Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 25, 2010, 06:08 PM   #1
r1ngx
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
How to remove Cydia account info from iPhone I am selling?

I did a fresh restore and JB of an iPhone I want to sell but when I goto Cydia on the iPhone it still shows packages I have purchased? Is this because of the UUID of the device in Cydia's database? How can I purge it so the buyer will not be able to download apps from cydia that I have paid for? I did the restore and setup as a "new" iphone.. not restoring past backups.

Thanks in advance.
r1ngx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2010, 09:09 PM   #2
bytethese
macrumors 68030
 
bytethese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cranford, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by r1ngx View Post
I did a fresh restore and JB of an iPhone I want to sell but when I goto Cydia on the iPhone it still shows packages I have purchased? Is this because of the UUID of the device in Cydia's database? How can I purge it so the buyer will not be able to download apps from cydia that I have paid for? I did the restore and setup as a "new" iphone.. not restoring past backups.

Thanks in advance.
Which iPhone? You should be able to use Erase All Content and Settings and use Pwnage Tool to package up a custom 4.1 package to restore to your device. Once restored check Cydia again to see if there's anything there. As long as you didn't restore from a backup afterward, I think you should be ok.
__________________
So I prison break my phone, use Chlamydia to install un-John Hancock'd apps, then I somehow use a Surfboard to change the way my African Safari looks
bytethese is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2010, 09:18 PM   #3
eastercat
macrumors 68040
 
eastercat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX
IIRC, you have to transfer the account from that phone. However, since I only use the free apps, I don't know how.
__________________
64 GB space grey iPhone 5S (AT&T); 16 GB space grey iPad retina mini (Verizon with T-Mobile sim); 2014 rMBP 2.8 GHz quad core i7, 16 GB RAM, 1TB SSD, Nvidia GeForce GT 750M (ordered)
eastercat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2010, 12:40 PM   #4
brokin
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
i too would like to know how to do this. i recently restored my iphone to new and rejailbroke it. why i launched cydia it already detected my account and purchases. this information would be good to know.
brokin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2010, 12:45 PM   #5
maturola
macrumors 68040
 
maturola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Send a message via AIM to maturola
If you do a fresh restore and re-JB, Cydia won't know it is you until you login with your Facebook or Google ID (which is what cydia use for ID)

Quote:
Originally Posted by brokin View Post
i too would like to know how to do this. i recently restored my iphone to new and rejailbroke it. why i launched cydia it already detected my account and purchases. this information would be good to know.
You must have done a restore from Backup, you need to do a DFU restore and RE-Jb without restore from "users" (you) backup. Set it up as new phone. there is no way for Cydia to "know" it is you until you login. Cydia use Google or Facebook ID for that.
__________________
Sometime when I am alone I Google myself!!!
13'' Unibody MacBook / Made by , Fix by the Dev Team
LockedUSB Adapter - USB Charger Firewall and Power Optimizer

Last edited by maturola; Oct 26, 2010 at 12:53 PM.
maturola is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2010, 12:48 PM   #6
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by maturola View Post
If you do a fresh restore and re-JB, Cydia won't know it is you until you login with your Facebook or Google ID (which is what cydia use for ID)
Bingo
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2010, 11:12 PM   #7
r1ngx
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by maturola View Post
If you do a fresh restore and re-JB, Cydia won't know it is you until you login with your Facebook or Google ID (which is what cydia use for ID)



You must have done a restore from Backup, you need to do a DFU restore and RE-Jb without restore from "users" (you) backup. Set it up as new phone. there is no way for Cydia to "know" it is you until you login. Cydia use Google or Facebook ID for that.
I set it up as a NEW phone. Cydia is using some other method to identify because I DID NOT RESTORE from users account..
r1ngx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2010, 10:39 AM   #8
r1ngx
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
no one has the answer? It was restored as NEW phone, but Cydia still shows the packages I purchased. Is Cydia using the UUID of the iPhone for identification?
r1ngx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2010, 10:43 AM   #9
maturola
macrumors 68040
 
maturola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Send a message via AIM to maturola
Quote:
Originally Posted by r1ngx View Post
no one has the answer? It was restored as NEW phone, but Cydia still shows the packages I purchased. Is Cydia using the UUID of the iPhone for identification?
Can you post a Screenshot, to see exactly what cydia is telling you?

what did you use to login to Cydia the first time you purchased your first app? google or facebook iD?

Are you doing a DFU restore?

This is what Cydia shows after every restore I have done.

__________________
Sometime when I am alone I Google myself!!!
13'' Unibody MacBook / Made by , Fix by the Dev Team
LockedUSB Adapter - USB Charger Firewall and Power Optimizer
maturola is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2010, 10:46 AM   #10
bender o
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by r1ngx View Post
no one has the answer? It was restored as NEW phone, but Cydia still shows the packages I purchased. Is Cydia using the UUID of the iPhone for identification?
I had the same issue and there seems to be no option. Although I did sell my phone without restoring it (original seller didn't save the shsh's blobls in time) and I had no trouble, I only had bought only one app, MyWi, and when I bought my new phone I was able to download it for free with my old license without issues. I don't know if my buyer is using it and I really don't care since I'm able to use mine and haven't got any "new" charges because the account doesn't save your paypal information

Hope it helps
bender o is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2010, 06:50 PM   #11
r1ngx
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by maturola View Post
Can you post a Screenshot, to see exactly what cydia is telling you?

what did you use to login to Cydia the first time you purchased your first app? google or facebook iD?

Are you doing a DFU restore?

This is what Cydia shows after every restore I have done.
I get the "Package Previously Purchased" note on the pages of apps that I have purchased. You only need to login with facebook or gmail if you are PURCHASING something. So as the responder above stated, the person with the iPhone can probably redownload anything I have purchased before.
r1ngx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2010, 07:23 PM   #12
maturola
macrumors 68040
 
maturola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta, GA
Send a message via AIM to maturola
Quote:
Originally Posted by r1ngx View Post
I get the "Package Previously Purchased" note on the pages of apps that I have purchased. You only need to login with facebook or gmail if you are PURCHASING something. So as the responder above stated, the person with the iPhone can probably redownload anything I have purchased before.
You still didn't answer the question, Did you use your Google or your facebook id when you originally got the package?

Did you do a DFU restore?
__________________
Sometime when I am alone I Google myself!!!
13'' Unibody MacBook / Made by , Fix by the Dev Team
LockedUSB Adapter - USB Charger Firewall and Power Optimizer
maturola is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2010, 07:30 PM   #13
r1ngx
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by maturola View Post
You still didn't answer the question, Did you use your Google or your facebook id when you originally got the package?

Did you do a DFU restore?
I did a DFU restore with pwnage 4.1 and setup as a NEW phone.
r1ngx is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: cant remove cydia profile no remove button alice11 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 6 Aug 30, 2013 11:03 AM
iPhone: Remove cydia/jailbreak without updating iphone 5 jundy Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 3 Jun 7, 2013 04:52 PM
iPhone: Can I remove cydia from the front screen of my IPhone? bluedream11 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 8 Feb 27, 2013 02:18 AM
iPhone: Manage account on cydia is not saving google login info Eternal 28 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 14 Feb 9, 2013 03:47 PM
iPhone: Problem With Possible BiteSMS in Cydia? Can't Remove or Install Any Cydia Apps... hlbenning Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Oct 19, 2012 02:42 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC