Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 2, 2010, 03:54 PM   #1
lozpop
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
WiFi problems with 4.2 GM?

I have never had problems with WiFi and my iPad.

Ironically, since I've installed the 4.2 Golden Master, WiFi is clearly having problems.
My iPad sees the WiFi network and connects to it properly, but internet works once and doesn't work twice.

I tried to restore the network settings, change the assigned IP, reboot, but nothing works.

Anyone else with this problem?
PS - Something else very weird. The iPad is connecting to the 3G network, but it doesn't surf properly. Sometimes it works, sometimes not.

Definitely a bug with the general networking here, I think.

Anyone else?
lozpop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 04:20 PM   #2
petvas
macrumors 68040
 
petvas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Mannheim, Germany
Send a message via AIM to petvas
I have been using my iPad for the last 8 hours connected to the Internet vie WiFi and I had zero problems. Of course I am running 4.2
I did an update from 3.2.2.
Is that maybe sth specific to the 3G model?
__________________
petvas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 04:24 PM   #3
lozpop
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by petvas View Post
Is that maybe sth specific to the 3G model?
Really don't know, but I've read that other users have the same issue.
lozpop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 04:28 PM   #4
saberahul
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: On my iPad
It was an issue in beta 1. It seems to be resolved now. Not sure how to fix. Tr a restore.
__________________
iPhone iPad MacBook Pro
saberahul is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 04:34 PM   #5
lozpop
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by saberahul View Post
It was an issue in beta 1. It seems to be resolved now. Not sure how to fix. Tr a restore.
Thanks for the info, I've never run beta 1. Anyway I'm curious because other users in the forum are experiencing the same thing.
lozpop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 05:51 PM   #6
matins
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by lozpop View Post

Anyone else with this problem?

Anyone else?
Same wifi problem here. Never had it before.
I think we have a serious issue
matins is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 06:00 PM   #7
CrAkD
macrumors 68030
 
CrAkD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Boston, MA
I have a bit of a wifi issue. Sometimes Internet slows to a stand still and I have to disable and reenable wifi to fix it. Dunno if it's my crappy verizon fios router tho.
__________________
iPhone 6+ 128GB 11" Macbook Air TV iPad Mini Retina 16gb LTE Hackintosh i7 920
CrAkD is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 06:00 PM   #8
hcho3
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: May 2010
No. 0 issues
hcho3 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 06:13 PM   #9
ssdeg7
macrumors 6502a
 
ssdeg7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
No problems here
__________________
wOzy Co-founder: http://wozy.co
----
MacBook Pro 15.4'', 2.53 GHz iPhone 4 16GB iPad Air 32GB iPod Touch 1G 8GB iPod Photo 20GB
ssdeg7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 06:21 PM   #10
lozpop
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
I restored the network settings for the fifth time, and now I have no problem.
I will write if it is temporary as before.
lozpop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 06:29 PM   #11
Neurobit
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: 1 Infinite Loop
Thumbs up Zero issues here

Been working on my iPad all day with zero issues on either 3G or WiFi.
Neurobit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 08:37 PM   #12
PhoneI
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Strange, I am having major WiFi problems since I upgraded to the GM. Cant get it to stay connected for more than a few minutes. No problems before.

By the way, I have a Fios router.
PhoneI is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 08:53 PM   #13
Don Kosak
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hilo, Hawaii
Hmm, no problems so far. The Apps I'm testing both heavily use the internet connection.

I'm connecting via an Airport Extreme.

I haven't heard of WiFi problems since the early betas. Did you upgrade directly from iOS 3.2 directly, or from one of the earlier betas?
__________________
iMac, MacBook, MacMini, iPhone, iPad, iPod Touch, AppleTV
Developer of Wiki Edit - the MediaWiki Editor for iPad
Don Kosak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 09:01 PM   #14
lbeck
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Count me as having wifi issues. It just stops working, then starts after I turn wifi on and off
__________________
Mac Pro 3.33Ghz 6-Core | MacBook Pro Retina | iPhone | iPad | LukeBeck.com
lbeck is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 09:37 PM   #15
gforce216
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I had some wifi problems with the GM coming after I updated from beta 3. I decided to do a full restore and I now have no wifi problems at all. Maybe that will help to resolve your issue.
gforce216 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 2, 2010, 10:27 PM   #16
phyrexia
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I didn't mess with any of the betas, but installed the GM early this morning via a Restore. Then restored from a previous backup. No wifi issues so far.
__________________
Powermac11,2 // Macbookpro8,3 // iPad(3), 32GB + VZW // IB i7 Hackintosh (BAMF) // Synology DS1513+, DS411
phyrexia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 03:25 AM   #17
PR.
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bedford, UK
Unhappy

I'm having wireless issues to. When it stops working I can turn wifi off and back on to fix it. I did try resetting network settings but after the restart it still wasn't working until I did the wifi off and on.

Going to be annoying...
PR. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 03:32 AM   #18
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
I had the exact same issue but haven't seen it since turning off MobileMe bookmark syncing. It wasn't present in earlier betas so I think it's something to do with MobileMe. There was mention of a change in login so Apple may be fiddling with the server prior to general release.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 03:53 AM   #19
ryanmcv
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
I was having the same issue earlier today and had to turn wifi off and then back on to restore the connection. I reset my network settings and it hasn't happened since. Fingers crossed...
__________________
iPhone 6 Plus 128GB Space Gray iPad Air 2 64GB Space Gray MacBook Pro 15" (Early 2011) AirPort Extreme 802.11ac
ryanmcv is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 04:05 AM   #20
Eampiart
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
I had the same problem. I upgraded from 3.2.1 and had WiFi signal, but after about 30 secs, no internet. I resetted the network settings twice and now it works. This was about an hour ago, so I think it's finally good
Eampiart is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 04:20 AM   #21
lozpop
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eampiart View Post
I had the same problem. I upgraded from 3.2.1 and had WiFi signal, but after about 30 secs, no internet. I resetted the network settings twice and now it works. This was about an hour ago, so I think it's finally good
Exactly.

Guys, it seems that the only solution, for now, is to reset the network settings multiple times. I did it five times and now internet works from yesterday.

Anyway, considering the number of users that's experiencing this issue, this is clearly a bug. -- and this would be the Gold Master?
lozpop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 04:35 AM   #22
MSL
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brighton, UK
Resetting the Network settings has the following effect:

Works momentarily, then cuts out.

This is not a good release.
MSL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 04:40 AM   #23
MadMitch89
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Having the same issue. Internet refuses to work on my home wifi.
__________________
I enjoy both Apple and Windows products and show no inclination to either - I simply want the best!
MadMitch89 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 04:51 AM   #24
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
Has anyone else turned off MobileMe bookmark syncing if you use it? Solved the problem right away, haven't had any issues since.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2010, 05:35 AM   #25
PR.
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Bedford, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chundles View Post
Has anyone else turned off MobileMe bookmark syncing if you use it? Solved the problem right away, haven't had any issues since.
I don't use MobileMe.

When I get home tonight, if it happens again I'll try resetting the network settings a few times.
PR. is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPad

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5 wifi problems dodder92 iPhone 0 May 25, 2014 06:55 AM
So my rMBP has WiFi problems. Have you? Help? Please. Mr Brainz MacBook Pro 56 Feb 16, 2013 12:39 PM
Wifi problems Matt8045 iOS 6 0 Oct 20, 2012 02:05 PM
Wifi problems ajbarrows MacBook Pro 3 Oct 3, 2012 11:06 PM
Wifi Problems Still!!! mkd79 iOS 6 13 Sep 20, 2012 08:12 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC