Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 29, 2010, 08:53 AM   #1
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
iMac g4 ram speeds

Hi, on my iMac g4 ive got 2 diff ram ddr2 speed sticks in there.. The standard 256mb apple shipping stick and a faster sodimm, (1.0ghz iMac)

My question is will this work just fine, I mean it boots and runs fine or will I get compatibility issues later on?

Cheers

Edit:
Dimm0. 1gb. Pc2700u
Dimm1. 256mb pc2100u
__________________
Late 2011 Macbook Pro 15"
BUILDING: TB eGPU Sonnet Echo Express + GTX480
Wacom Cintiq 21UX 24" Sony PS3 3D display.

Last edited by VanneDC; Oct 29, 2010 at 04:53 PM.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2010, 03:00 PM   #2
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Im pretty sure that all that happens is the faster dimm will slow down and run at pc2100 speeds (If it boots then it means it should be fine - the speed has throttled down, otherwise I doubt it would boot correctly).
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2010, 03:40 PM   #3
raysfan81
macrumors 6502a
 
raysfan81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrismacguy View Post
Im pretty sure that all that happens is the faster dimm will slow down and run at pc2100 speeds (If it boots then it means it should be fine
That sounds about right. It makes more sense to get the lower speeds by buying a matched module because usually the lower speed RAM is cheaper.
__________________
Broken Ipod Touch 1st gen 16gb & Zune HD 64gb
eMac 1.42 ghz,80gb hd & 500mhz Snow iMac g3, 2ghz Unibody MB
400 mhz G4 "Sawtooth", Dual 1.42 ghz MDD, 17" 1.83 ghz C2D iMac
raysfan81 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2010, 05:19 PM   #4
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by raysfan81 View Post
That sounds about right. It makes more sense to get the lower speeds by buying a matched module because usually the lower speed RAM is cheaper.
Yeah, I mean I know my mix of PC133 and PC100 in my PowerMac just throttles together and works fine at PC100 speeds (I mean in that machines case I just threw in random chips xD)
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5,1 MP RAM Upgrade - Getting 1333MHz speeds out of chips stuck at 1066Mhz! handheldgames Mac Pro 11 Jan 30, 2014 01:03 PM
New NAND type from crossbar with multiple TB of on-chip flash RAM at 20x SSD speeds! barkmonster Apple, Industry and Internet Discussion 0 Aug 6, 2013 07:21 AM
MAX RAM Speeds in MBP pbmagnet4 MacBook Pro 0 May 12, 2013 12:37 PM
Mac Pro Ram Speeds. Dawoo Mac Pro 8 Jul 10, 2012 08:21 AM
SSD speeds at 3g speeds instead of 6g speeds on my MBP doobybiggs MacBook Pro 12 Jul 8, 2012 06:59 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC