Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Paulywauly

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 26, 2009
Durham, UK
I'm wanting to upgrade my late 2009 iMac with an SSD, but don't wanna pry the thing apart and risk voiding the Applecare warranty which has 2 and a half years left!

Has anyone else out there tried booting an SSD this way? if so, what do you think of it? Would there be much performance difference between the regular stock Western Digital SATA HD and a decent SSD in a firewire 800 enclosure?

I'd only be storing the OS and apps on it if i did as all of my other data is held on other external drives.

Kauai

macrumors 6502a
Oct 13, 2010
I'm not an expert on the issue but I'm pretty sure from prior research that an external SSD is largely redundant considering the speed of an external storage unit is already capped to FW/USB speeds regardless of it being a HDD or an SSD. If you need the storage, which it seems like your doing this for the speed, then just get an external HDD with 4x the capacity for 4x less money. Otherwise, if you don't mind gambling with your Apple care and don't feel safe doing it yourself, send your iMac to OWC.

Paulywauly

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 26, 2009
Durham, UK
Yeah i assumed the FW800 would be the bottleneck there, but i dont do alot of writing to my boot drive and dont need a sustained high read/write speed. im more interested in being able to open up a large number of applications quickly and switch between them etc. I do understand that the firewire will always be a bottleneck and i wouldnt be using the SSD to its full potential, but would the quicker memory seek times of the SSD make much of a difference in this case?

alust2013

macrumors 601
Feb 6, 2010
On the fence