Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 3, 2010, 08:56 PM   #1
LERsince1991
macrumors 65816
 
LERsince1991's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: England
Send a message via MSN to LERsince1991
AutoCAD Mac PDF printer

Hi,

I'm having trouble printing to PDF from my autocad on OS X.
I need to print to PDF to place into my indesign layouts etc...
I have 2 options to get a PDF when I print
1 - Print via Adobe PDF 9 Printer which I believe uses distiller
2 - once the print dialogue is open, click the PDF button (bottom left) and save as PDF

Both have problems.
1 - No file is created - it doesn't ask for a destination or file name but says complete
2 - The saved PDF is very poor quality

I have tried the file on my friends mac and it still has the exact problems, but then on the CAD studio's PC's which as default have a plotter installed named DWG to PDF which works flawlessly.

My guess is that for option 2 the default quality is set very low - I have checked a lot of places but got no improvement.

My guess for option 1 would be that the printer isn't installed correctly but I have reinstalled acrobat pro and still nothing saves. I previously had acrobat pro 9.4 which google says disables the pdf printer and when I printed to it it said it wasn't installed. So I uninstalled & reinstalled to go back to 9.0 which creates the problem where it doesn't save a file.

I have attached 2 PDF outputs for your consideration.
zoom to 100% to see it properly. I tried printing both and they both print as displayed on screen.

Please let me know if any of you have any advice on to how I can fix these problems or create a new workflow to output pdfs from AutoCAD mac 2010.

Thanks,
Luke
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Plans-FLOORS-1-200.pdf (154.0 KB, 1477 views)
File Type: pdf Plans-FLOORS-A3-1-200.pdf (130.2 KB, 490 views)
__________________
www.lukeriggall.co.uk
Arcam A22 with DAC | B&W 685
2.4GHz | Dual SSD + HDD | 8Gb | 13" Alu Macbook
16TB HDD's | 32" TV/Monitor | Canon 60D | iPhone 5s
LERsince1991 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2010, 09:39 AM   #2
robmicacchi
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
Same Problem

Luke,
Are you getting this message when you're starting AutoCAD for Mac: ?

AutoCAD Warning
Adobe PDF: This plotter configuration cannot be used for one of these reasons: the driver cannot be found, the device cannot be found, or the driver has a problem. The default plot device has been substituted.

I just started using AutoCAD for Mac, and I love it, but the "print>save as .pdf" drawings are terrible. I suspect it has something to do with Mac OS 10.6's removal of adobe printer. It's documented here:

http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/509/cpsid_50981.html

I'm going to install Acrobat Pro 9.1 and see if the "print> save as adobe .pdf" works any better.

cheers,
Rob
robmicacchi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2010, 12:50 PM   #3
Patricia H
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
YES,the same

hi

l have the same problem as you guys,and l have tried pro 9.1.No use!
l pray for solution.....

cheers,
Patricia H is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2010, 11:58 PM   #4
galstaph
macrumors 6502a
 
galstaph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: The Great White North Eh
try acrobat x then? I usually print out my pdf's via windows as the autodesk dwg to pdf printer prints quite nicely; haven't tried in osx yet, good to know it is iffy. I'll have to try with the new acrobat one of these days....
__________________
32gb ipt4g; early '09 17" 2.66Ghz umbp; '09 Mac Pro 2.26 octad
In girum imus nocte et consumimur igni
galstaph is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2012, 05:46 PM   #5
sunlight77
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Autocad for Mac Adobe printer

Hi everybody,

I have the same problem for few months now. I simply cannot print a good quality drawing. Why such Adobe printer does not work correctly. What is wrong with Autocad for Mac version? Could you please suggest me what to do in this case? Any good experience with?

p.s. message: DWG To PDF.pc3: This plotter configuration cannot be used for one of these reasons: the driver cannot be found, the device cannot be found, or the driver has a problem. The default plot device has been substituted.
sunlight77 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 08:44 AM   #6
wilsonlaidlaw
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Prints OK in Acrobat X on OS 10.7.3

The plans seem to print out OK at good rez when I open them in Acrobat X Pro, running in Lion 7.3. My A3+ printer is out of ink at the moment (it's a Canon Pixma Pro 9500 - it is always running out of ink!), so I can't try a big scale print. On our HP Officejet Pro 8100, it looks just fine.

Wilson
__________________
Wilson
15 Retina MBP 2.7GHz, 2012 Mac Mini, iPad3 64GB, 16GB iPh.5S, 32GB iPh.5
wilsonlaidlaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2012, 04:18 PM   #7
Apple Key
macrumors 6502a
 
Apple Key's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
The quality should be perfect for this file: (Plans-FLOORS-1-200.pdf). The pdf is completely vector graphics. It looks good on my end.

The other pdf file seems to be somehow compressed though. The vector lines are simplified (less points), and that is probably why it is not coming out well.
__________________
You know what they say... once you go Mac you ain't never gonna go back.
Apple Key is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2012, 05:51 AM   #8
debergerac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
File>Export solved the problem

I selected Export from the File Menu and it printed to PDF perfetto, just like in Windows. And perfectly vectorial.
debergerac is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Autocad 2012 lt Mac Pro 3,1 push/pull Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jan 2, 2014 05:35 PM
PDF printer Big Ben 99 Mac Basics and Help 7 Nov 7, 2013 07:08 PM
Autocad 13 for Mac won't let me save NVCHICK Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Nov 7, 2012 04:46 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC