Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 12, 2010, 03:14 PM   #1
realeric
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United States
Enabled AirPrint in iOS 4.2/iTunes 10.1/Shared Printers/Windows 7

I have AirPrint work with shared printers in Windows 7 (64bits). Here is the step by step instructions.

1) Install iTunes 10.1
2) Download AirPrint.zip (airprint.exe, libairprint.dll, XpdfPrint.dll)
3) Unzip it.
4) Make a folder, "C:\Program Files (x86)\AirPrint\"
5) Copy the files to "C:\Program Files (x86)\AirPrint\"
6) Run "cmd.exe" as administrator
7) Run the following commands (There should be a space between '=' and '"')

Windows 64bits:
sc.exe create AirPrint binPath= "C:\Program Files (x86)\AirPrint\airprint.exe -s" depend= "Bonjour Service" start= auto
sc.exe start AirPrint

Windows 32bits:
sc.exe create AirPrint binPath= "C:\Program Files\AirPrint\airprint.exe -s" depend= "Bonjour Service" start= auto
sc.exe start AirPrint

8) Let Windows Firewall allow AirPrint to communicate on the networks (Double click on the airprint.exe)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	firewall.png
Views:	4384
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	260019  

Last edited by WildCowboy; Oct 8, 2012 at 09:03 PM. Reason: attachment removed by request
realeric is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2010, 03:18 PM   #2
iceterminal
macrumors 68000
 
iceterminal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas Tx.
Great, now all I need is a working release version of iTunes 10.1, and iOS 4.2.

I'm wondering if they'll have all of this working when they actually do the release.
__________________
The amount of material possessions one owns should not qualify them as a successful or just person.

The only worth these items have is the one you give them.
iceterminal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2010, 04:33 PM   #3
joec1101
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: So Cal, USA
Thank You!!!!!

This works flawlessly!

Now I can print at work on my Windows network!
joec1101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2010, 05:08 PM   #4
smokescreen220
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: California Native
will deff try this on XP....
__________________
Game Center: smokescreen

"Ford, there’s an infinite number of monkeys outside who want to talk to us about this script for Hamlet they’ve worked out."
smokescreen220 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2010, 05:29 PM   #5
tbolt
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by joec1101 View Post
Thank You!!!!!

This works flawlessly!

Now I can print at work on my Windows network!
I wouldn't say flawlessly..
It works but is intermittent. Try this:

1. Print out a simple page (say the goole homepage for example)
2. Try and print the same page like 10 times
3. Switch to another page - print it a couple of times.

After a few minutes, you will see that you are back to the
No Printers Found message.

It's intermittent, it may start working again later.
Flawless is not the word I would use for it.
tbolt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2010, 06:09 PM   #6
cc999
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Mac OS

What about Mac OS? I have a Macbookpro with itunes 10.1 installed, my iphone4 with the 4.2 GM. Do I need to get airprint for Mac?

Any help would be appreciated.....

Charlie C
cc999 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2010, 09:42 AM   #7
joec1101
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: So Cal, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by cc999 View Post
What about Mac OS? I have a Macbookpro with itunes 10.1 installed, my iphone4 with the 4.2 GM. Do I need to get airprint for Mac?

Any help would be appreciated.....

Charlie C
You can get the instructions for OSX here ----> gumballtech.com

It's actually pretty simple - it's just a matter of adding a few files and sharing your printer. You can do it manually or use the utility they have on the gumballtech web site.
joec1101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2010, 09:45 AM   #8
joec1101
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: So Cal, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbolt View Post
I wouldn't say flawlessly..
It works but is intermittent. Try this:

1. Print out a simple page (say the goole homepage for example)
2. Try and print the same page like 10 times
3. Switch to another page - print it a couple of times.

After a few minutes, you will see that you are back to the
No Printers Found message.

It's intermittent, it may start working again later.
Flawless is not the word I would use for it.
Ya, I'll give you that - it's not 100% perfect, but all you have to do is tap the printer/select printer and the printer(s) reappear. Same issue in OSX, BTW.
joec1101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2010, 11:46 AM   #9
imacken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by joec1101 View Post
Ya, I'll give you that - it's not 100% perfect, but all you have to do is tap the printer/select printer and the printer(s) reappear. Same issue in OSX, BTW.
If only it was as simple as that. It is definitely intermittent - sometimes the printers are there, and sometimes they are not. Still, when it works, it works OK as long as the doc doesn't have much in the way of fancy formatting.
imacken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2010, 07:57 PM   #10
ILBandit
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
It seems to work better of you are sharing the printers on a Mac. If sharing on a Windows PC, it will always ask for a password, but if you switch over to sharing them from a Mac OS, just 1 click ( no password required) and it will print right away.
ILBandit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2010, 10:50 PM   #11
joec1101
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: So Cal, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by ILBandit View Post
It seems to work better of you are sharing the printers on a Mac. If sharing on a Windows PC, it will always ask for a password, but if you switch over to sharing them from a Mac OS, just 1 click ( no password required) and it will print right away.
Yes, I agree. OSX AirPrint seems to work much better. The userid and password in windows is kind of a pain...
joec1101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 02:31 AM   #12
imacken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by joec1101 View Post
Yes, I agree. OSX AirPrint seems to work much better. The userid and password in windows is kind of a pain...
Windows asked for my login user name and password the first time I printed, but never since.
That seems perfectly logical, if you ask me. It certainly would be a pain if it happened every time.
Do you guys having this issue have a login on OS X?
imacken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 10:15 AM   #13
joec1101
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: So Cal, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
Windows asked for my login user name and password the first time I printed, but never since.
That seems perfectly logical, if you ask me. It certainly would be a pain if it happened every time.
Do you guys having this issue have a login on OS X?
No userid and password is required for AirPrint in OSX. All that's necessary is to share the printer(s).

In Windows, I've noticed that Win7 asks for the password the first time but never again (at least so far). In WinXP (at work), it seems to ask for the password the first time and then again intermittently.
joec1101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 04:57 PM   #14
thefreeagent
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Mexico
Question about Win7...

So, I followed the instructions (thank you for this), which worked right away, but after I close the command prompt box, the printer then disappears from AirPrint on my iPad/iPhone...

So, my question is this: Does the command prompt box (which opens after I double click on AirPrint.exe) have to remain running on my Windows machine in order for AirPrint to work?

This would be unfortunate, and a pain in this ass, if it is this case...

Any input is appreciated!
thefreeagent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 08:13 PM   #15
exhibit.b
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I keep getting this message.

C:\Users\Brian>sc.exe create AirPrint binPath= "C:\Program Files\AirPrint\airpri
nt.exe -s" depend= "Bonjour Service" start= auto
[SC] OpenSCManager FAILED 5:

Access is denied.


C:\Users\Brian>sc.exe start AirPrint
[SC] StartService: OpenService FAILED 1060:

The specified service does not exist as an installed service.
exhibit.b is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 08:41 PM   #16
joec1101
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: So Cal, USA
No, command prompt does not need to remain open - you're just using it to execute the appropriate commands to set up AirPrint.

Are you *sure* you're typing everything *exactly* per the instructions? Even something off by a space or case inversion can cause it to fail.

Try saving the above instructions to a text file and then copy/paste the commands into the command line so it's exactly correct.

To check if AirPrint did get installed, in Win7, run "services" (without the quotes) from the start menu and see if AirPrint is running as a service. It should be started, set for automatic start and dependent upon Bonjour. If you don't see it there, you may have typed the commands incorrectly. In this case, just try it again and use copy/paste this time.

Also, make sure you have Administrator privileges or login as Administrator to run these commands. If you're Windows userid is set up as a user or anything less than Administrator, it probably isn't going to work.
joec1101 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2010, 09:27 PM   #17
rwilliams
macrumors 68030
 
rwilliams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Durham, NC
Thank you for these tips. I was able to get my iPod Touch to print to our old Windows XP machine with a USB printer. At first, it would not recognize the printer, so I connected the printer to my MacBook and printed a page from there. The iPod was then able to not only see it connected to my MacBook, but was also able to see the printer as it's usually shared - from the XP machine. I reconnected the printer to the XP machine, selected it from the iPod, and then printed after entering the username/password combo for the computer.
rwilliams is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2010, 06:57 AM   #18
melvin1337
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I'm using this in a domain network, Win7 Pro 32bit

Everything is fine until I get to the password prompt

I input domain\username and my password and I get the message that I input the incorrect password

Anyone have any ideas on this?
melvin1337 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2010, 07:34 AM   #19
imacken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by melvin1337 View Post
I'm using this in a domain network, Win7 Pro 32bit

Everything is fine until I get to the password prompt

I input domain\username and my password and I get the message that I input the incorrect password

Anyone have any ideas on this?
Well, all I know is that I input my login username and password once, and never got prompted again. Are you trying your login name?
imacken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2010, 07:36 AM   #20
melvin1337
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Yes, I stated so in the first post I think..

Or do you mean that I should try without entering the domain name?
melvin1337 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2010, 07:43 AM   #21
imacken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by melvin1337 View Post
Yes, I stated so in the first post I think..

Or do you mean that I should try without entering the domain name?
I would try all ways - with and without. Try various combinations. Do you put the domain name in when you are logging in?
imacken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2010, 08:43 AM   #22
melvin1337
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
I have tried different combinations:

domain\username
username@domain.local
username
localdomain\localadminuser

And probably a few more... I'm done at work for the week, so there will be no further testing till monday... I do hope I can get it to work at home now though..
melvin1337 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2010, 07:14 AM   #23
zTaras
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
my ipad found my printer but i have no idea what password and login it ask me about. Can smb tell me where can i find them?
zTaras is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2010, 09:38 AM   #24
imacken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by zTaras View Post
my ipad found my printer but i have no idea what password and login it ask me about. Can smb tell me where can i find them?
It's the user name and password that you use to login to your computer.
imacken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2010, 10:48 AM   #25
zTaras
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
It's the user name and password that you use to login to your computer.
but the problem is that i have no password and login on my computer((((
zTaras is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Windows USB printer shared over Airprint for IOS 7 zizi rider Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 6 Jan 2, 2014 12:21 PM
Resolved: USB printer on windows over Airprint for IOS devices zizi rider iOS 7 0 Oct 28, 2013 01:58 PM
Will AirPrint enabled devices appear in Image Capture? Benguitar Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Sep 12, 2013 07:48 PM
Affordable color laser printers with AirPrint Micah McDowell Mac Peripherals 4 Jan 22, 2013 09:45 AM
AirPrint printers clarkie604 iPad 25 Jun 21, 2012 08:57 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC