Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 19, 2010, 09:30 PM   #1
ytty
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Onyx: Replaced logic board 2x, still 3 beep RAM failure

Originally burned several resistors beyond repair on an Onyx VGA upgraded with 667 Mhz. Replaced with a used 550 Mhz logic board from reputable dealer, upon startup received 3 beep RAM failure. I swapped memory sticks with two brand new, still 3-beep RAM failure. Attempted second logic board swap with a second 667 Mhz board I purchased, still 3-beep RAM failure, all combinations of RAM sticks in all positions--I've read most posts on the subject. I do get one beep with no sticks.

These boards were certified tested, two bad apples seems indicative of a deeper problem, any suggestions?
ytty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2010, 07:23 PM   #2
raysfan81
macrumors 6502a
 
raysfan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Carolina
What is an onyx? Do you mean the Graphite iMac G3 or the iBook G3 by any chance? Or do you mean the early(er) Powermac G4 towers?
__________________
Broken Ipod Touch 1st gen 16gb & Zune HD 64gb
eMac 1.42 ghz,80gb hd & 500mhz Snow iMac g3, 2ghz Unibody MB
400 mhz G4 "Sawtooth", Dual 1.42 ghz MDD, 17" 1.83 ghz C2D iMac
raysfan81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2010, 10:01 PM   #3
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Quote:
Originally Posted by raysfan81 View Post
What is an onyx? Do you mean the Graphite iMac G3 or the iBook G3 by any chance? Or do you mean the early(er) Powermac G4 towers?
Its the code name for the 2nd generation of Titanium Powerbook G4. Its the 550-667MHz model that still had VGA instead of DVI video out.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.6 17", DP 2.0 G5, DP 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 12:51 PM   #4
ytty
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/532.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Mobile/8B117)

Yes, it's a PowerBook G4.
ytty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2010, 12:10 PM   #5
ytty
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
If else, could someone direct me to a more technically oriented forum? Thanks!
ytty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2010, 12:41 PM   #6
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Quote:
Originally Posted by ytty View Post
If else, could someone direct me to a more technically oriented forum? Thanks!
Honestly, I looked over the service manuals for that TiBook and I can't find anything that would be helpful. If you've already replaced the logicboard and RAM you just need to replace the computer. You can get those old TiBooks for around $35 these days.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.6 17", DP 2.0 G5, DP 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2010, 02:23 PM   #7
ytty
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hrududu View Post
Honestly, I looked over the service manuals for that TiBook and I can't find anything that would be helpful. If you've already replaced the logicboard and RAM you just need to replace the computer. You can get those old TiBooks for around $35 these days.
Thanks for the effort bud.... $35....what??? I paid more than that for the logic board!
ytty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2010, 03:18 PM   #8
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
thats normal the parts are much more expensive even used, compare to a used PowerBook , but that is still the case , if you would have to buy all parts to build a 27inch iMac today you would pay easy double what a complete one cost at the apple store
and even if you bought the logicboards "new" they had been sitting in some shelf since nearly 10 years already which doesn't make parts better

but its good to see someone who loves his powerbook so much that he doesn't throw it away on ebay for parts ,only because parts are more expensive then the whole powerbook , gives a bit of hope that not everyone see the old Mac's as things only good for a museum today
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2010, 09:06 PM   #9
ytty
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHamster68 View Post
but its good to see someone who loves his powerbook so much that he doesn't throw it away on ebay for parts ,only because parts are more expensive then the whole powerbook , gives a bit of hope that not everyone see the old Mac's as things only good for a museum today
with numbers to crunch, every terminal helps

You know, as recently as 2 years ago I used this Powerbook for a live DJ gig with Serato when my MBP was down....underpowered but STILL more stable than a PC at the time
ytty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2010, 09:56 PM   #10
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Quote:
Originally Posted by ytty View Post
Thanks for the effort bud.... $35....what??? I paid more than that for the logic board!
I got my 867MHz TiBook for $50 and my 667MHz for $35. Both on winning eBay bids.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.6 17", DP 2.0 G5, DP 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2010, 12:08 AM   #11
Mactrillionaire
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Try booting one time with all RAM removed. After powering off, reinstall the RAM to its correct position. I know it sounds counterintuitive, but it does sometimes work.
__________________
OS X: More useful than Linux, less aggravating than Windows.
Mactrillionaire is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just got Logic Board replaced do I need to reformat HDD wakeborder556 MacBook Pro 3 Feb 24, 2014 01:55 PM
Just got logic board replaced, 2 weeks later: same problem wakeborder556 MacBook Pro 5 Feb 15, 2014 12:12 PM
One beep at Startup, replaced RAM, still beeping Paul B iMac 12 Oct 28, 2013 12:38 AM
MacBook Pro Logic Board Failure? oblow MacBook Pro 3 Jul 23, 2013 12:37 AM
Apple replaced my logic board, did I get Thunderbolt? TheBMill MacBook Pro 7 Aug 18, 2012 08:20 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC