Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 1, 2010, 12:01 PM   #1
michiel1996
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
should i buy a powermac G5??

Hello,

I'm new to the forum,
but i want to ask you guy's if i should buy a Powermac G5 2.0 Ghz for running Photoshop 7 or CS from it and an old version of Final Cut Pro and use it as my maine machine for browsing, also can you watch high quality YouTube videos on it i? because heard that powermac's suck at YouTube videos.

Michiel

ps. sorry for my poor English i'm dutch
michiel1996 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2010, 12:42 PM   #2
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by michiel1996 View Post
Hello,

I'm new to the forum,
but i want to ask you guy's if i should buy a Powermac G5 2.0 Ghz for running Photoshop 7 or CS from it and an old version of Final Cut Pro and use it as my maine machine for browsing, also can you watch high quality YouTube videos on it i? because heard that powermac's suck at YouTube videos.

Michiel

ps. sorry for my poor English i'm dutch
I think that for Photoshop 7 and any version of Final Cut Pro pre Version 7 it should work fine (FCP7 is why I got my Pro) - It will let you watch the videos, and with the right upgrades it can cope with HD Video, however it will be a lot worse than a Intel Mac, and soon it might not work too great - itll run FCP and Photoshop 7/CS fine (I have Photoshop CS on my PowerMac G4/450 and its useable on that!)
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2010, 12:46 PM   #3
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
The PowerMac G5 is quite a powerful computer, so I'm sure it will handle Photoshop and other video/photo software pretty easily. However, since its not intel, you cannot run Snow Leopard on it, only Leopard. And you may not be able to run the latest version of Photoshop. The latest version is 5, but you'll probably have to make do with version 4

To my knowledge, an older version of Final Cut Pro (a version made at the time of the machine) will run perfectly fine.

I'm not too sure about HD YouTube. It should be able to handle normal YouTube fine, but since its not an intel it might struggle a little with HD streaming. I could be wrong though.
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2010, 12:46 PM   #4
XaPHER
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: In the Underworld
Yes it will run well. I can run adobe CS3 with a imac G5 at 1.8ghz. I recommend you to not spend more than 650$ unless there is more than 2GB of memory.
__________________
Won't use intel macs at all
XaPHER is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2010, 12:55 PM   #5
michiel1996
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by XaPHER View Post
Yes it will run well. I can run adobe CS3 with a imac G5 at 1.8ghz. I recommend you to not spend more than 650$ unless there is more than 2GB of memory.
only 200,- euro's (i live in Europe)
michiel1996 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2010, 02:04 PM   #6
michiel1996
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
does anyone know some nice games/software to run on it??
michiel1996 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2010, 02:54 PM   #7
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by michiel1996 View Post
does anyone know some nice games/software to run on it??
Hmm, well thats a bit sticky. You see, it is no intel, so its not that suited to run really new games that only support intel. But its too new for Classic mac games. However, if you had Tiger on the machine instead of Leopard you MAY be able to boot classic mode and play the cool classic mac games.

The computer MIGHT be a bit new to use Classic, I'm not sure. Oh, and Tiger is the last OS that supports classic. Leopard does not. If your getting Tiger anyway it might be worth a shot though.
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2010, 03:06 PM   #8
MattMK45
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United Kingdom
I think the g5 will be sufficient enough for what you plan to do in terms of editing.

However you may experience some problems with watching youtube hd.

For future-proofing you have to go intel because I'm sure soon no software developers will support powermac machines.

Mind you it's what you need it for and by the sounds of it you should get by fine.
__________________
21.5 inch 2011 iMac Racing is life - Anything before or after is just waiting
MattMK45 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2010, 03:20 PM   #9
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattMK45 View Post
I think the g5 will be sufficient enough for what you plan to do in terms of editing.

However you may experience some problems with watching youtube hd.

For future-proofing you have to go intel because I'm sure soon no software developers will support powermac machines.

Mind you it's what you need it for and by the sounds of it you should get by fine.
Yes, but you can still stick with the older versions of programs like CS and Photoshop.
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2010, 03:39 PM   #10
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by MattMK45 View Post
I think the g5 will be sufficient enough for what you plan to do in terms of editing.

However you may experience some problems with watching youtube hd.

For future-proofing you have to go intel because I'm sure soon no software developers will support powermac machines.

Mind you it's what you need it for and by the sounds of it you should get by fine.
*cough* You have a PowerBook G4 and nothing newer apparently - I can just about get HD ones to play on my FF-Class PowerBook G4 if I let them load. And software dosent have to be current - I mean I was using Soundtrack Pro 1.0 on my G4/1.67 until I got STP3 as part of FCS on my Mac Pro about a week ago xD (Nice large upgrade).
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 04:08 AM   #11
ediflorianus
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
I love my G5 no Mather what (would like Intel to play CS SOURCE, but that's about it) for web and other stuff G5 is a superb machine (have 2x1 TB hdd's +1 external , would like to have more drives , but it can be done adding a SATA card)

Here are my games and my programs , a lot of stuff, I tried , I need a fresh osx install after all the tests (but don't have the time)

Buy the G5 and make a ceap AMD dual core pc (or buy a DELL for the games you need on windows , a new ceap 5450 1gb gddr3 should do the trick in any games)
I'am hunting for a Mac pro 1.1 at around 500e but that's my limit , found a another G5 last week and ordered it (has bad OSX - hope that's the only problem- hope it will arrive today)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 6.png
Views:	76
Size:	882.7 KB
ID:	258445   Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 7.png
Views:	60
Size:	550.8 KB
ID:	258446  
__________________
Apple G5 2x2Ghz , 750GB, 7800GS AGP(looking for an upgrade),2 G DDR,Superdrive + 1TB ext. backup
Apple G4 and MDD G4 (just laying around)
LOOKING FOR A MAC PRO
ediflorianus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 10:57 AM   #12
Hughm
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Vancouver
Buy it.

I run the Adobe Design Suite CS3 (including Photoshop) on my G4 (1.25 CPU, 2G RAM) with ease. I'm sure a g5 will be just as good - if not better.
Hughm is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 12:16 PM   #13
michiel1996
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
would a 1.6 Ghz G5 do the job to? and can i watch good quality youtube on it??
michiel1996 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 12:59 PM   #14
XaPHER
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: In the Underworld
it will not play youtube in more than 720p
__________________
Won't use intel macs at all

Last edited by XaPHER; Nov 4, 2010 at 11:28 AM.
XaPHER is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 01:27 PM   #15
michiel1996
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by XaPHER View Post
dual or single? the single one will not play youtube in more than 720p
there is only a single version of the 1.6 GHz.
michiel1996 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 01:32 PM   #16
leekohler
Banned
 
leekohler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
It will be fine. I edit HD video on my dual core 2.0 G5. That's why I got it when it came out in the first place. I would recommend a decent video card upgrade and as much RAM as you can afford.
leekohler is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 01:41 PM   #17
XaPHER
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: In the Underworld
I was mistaken with these g4 upgrades...
__________________
Won't use intel macs at all
XaPHER is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Which of these PowerMac G5's should I buy? KeegM480 PowerPC Macs 20 Nov 3, 2013 09:45 AM
I Want to buy a PowerMac G5 izzyrhoads PowerPC Macs 41 Aug 22, 2013 01:09 PM
Should I buy a Powermac G5? viktormadarasz PowerPC Macs 62 Apr 9, 2013 09:31 AM
Dual processor PowerMac G4 Kit : To buy or not to buy..? Maxwar PowerPC Macs 3 Oct 11, 2012 05:59 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC