Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 7, 2010, 12:22 PM   #1
512k
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Send a message via AIM to 512k
Question System 7 on Powermac g4

First of all, i'm new to this forum, so i'm not sure if this is the right place to post.

greetings , one and everyone. i need to know if it is possible to run system 7 on a powermac g4 running 10.4.11. i have a virtual startup disk (.img), but as you know, classic only supports os 9.1+. is there a way to maybe create a disk partition to run system 7 on? thanks,

512k ftw.
__________________
512k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2010, 12:27 PM   #2
gr8tfly
macrumors 603
 
gr8tfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ~119W 34N
Depending on which PMG4, 8.6 is the probably earliest it will boot to.

Edit: misread as PB

Edit: the earliest G3s could only run 8.0. You'd have to go back to the 601-604 series to run Sys 7.
__________________
Macs from 1984 to 15" Retina MBP 768GB SSD 16GB RAM, from Newton to iPhone 5 S⃣ , iPods, and tv (3). 128GB Wifi iPad Air

Last edited by gr8tfly; Nov 7, 2010 at 12:38 PM. Reason: Latest for G3
gr8tfly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2010, 12:32 PM   #3
512k
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Send a message via AIM to 512k
Quote:
Originally Posted by gr8tfly View Post
Depending on which PBG4, 9.1 is the probably earliest it will boot to. Some require 9.2.
1. i am not using a powerbook g4, i am using a power MAC g4

2.system 7 should run on ppc i just need to figure out how
__________________
512k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2010, 12:33 PM   #4
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
The earliest systems shipped with 8.6, so that's the earliest version that you'll get running natively (and as gr8tfly mentions, if your system is newer then you may only be able to run 9).

There are emulators available (such as vMac) but I don't know how compatible they are.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 512k View Post
2.system 7 should run on ppc i just need to figure out how
All NewWorld machines (this includes all G4s) lack the toolbox ROM required by System 7. It is not possible to run System 7 natively.
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2010, 12:37 PM   #5
512k
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
Send a message via AIM to 512k
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal View Post
The earliest systems shipped with 8.6, so that's the earliest version that you'll get running natively (and as gr8tfly mentions, if your system is newer then you may only be able to run 9).

There are emulators available (such as vMac) but I don't know how compatible they are.



All NewWorld machines (this includes all G4s) lack the toolbox ROM required by System 7. It is not possible to run System 7 natively.
i do have a copy of Mini vMac, is there any way i can run from that? an if so, where do i find the roms?
__________________
512k is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2010, 12:37 PM   #6
GimmeSlack12
macrumors 603
 
GimmeSlack12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nermal View Post
The earliest systems shipped with 8.6, so that's the earliest version that you'll get running natively (and as gr8tfly mentions, if your system is newer then you may only be able to run 9).

There are emulators available (such as vMac) but I don't know how compatible they are.



All NewWorld machines (this includes all G4s) lack the toolbox ROM required by System 7. It is not possible to run System 7 natively.
Actually I think the earliest PPC's shipped with 7.6 on them. The earliest were the 6100, 7100, and 8100's. System 8 was not released until the 2G PPC's came out and finally System 9 with the G3's.

Thus, trying to get System 7 on a G4 is probably not possible.
__________________
iMac 24" iBook G4 iPhone 4 iPod 80Gb
GimmeSlack12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2010, 12:39 PM   #7
gr8tfly
macrumors 603
 
gr8tfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: ~119W 34N
Quote:
Originally Posted by 512k View Post
1. i am not using a powerbook g4, i am using a power MAC g4

2.system 7 should run on ppc i just need to figure out how
See my edits above.
__________________
Macs from 1984 to 15" Retina MBP 768GB SSD 16GB RAM, from Newton to iPhone 5 S⃣ , iPods, and tv (3). 128GB Wifi iPad Air
gr8tfly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2010, 12:39 PM   #8
bartelby
macrumors Core
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by GimmeSlack12 View Post
Actually I think the earliest PPC's shipped with 7.6 on them. The earliest were the 6100, 7100, and 8100's. System 8 was not released until the 2G PPC's came out and finally System 9 with the G3's.
Yeah, I'm fairly sure my 7500/100 had 7.6 on it. In fact it did, as I got OS8 for christmas the following year.
bartelby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2010, 01:33 PM   #9
XaPHER
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: In the Underworld
7500s can boot 7.5.2

The earliest came with 7.1.2

To use system 7 on classic, it requires at least a 7500 (up to a 9600) with an upgraded cpu(601 not supported on osx) and xpost factohttp://eshop.macsales.com/OSXCenter/...o.html#machine
__________________
Won't use intel macs at all

Last edited by XaPHER; Nov 7, 2010 at 01:52 PM.
XaPHER is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 7, 2010, 01:44 PM   #10
Nermal
Moderator
 
Nermal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Whakatane, New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by GimmeSlack12 View Post
Actually I think the earliest PPC's shipped with 7.6 on them. The earliest were the 6100, 7100, and 8100's.
I was referring to the earliest G4s as that's what the OP said he was trying to use.
Nermal is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Tags
classic, disk, partition, powerpc, system 7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with HD choice for a 24/7 system (no editing, no security system, no high perf) darshie76 Buying Tips and Advice 4 Jan 9, 2014 02:18 AM
Can't boot neither from system disc nor from cloned system on external HD toccino Mac Pro 22 Feb 22, 2013 07:54 PM
System Tray icons piling up; gumming the system? estockme OS X 1 Sep 14, 2012 12:39 PM
How to programatically craete system restore point for backup system using objective vkumar OS X 0 Aug 27, 2012 12:52 AM
After System Update last night, the system will not boot with IOPlatformExpert.cpp:15 wonderingwhywhy iMac 1 Jun 12, 2012 10:03 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC