Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 28, 2010, 08:12 PM   #1
HiRez
macrumors 601
 
HiRez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Western US
MacBook Air + Xcode

Anyone get one of the new MacBook Airs yet? It seems like it could be the ultimate road coding machine (considering size and weight, obviously). I'm curious to know how Xcode runs, if the screen feels too cramped, and if you found any development-related issues with it. It seems like the CPU should be fast enough, battery life looks good (5-6+ hours), and the SSD/flash storage could potentially help performance a lot, especially during compiles.
__________________
Go outside, the graphics are amazing!
HiRez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2010, 08:27 PM   #2
Catfish_Man
macrumors 68030
 
Catfish_Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR
Send a message via AIM to Catfish_Man
I can't speak for the 11.6" model, but I code a good bit on my 13" MacBook + SSD, which is basically similar to the 13" air but lower res and heavier. Works fine for me.
Catfish_Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2010, 05:03 PM   #3
dborja
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northern California
I have a first-gen MBAir and XCode runs just fine. It is usable with the 13" screen although I do enjoy the 27" on my iMac when coding.
__________________
Late '09 27" i5 Quad Core iMac, 2.66 GHz, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD (Week 51 build); Mid '11 13" i5 MBA, 4GB RAM, 128GB SSD; iPad Air, 16GB WiFi; Apple TV 4th Gen; HTC One 32GB
dborja is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2010, 12:12 PM   #4
Jill-Jnn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: France
Just got a MacBook Air 11″ and don't feel cramped yet with the editors I use (argh, I have to DOWNLOAD XCode, as I didn't get any installation disc).
Jill-Jnn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2010, 12:41 PM   #5
chrono1081
macrumors 604
 
chrono1081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Isla Nublar
Works great for me. I have the 13 inch, 2.14ghz, 4 gigs ram. MBA
__________________
Mac Pro (2010): 3.33Ghz Intel Xeon (6 core) - 24 GB RAM - NVidia Quadro k5000
Macbook Air (2010): 2.13 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM
chrono1081 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2010, 01:19 PM   #6
BillTheConqeror
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jill-Jnn View Post
Just got a MacBook Air 11″ and don't feel cramped yet with the editors I use (argh, I have to DOWNLOAD XCode, as I didn't get any installation disc).
Have you tried it with an external monitor yet?

I'm torn between the 11" and 13". In either case, I would use it with an external monitor for Xcode but I'm more curious about it from a power standpoint.
BillTheConqeror is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2010, 02:08 PM   #7
tomacintosh
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillTheConqeror View Post
Have you tried it with an external monitor yet?

I'm torn between the 11" and 13". In either case, I would use it with an external monitor for Xcode but I'm more curious about it from a power standpoint.
I think either machine will run it fine. Once the app is actually open it won't make all that much difference. I've run Xcode on a Core Solo Mac mini in the past, and it worked fine.
__________________
27" iMac i7 ~ 8GB 11" MacBook Air 1.6GHz 4GB Apple TV iPhone 4 32GB 1TB Time Capsule
http://www.digitalintrovert.com mac tech talk how-to
tomacintosh is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2010, 02:30 PM   #8
BillTheConqeror
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Thanks for your input. I'm still beside myself which one to pick though, haha.
BillTheConqeror is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2010, 03:29 PM   #9
BillTheConqeror
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Last question, Would Xcode benefit from the 4GB RAM upgrade? Otherwise my uses for this laptop will be very light: Web, iTunes, tweetdeck, and the occasional small spreadsheet or word document.
BillTheConqeror is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2010, 03:40 PM   #10
chown33
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
If you use Xcode mostly by itself, 2 GB should be fine. My Mac mini with 2 GB is more than enough to run Xcode and a few other apps at once.

If you're the type of person who always leaves all their apps running, especially in Spaces, then 2 GB may be inadequate. On the up side, SSD swapping will be fast. On the down side, swapping is swapping, and exacts a cost.

One other thing to consider: I bought my mini and intentionally upgraded its RAM myself. That's not possible with the Air. I would personally max out the RAM, even if it costs me more, because I think it would extend the useful lifetime of the computer. Max RAM is one less obstacle to hit later.
chown33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2010, 03:53 PM   #11
BillTheConqeror
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Thanks. I think I am going to go with the stock 2GB model to save some cash. I would probably only have a web browser with 4-5 tabs open while running Xcode, and for general usage, just a browser, iTunes, Tweetdeck, and occasionally Microsoft Office.

I know I can't upgrade it, but another consideration is that I am thinking about going back to school next fall and would be eligible for a student discount if I want to upgrade in a year or two.
BillTheConqeror is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2010, 04:26 PM   #12
chown33
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillTheConqeror View Post
Thanks. I think I am going to go with the stock 2GB model to save some cash. I would probably only have a web browser with 4-5 tabs open while running Xcode, and for general usage, just a browser, iTunes, Tweetdeck, and occasionally Microsoft Office.
If that's your typical workspace, then you should at least run Activity Monitor.app and have it tell you the memory usage with that setup. It could be close to the edge of swapping with 2 GB, but you won't know it unless you measure it.
chown33 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2010, 10:42 PM   #13
firewood
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Seems like the 11" Air would fit nicely right below the 27" Apple monitor and allow a nice vertical dual monitor set-up for iOS/iPad development. Has anyone tried this?
firewood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2010, 02:26 PM   #14
jozero
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by firewood View Post
Seems like the 11" Air would fit nicely right below the 27" Apple monitor and allow a nice vertical dual monitor set-up for iOS/iPad development. Has anyone tried this?
I did a rough hand measurement and I believe the 11" would cover the bottom part of the 27" screen. I'm looking at the same combo myself. I wish the Apple screens were height adjustable.
jozero is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2010, 03:04 PM   #15
lee1210
macrumors 68040
 
lee1210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by jozero View Post
I did a rough hand measurement and I believe the 11" would cover the bottom part of the 27" screen. I'm looking at the same combo myself. I wish the Apple screens were height adjustable.
They are! http://www.apple.com/support/imac/g4/

-Lee
lee1210 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2010, 07:39 PM   #16
wakka092
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
I would do the 13" if you mainly code on the road. I had a 13" and found even it limiting in terms of screen real estate. YMMV.
__________________
Formul8: Formulas for math, science: $1.99
wakka092 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2010, 09:33 PM   #17
robvas
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by firewood View Post
Seems like the 11" Air would fit nicely right below the 27" Apple monitor and allow a nice vertical dual monitor set-up for iOS/iPad development. Has anyone tried this?
Different screens = different DPI and different brightness. Yuck.
robvas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2010, 10:21 AM   #18
teaneedz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: California
xcode download experience

During a painful download process due to home network I experienced the following:

- During download RAM usage topped at 800MB. CPU stayed well under 50%.

- During actual install RAM peaked at 1.1GB and CPU pegged at 100%

The actual install was quite fast for this 3GB file. My bottleneck was the network. I wish Apple provided x-code on the install flash stick but it does not.

Xcode runs fine on an MBA 11.6 1.4Ghz/4GB/128GB machine.
teaneedz is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Developing Retina Apps with Xcode on Macbook Air Aster007 Mac Programming 5 May 10, 2014 03:51 PM
Developing Retina Apps with Xcode on Macbook Air Aster007 MacBook Air 6 Apr 28, 2014 01:46 PM
Anyone seriously try xCode on Air 11" phr0ze iPhone/iPad Programming 19 Aug 21, 2013 11:26 AM
XCode iOS Simulator on Air biroshima iPhone/iPad Programming 6 Jul 8, 2013 04:06 AM
Macbook Air for Xcode Development? jmatthew3 Buying Tips and Advice 1 Jan 8, 2013 04:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC