Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Product Recommendations/Reviews

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 3, 2005, 11:46 PM   #1
maclamb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern California
Send a message via Yahoo to maclamb
Hi Power Wireless G hub?

My two story house has some pretty bad dead zones.
I am using an SMC wireless router - the one with two antenna.
I am looking for a significantly more powerful gateway router.
Any suggestions?
(actually the point is to eliminate the dead spots, so suggestions for this are welcome too).

thanks
__________________
The grim reaper doesn't care what kind of computer you use.
maclamb is offline   0
Old Jan 5, 2005, 11:36 AM   #2
fuzzai
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
Send a message via AIM to fuzzai Send a message via MSN to fuzzai
where are your dead zones in the house?
like what is around the area where the signal that is dead?
fuzzai is offline   0
Old Jan 5, 2005, 12:12 PM   #3
emw
macrumors 603
 
emw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
You could get a linksys WRT54G and then install 3rd party firmware to increase the power output. I'll try and track down the link for the firmware. I've installed it, and it definitely helps. I can get a signal pretty much anywhere in my 2-story abode, and the router is in the basement (so I guess it's 3 stories, really).

You could also buy a repeater or two to expand the range throughout the house.
__________________
Think. Then post.
emw is offline   0
Old Jan 5, 2005, 04:57 PM   #4
Capt Underpants
macrumors 68030
 
Capt Underpants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Instead of buying a different hub, why not just buy a higher grade antennae for the hub you already have?
__________________
Love.
Capt Underpants is offline   0
Old Jan 5, 2005, 08:13 PM   #5
maclamb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern California
Send a message via Yahoo to maclamb
My house is a two story house - wireless hub is downstairs.
I receive very good reception directly above.
But - above and 20 - 40 feet across are the dead spots.
I have heard that repeaters cut the performance in half, so that didn't seem like a great option.

I'm interested in the linksys option and the better antenna - suggestions?
__________________
The grim reaper doesn't care what kind of computer you use.
maclamb is offline   0
Old Jan 5, 2005, 08:15 PM   #6
maclamb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern California
Send a message via Yahoo to maclamb
took a look at the linksys - seems to be about the same as my SMC 2804WBR
b/g, DHCP, gateway, 4 ports, etc...
the firmware upgrade sounds interesting...
__________________
The grim reaper doesn't care what kind of computer you use.
maclamb is offline   0
Old Jan 5, 2005, 08:22 PM   #7
hcuar
macrumors 65816
 
hcuar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dallas
Quote:
Originally Posted by maclamb
My two story house has some pretty bad dead zones.
I am using an SMC wireless router - the one with two antenna.
I am looking for a significantly more powerful gateway router.
Any suggestions?
(actually the point is to eliminate the dead spots, so suggestions for this are welcome too).

thanks
I'm using a netgear 802.11g router... I have no signal problems. The router is on the main floor. The PB works great in the basement, main floor, and second floor.
__________________
iMac 27" i5 Mid 2011 | 1TB HD | 16GB RAM
iPhone 4 32 Gig
hcuar is offline   0
Old Jan 5, 2005, 08:29 PM   #8
Capt Underpants
macrumors 68030
 
Capt Underpants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
You'll get more range out of something like this than you ever will out of a stock linksys router antenna. It's 9 dBi, which should be plenty. Look up your current router and see how many dBi your current antenna is.

edit: I looked up your hub, and it's 2 dBi
__________________
Love.
Capt Underpants is offline   0
Old Jan 5, 2005, 09:22 PM   #9
Mertzen
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: ]KLGA[
Send a message via AIM to Mertzen
This place has multiple solutions to boost the range of your network .. http://www.macwireless.com/
Mertzen is offline   0
Old Jan 5, 2005, 09:50 PM   #10
powerboy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
I just bought the Belkin Pre N router and it is giving me better range than I was getting with my D-Link DI-624. Buy.com had the best price.
powerboy is offline   0
Old Jan 6, 2005, 12:48 AM   #11
maclamb
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Northern California
Send a message via Yahoo to maclamb
I'll look into a booster. Thanks Capt!.

oddly enough, it's only the PB 12 1.33 that has problems - my IBM thinkpad t40 w/ Intel wireless mini-pci card works fine!
__________________
The grim reaper doesn't care what kind of computer you use.
maclamb is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Product Recommendations/Reviews

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Caldigit Thunderbolt hub and Lacie ESATA hub mjsanders5uk Mac Peripherals 0 Dec 10, 2013 08:56 AM
Is there a wireless USB hub for Mac? Arelunde Mac Peripherals 7 Feb 24, 2013 04:05 PM
Power Mac G5 Wireless Dongle keremtezcan PowerPC Macs 15 Jan 14, 2013 08:01 PM
Looking for a Mac-compatable wireless USB hub MegaSignal iMac 4 Dec 22, 2012 09:41 AM
USB Hub for charging iPad 3 enough power? Bez59 iPad 0 Oct 27, 2012 03:58 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC