Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 2, 2010, 01:10 PM   #1
mike423
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
How can I know if my Iphone 4 is unlocked?? (Jailbroken)

Hello all,

Is there a way to find out if my phone is locked or unlocked? It's my first Iphone....

Thanks...
mike423 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 01:25 PM   #2
hatersgonnahate
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
put a t-mobile sim card. and see if it works.


or hold home button, activate voice control and ask "are u unlock" if theres no answer then ur not unlocked.
hatersgonnahate is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 01:42 PM   #3
tempusfugit
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago
if you bought it in the united states its definitely locked.

if its at 4.1 its not unlockable at the moment.



you can only unlock if you have baseband 01.59.00 on an iphone 4.

go to settings>general>about

last on the list is "modem firmware" and thats your baseband version. If its 01.59.00 then you can download ultrasn0w in cydia.

If not, you can't unlock until they unlock the newer baseband (probably some time this month after they release public 4.2)
__________________
thanks Steve
tempusfugit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 01:43 PM   #4
jav6454
macrumors G5
 
jav6454's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike423 View Post
Hello all,

Is there a way to find out if my phone is locked or unlocked? It's my first Iphone....

Thanks...
Pop in a T-Mobile SIM, if the iPhone picks up signal and can make calls, it's unlocked; otherwise, no.
__________________
Al MacBook 2.4GHz Late '08 | 5 S⃣ | Macross Click Me
jav6454 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 01:49 PM   #5
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Is it activated yet? Do you see the Cydia icon?
If you open up cydia/manage/package and you see ultrasnow installed its software unlocked.
Also it all depends what modem firmware version is on if its unlocked or can be unlocked at the moment.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 08:37 PM   #6
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatersgonnahate View Post
put a t-mobile sim card. and see if it works.


or hold home button, activate voice control and ask "are u unlock" if theres no answer then ur not unlocked.
Ha, it said "Genius not available" on mine.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 12:41 PM   #7
bkingtu83
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
if you put in a different sim card on an unlocked phone (ex: tmobile in us iphones), will you just be using tmobile's network for free? i guess what im getting at is if someone has a plan with at&t, and they unlock and use a tmobile sim card, how will at&t know if that person is using minutes/data/messages if they have a tmobile sim?
__________________
32GB black iphone 4 5.0.1Current (Jailbroken with Redsn0w 0.9.10b3)
16GB black iphone 3GS Sold
8GB ipod touch 2G Jailbroken
bkingtu83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 12:46 PM   #8
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkingtu83 View Post
if you put in a different sim card on an unlocked phone (ex: tmobile in us iphones), will you just be using tmobile's network for free? i guess what im getting at is if someone has a plan with at&t, and they unlock and use a tmobile sim card, how will at&t know if that person is using minutes/data/messages if they have a tmobile sim?
They wont.
I dont know what you mean using Tmobile network for free. You will still use your tmobile minutes, texts etc.. when you're using your tmobile sim.
AT&T wont know and dont care what you do with your iphone. You can burn it if you like
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 01:36 PM   #9
bkingtu83
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
They wont.
I dont know what you mean using Tmobile network for free. You will still use your tmobile minutes, texts etc.. when you're using your tmobile sim.
AT&T wont know and dont care what you do with your iphone. You can burn it if you like
oh, so you have to have a tmobile plan for the sim card to work in the phone?
__________________
32GB black iphone 4 5.0.1Current (Jailbroken with Redsn0w 0.9.10b3)
16GB black iphone 3GS Sold
8GB ipod touch 2G Jailbroken
bkingtu83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 01:39 PM   #10
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkingtu83 View Post
oh, so you have to have a tmobile plan for the sim card to work in the phone?
Oh yeah.
What did you think you just get any sim and you get free calls, texts and data without paying?
Unlocking a phone just allows it to use any carriers sim in the world thats all.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 01:50 PM   #11
bytethese
macrumors 68030
 
bytethese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cranford, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike423 View Post
Hello all,

Is there a way to find out if my phone is locked or unlocked? It's my first Iphone....

Thanks...
Did you run Ultrasn0w on it? If not, when you search Cydia for Ultrasn0w, if there's a green check mark on the right, the package is installed and your iPhone should be unlocked.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkingtu83 View Post
oh, so you have to have a tmobile plan for the sim card to work in the phone?
Yes, that's how it usually works, you pay for goods and/or services.
__________________
So I prison break my phone, use Chlamydia to install un-John Hancock'd apps, then I somehow use a Surfboard to change the way my African Safari looks
bytethese is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 01:53 PM   #12
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bytethese View Post

Yes, that's how it usually works, you pay for goods and/or services.
So there is no hack that will allow me not to pay my mortgage or car payment?
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 01:57 PM   #13
bytethese
macrumors 68030
 
bytethese's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cranford, NJ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
So there is no hack that will allow me not to pay my mortgage or car payment?
You mean I can't just use a master key for your house or car and use them for free?
__________________
So I prison break my phone, use Chlamydia to install un-John Hancock'd apps, then I somehow use a Surfboard to change the way my African Safari looks
bytethese is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 02:04 PM   #14
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bytethese View Post
you mean i can't just use a master key for your house or car and use them for free?
lmao
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2010, 01:09 PM   #15
bkingtu83
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
lol. ok
__________________
32GB black iphone 4 5.0.1Current (Jailbroken with Redsn0w 0.9.10b3)
16GB black iphone 3GS Sold
8GB ipod touch 2G Jailbroken
bkingtu83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2010, 06:39 PM   #16
seanwebb68
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
There only one master key and i have it and as for the mortgage hack i think the dev team are working on it... hopefully out tonight
seanwebb68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2010, 07:58 AM   #17
hackthatphone
macrumors 68000
 
hackthatphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by hatersgonnahate View Post
put a t-mobile sim card. and see if it works.


or hold home button, activate voice control and ask "are u unlock" if theres no answer then ur not unlocked.
You are assuming this person lives in the united states. This isn't a valid way to check if you live in a country where tmobile is an official carrier. Are all iphones sold overseas using tmobile as a carrier unlocked as well? Or can you only use them on tmobile over there?
__________________
Writing Mac tutorials for the iPhone since June '07. http://modmyphone.us
hackthatphone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2010, 07:59 AM   #18
hackthatphone
macrumors 68000
 
hackthatphone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
...
__________________
Writing Mac tutorials for the iPhone since June '07. http://modmyphone.us
hackthatphone is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot Restore Unlocked Jailbroken iPhone 3G JonnyAlpha iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Dec 9, 2013 08:11 PM
iPhone: Restoring Disabled jailbroken and unlocked Iphone 3G fitsum tessema Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Mar 22, 2013 11:18 AM
NO SERVICE on Jailbroken & Unlocked iPhone 4, 5.1.1, 04.12.01 eyesolation Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 7 Jun 5, 2012 08:56 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC