Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 18, 2010, 08:39 PM   #1
splashnader
macrumors 6502a
 
splashnader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Via Satellite
Brush shapes in Photoshop CS5 (Extended) disappear during use

While using Photoshop CS5 (extended) for long periods of time, I notice that my brush shape, circle or square brush shape, disappears and is replaced by the precise (crosshair) brush shape. This of course makes it challenging when trying to work inside small areas on the canvas where I need a reference point size depending on how big the brush is or small it is, and not just the precise size crosshair that doesn't change no matter how big my brush size goes.

This problem just started to happen a couple of weeks ago. I would find that I would have to save the file, quit the program, and then relaunch app and file before Photoshop would recognize the brush shape I was looking for. Now I have to almost shut down the application for almost an hour before it works properly again. I do not know if I need more memory or if this is a bug. The thing is the application does this even if it is the only thing running, besides Finder in the Activity Monitor. I just don't understand how the application runs fine for about an hour then just all of sudden I will go from say the eyedropper tool to the brush tool and get a crosshair instead of the brush shape that is selected. I can't believe that 4GB of RAM is not enough to run Photoshop without losing functionality of basic tools, especially when Photoshop is the only application that is running.

Anyway if anybody could help I would appreciate it.

HARDWARE:

iMac 27inch i5 quad-core processor 2.66GHz (early 2010)
1 TB hard drive
4 GB RAM
ATI 4850 HD w/ 512MB RAM
(everything else standard)
splashnader is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2010, 02:35 AM   #2
FourCandles
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England
Can't offer a solution, but FWIW I have the same issue on PS CS5 Extended. Very occasionally happens; I can't pinpoint it to happening after a certain period of time. It does happen with other tools too, such as the eraser, that use the same cursor system.

My only workaround is currently to quit and relaunch. I don't have to wait before relaunching, though.

What I do find annoying is that this problem also existed in PS CS2 on my old G5, which I used before upgrading to CS5 on a new machine (which is a C2D with 4GB RAM and otherwise runs CS5 flawlessly).

Last edited by FourCandles; Oct 19, 2010 at 02:39 AM. Reason: extra info
FourCandles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2010, 09:09 PM   #3
saqqara
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Hi, I just found this via google while looking for another issue. Not sure if this is your problem, but when caps lock is on, the brush shape becomes a cross hair.
saqqara is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 10, 2010, 02:35 AM   #4
FourCandles
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by saqqara View Post
Hi, I just found this via google while looking for another issue. Not sure if this is your problem, but when caps lock is on, the brush shape becomes a cross hair.
You know, that may well be it. I admit that I've never checked to see whether the caps lock was on or off in all the times I've noticed this issue.

I'll be sure to check now though!

Many thanks for posting....and welcome to the forums.
FourCandles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2011, 11:07 AM   #5
KrystleParker
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by saqqara View Post
Hi, I just found this via google while looking for another issue. Not sure if this is your problem, but when caps lock is on, the brush shape becomes a cross hair.

LOL I never thought about the caps button! that was definitely the problem with mine.I kept restarting my program too.Thank you for that because it will save me lots of time now knowing that lol

Newbie to Photo shop <3
KrystleParker is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2012, 10:55 AM   #6
oguy111
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Idaho
Turn off caps lock

You need to turn off caps lock.
oguy111 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weird haltings doing simple things in photoshop CS5 with late 2010 13" macbook pro chupacabra31 MacBook Pro 6 Aug 28, 2011 05:15 PM
Font mix in Photoshop CS5 PS65 Web Design and Development 0 Aug 20, 2011 10:21 AM
[YouTube] How to create "linen" effect in Photoshop CS5 glossywhite Design and Graphics 0 Jun 9, 2011 10:57 AM
cant move sides of bounding box to crop in photoshop CS5 Sossity Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Mar 19, 2011 12:55 AM
Consistent bug in Photoshop cs5 Luis Ortega Mac Basics and Help 1 Sep 19, 2010 12:26 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC