im struggling with terminal - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 20, 2010, 04:52 AM   #1
JARm
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
im struggling with terminal

hi
iv been trying to use the program terminal.
im not to sure what im doing but i got some instruction to follow,
so i followed the instruction to where it say password.
this wht i get:


name$ sudo /Applications/TextEdit.app/Contents/MacOS/TextEdit /etc/hosts

WARNING: Improper use of the sudo command could lead to data loss
or the deletion of important system files. Please double-check your
typing when using sudo. Type "man sudo" for more information.

To proceed, enter your password, or type Ctrl-C to abort.

Password:

i am the administrator of my laptop and i dont have a password!
what can i do?
JARm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2010, 05:09 AM   #2
Queso
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Enter your normal user account password again (the one you use to install software). If your account is an admin it is permitted to use sudo, but the computer prompts you as a security measure
Queso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2010, 05:14 AM   #3
Guiyon
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: North Shore, MA
If you have a blank password you cannot use sudo as it does not accept 0 character passwords.
__________________
Make life easier if you have a programming question!
http://www.sscce.org/
Guiyon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2010, 05:14 AM   #4
JARm
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Queso View Post
Enter your normal user account password again (the one you use to install software). If your account is an admin it is permitted to use sudo, but the computer prompts you as a security measure
i dont have a password for when i put programs in!
but when the password thing comes up i press enter n i say its wrong and ask for another!
JARm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2010, 05:27 AM   #5
Queso
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by JARm View Post
i dont have a password for when i put programs in!
but when the password thing comes up i press enter n i say its wrong and ask for another!
Then you need to set one. As Guiyon correctly posted you need a proper password for sudo
Queso is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 21, 2010, 01:00 AM   #6
mac2x
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
You should have a proper password for your account anyway.
__________________
Retina MBP | 2.6 GHz i7 | 16 GB RAM

Gaming Rig | Core i7-2600K | 16 GB RAM | 160 GB OCZ Agility 2 | EVGA GTX 770 SC | Windows 7 Pro x64 | ASUS VG248QE
mac2x is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iOS 7.0.3 music struggling jonasdamn iOS 7 11 Oct 23, 2013 05:26 PM
iOS7: Struggling to see the point. vrDrew iOS 7 111 Oct 11, 2013 12:10 PM
Am I the only one that is struggling with this? jererermy iOS 7 25 Jun 22, 2013 01:17 PM
Struggling with DiskArbitration NSUser Mac Programming 1 May 9, 2013 04:21 PM
Struggling here.... lionmanpt MacBook Pro 18 Oct 30, 2012 02:19 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC