Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jul 30, 2011, 07:30 AM   #26
rdowns
macrumors Penryn
 
rdowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacFly69 View Post
i have a MB late 2008 and i'd like to upgrade to 8GB of RAM. i've always thought that my 4GB was the max, but i recently read this article on 9 to 5...

http://9to5mac.com/2011/07/29/everyo...-to-get-there/

i'm looking to pick up this to upgrade to 8GB.

anyone have experience with this?!

tia.

http://www.amazon.com/Corsair-CM3X8G...R2DELMLE1S7NIE
rdowns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2011, 11:46 AM   #27
crazyxzer0
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdowns View Post
I just ordered these last night. 8GB here I come!
__________________
MotoX Verizon | iPad (3rd Gen) | rMBP 15"(Late 13')
crazyxzer0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2011, 02:53 PM   #28
MacFly69
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony L View Post
I'm running 8GB in a late 2008 unibody MacBook under Lion and it works a treat. I went from the standard 2GB and it was a very worthwhile upgrade, just much faster and no churning of the HD. I used Kingston RAM from Amazon - as it's so cheap I thought I'd go for a known brand with good warranty.
good to hear! can you pls link me to the exact one you purchased from Amazon? thanks.
MacFly69 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2011, 03:17 PM   #29
MacFly69
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdowns View Post
my MB late 2008 says i'm running 1067 MHz DDR3 RAM, but the link above is for a 1066 MHz DDR3. will this difference matter?
MacFly69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2011, 05:00 PM   #30
rdowns
macrumors Penryn
 
rdowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacFly69 View Post
my MB late 2008 says i'm running 1067 MHz DDR3 RAM, but the link above is for a 1066 MHz DDR3. will this difference matter?

No worries. Just do it!
rdowns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2011, 05:57 PM   #31
MacFly69
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdowns View Post
No worries. Just do it!
ok Nike! thanks.
MacFly69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 30, 2011, 06:19 PM   #32
Tony L
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacFly69 View Post
good to hear! can you pls link me to the exact one you purchased from Amazon? thanks.
I bought this RAM.
Tony L is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2011, 12:01 AM   #33
crazyxzer0
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
just got my ram from amazon.

Corsair 8GB 1066MHZ



__________________
MotoX Verizon | iPad (3rd Gen) | rMBP 15"(Late 13')
crazyxzer0 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2011, 02:32 AM   #34
rgarjr
macrumors 603
 
rgarjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Los Angeles Area
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyxzer0 View Post
just got my ram from amazon.

Corsair 8GB 1066MHZ
Nice, I also upgraded my Alu MB to 8Gigs, works good.
rgarjr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2011, 09:07 AM   #35
dcorban
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacFly69 View Post
my MB late 2008 says i'm running 1067 MHz DDR3 RAM, but the link above is for a 1066 MHz DDR3. will this difference matter?
For whatever reason, manufacturers call it "1066 Mhz", when in reality, it is 1066.66666666~. The computer rounds this up to 1067.
__________________
The Americans can always be trusted to do the right thing, once all other possibilities have been exhausted.
dcorban is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2011, 05:58 PM   #36
ViPhone
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
So just to clarify and avoid making a costly and stupid mistake:

This will work effectively on a MB mid-2010 version 1,7?

If so, I'll probably get some and install it before I upgrade to Lion.
__________________
iPhone 4, Apple TV2, iPad 1, Macbook Pro 15", Macbook 13"
Let's go HEAT'.
ViPhone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2011, 06:04 PM   #37
knarzie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tony L View Post
I'm running 8GB in a late 2008 unibody MacBook under Lion and it works a treat. I went from the standard 2GB and it was a very worthwhile upgrade, just much faster and no churning of the HD. I used Kingston RAM from Amazon - as it's so cheap I thought I'd go for a known brand with good warranty.
that sounds promising. Wonder if they sell this on amazon UK as well.
__________________
Unibody Macbook 2.4 GHz, 8GB RAM, 750 GB HDD
iPhone 4, 64GB, black
knarzie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2011, 06:06 PM   #38
knarzie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
anyone know what the the max HDD is that fits into the late 2008 unibody macbook 13"?
__________________
Unibody Macbook 2.4 GHz, 8GB RAM, 750 GB HDD
iPhone 4, 64GB, black
knarzie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 5, 2011, 02:41 AM   #39
MacFly69
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyxzer0 View Post
just got my ram from amazon.

Corsair 8GB 1066MHZ

Image

is the system using all 8GB's or just 6GB?
MacFly69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2011, 02:28 AM   #40
knarzie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
can anyone tell me what the difference between ECC and non-ECC RAM is? Crucial sell both, and one is considerably more expensive.

edit: the expensive ECC is 240 pin, so I assume it wouldn't fit anyway.

links:

http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/part...KIT51264BC1067

http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/part...KIT51272BA1067
__________________
Unibody Macbook 2.4 GHz, 8GB RAM, 750 GB HDD
iPhone 4, 64GB, black
knarzie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2011, 04:43 AM   #41
knarzie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
why?
__________________
Unibody Macbook 2.4 GHz, 8GB RAM, 750 GB HDD
iPhone 4, 64GB, black
knarzie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2011, 01:10 PM   #42
kristjansson
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Yet another 5.1 (late 2008) macbook w/8GB of RAM checking in. Works perfectly, seems to address the entire space. Makes working with massive excel files that much easier.

Of note: Mine required a PRAM reset after the install - experienced a few kernel pancis before I realized it. So, just know that may be necessary.
kristjansson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2011, 06:19 PM   #43
-tWv-
macrumors 68000
 
-tWv-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ohio
OWC does extensive testing to determine the max amount of RAM compatible with any certain machine and they claim that the 2008 uMB can support up to 8GB, so it should be fine.

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/memor...o/Upgrade/DDR3
__________________
Macbook Pro with Retina Display: 2.6/512/16
Hackintosh: Intel quad core i5 overclocked to 4.2GHz, Gigabyte Radeon HD 6850, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD, 1TB HDD
iPhone 5: 16GB iPad: 16GB
-tWv- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 11:32 AM   #44
ranviper
macrumors 6502a
 
ranviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Adirondacks, NY
Thanks for this guys, just ordered the corsair set for mine.
__________________
2010 MacBook Pro
ranviper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2011, 04:53 AM   #45
knarzie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
beginner's questions:

can I upgrade RAM and harddrive at the same time?

Also, can I just do a time machine backup and then copy it straight onto the new harddrive once put in?
__________________
Unibody Macbook 2.4 GHz, 8GB RAM, 750 GB HDD
iPhone 4, 64GB, black
knarzie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2011, 10:49 AM   #46
ranviper
macrumors 6502a
 
ranviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Adirondacks, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by knarzie View Post
beginner's questions:

can I upgrade RAM and harddrive at the same time?

Also, can I just do a time machine backup and then copy it straight onto the new harddrive once put in?
First question, yes you can do RAM and a HD swap at the same time.

Second Question. I don't think time machine will work, because as far as I know it doesn't copy the entire OS, just the files on it. However, google the App SuperDuper and you can freely clone your hard drive to a new one no problem. Easy, quick and clean.
__________________
2010 MacBook Pro
ranviper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2011, 03:24 PM   #47
knarzie
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
thank you for your help ranviper. I have had a look at Super Duper, but don't quite understand how it works? Do I need to clone my existing onto an external and then start up the new blank internal with the external copy connected?

Could I not use Lion Recovery Disk Assistant + Time Machine?
__________________
Unibody Macbook 2.4 GHz, 8GB RAM, 750 GB HDD
iPhone 4, 64GB, black
knarzie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2011, 03:59 PM   #48
MagicBoy
macrumors 68000
 
MagicBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Manchester, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by knarzie View Post
beginner's questions:

can I upgrade RAM and harddrive at the same time?

Also, can I just do a time machine backup and then copy it straight onto the new harddrive once put in?
Yep. Personally I'd install the RAM and run it for a couple of days first just to make sure it runs 100%.

Data transfer can be done using time machine - install OS X onto the new hard drive, then use migration assistant to restore your data from the time machine backup.

You can also use disk cloning tools, but I had issues with CCC when I tried it. The clean install/time machine above worked perfectly.
__________________
Late 2013 15" MacBook Pro with retina display 2.3GHz; Mac mini (2009) 2GHz ;
iPhone 6 64GB ; PowerBook Titanium G4 667Mhz

RIP : Late 2011 15" MacBook Pro 2.2GHz HR-AG with dead GPU
MagicBoy is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2011, 04:28 PM   #49
-tWv-
macrumors 68000
 
-tWv-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicBoy View Post
Yep. Personally I'd install the RAM and run it for a couple of days first just to make sure it runs 100%.

Data transfer can be done using time machine - install OS X onto the new hard drive, then use migration assistant to restore your data from the time machine backup.

You can also use disk cloning tools, but I had issues with CCC when I tried it. The clean install/time machine above worked perfectly.

If you want to use time machine, do this. All you have to do is do a fresh install of OSX and while you are setting it up, select that you wish to transfer files from a previous mac. It will search for your time machine backup and you can choose what you want restored. If you want the entire machine to be exactly like it was before, just leave all the checkboxes checked.

I've done this multiple times and never have had problems.
__________________
Macbook Pro with Retina Display: 2.6/512/16
Hackintosh: Intel quad core i5 overclocked to 4.2GHz, Gigabyte Radeon HD 6850, 16GB RAM, 128GB SSD, 1TB HDD
iPhone 5: 16GB iPad: 16GB
-tWv- is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2011, 03:16 AM   #50
CodeBreaker
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sea of Tranquility
Can anyone please confirm that the Kingston KVR series works?
The serial number is: KVR-1066-D3-S7/4G X 2

My MacBook:
Model: MacBook 5,1 (2.4 GHz Al Unibody)
OS: 10.7.1 (Lion)
Firmware version: xxxxxxx.B03

I am just about to buy it on eBay.
eBay link:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Laptop-8GB-2...item415c5c834a

Thanks
__________________
.
CodeBreaker is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAM issues? (Late 2008 MB (aluminum)) maclaw21 MacBook 11 Oct 29, 2013 07:18 PM
MacBook unibody late 2008 13" RAM upgrade crucial 8GB CT2KIT51264BC1067 Juttersbitter MacBook 3 Jan 30, 2013 07:12 AM
Trouble with 8GB RAM in Late-2008 MacBook 5,1 sine-nomine MacBook 6 Oct 30, 2012 06:35 PM
RAM for 13-inch, Aluminum, Late 2008 (india) tomar.wired MacBook Pro 1 Oct 29, 2012 05:17 AM
Late 2008 Aluminum MB max. RAM amount RJCP MacBook 4 Sep 1, 2012 01:33 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC