAlert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 10:35 AM   #4
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Quote:
Originally Posted by DreadAlert View Post
I checked the settings for Garageband but I'll try the settings in Audacity now.

But it SHOULD pick up sound in System Preferences > Sound > Input > Build In Input, right?
It should pick up sound with the Line In (Built-In Input).
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 10:37 AM   #5
DreadAlert
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
But it's not.
And i see no reason for it not to.
DreadAlert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 10:38 AM   #6
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Is the microphone on, or where does it get its power from?
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 10:40 AM   #7
DreadAlert
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
There's an on and off thing on the wire, along with volume. But I don't think thats powered at all.

Does it matter? I mean it works fine on my windows PC so it works without power.
DreadAlert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 10:57 AM   #8
Kebabselector
macrumors 68020
 
Kebabselector's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Birmingham, UK
I thought as a general rule, normal microphones do not work on the Mac as it's a Line-in rather than a Mic connection. You'll most likely need a pre amp of some sort to convert from Mic to Line.

Not too sure where to look, but I'm sure i've seen some USB based solutions here.
__________________
Mac Mini 1.66Ghz/2gb - 2.3/i5/8gb - MacBook 2.0Ghz/2gb
iPhone 6 64gb - iPad Mini Retina 16gb wifi
Others: Canon Eos Stuff - Passat B6 - Smeg - Firewire devices - Prefers Matte
Kebabselector is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 11:00 AM   #9
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kebabselector View Post
I thought as a general rule, normal microphones do not work on the Mac as it's a Line-in rather than a Mic connection. You'll most likely need a pre amp of some sort to convert from Mic to Line.

Not too sure where to look, but I'm sure i've seen some USB based solutions here.
Correct, should have though of that. You need either a mixer, that powers the mic if necessary or another device to go through to use the Line-in of any device. You probably used the mic-in on the PC's sound card I suppose.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2010, 11:02 AM   #10
DreadAlert
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Ahh i see..
I'll try and take this headset back then and get a USB headset instead.
DreadAlert is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
microphone legalgirl Mac Basics and Help 1 Apr 24, 2014 04:45 AM
Microphone Problems Chenzie11 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jan 14, 2014 06:42 PM
rMbp microphone problems appl3kill MacBook Pro 1 Jul 23, 2013 11:44 AM
Microphone help!!! lulla01 Buying Tips and Advice 0 Dec 4, 2012 08:56 PM
External microphone itsderpxd MacBook Pro 4 Oct 10, 2012 10:31 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:16 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC