Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 12, 2010, 03:26 PM   #1
spacepower7
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2004
Unhappy 10.5 Install mess USB, PPC vs Intel, override installer help?

I'm trying to install 10.5 on a 1 TB SATA hard drive destined for a G5 that is being used for audio production.

Since the G5 is being used all weekend for production, I thought that I would get a head start. I put the 1 TB SATA drive in a USB 2.0 dock, connected to an old Dual G4. I ran a full surface scan (TechTool) to insure the integrity of the drive and it check out fine.

I formatted the drive HFS+ Journaled with an Apple Partition Map (needed to boot PPC Macs.)

The problem:

1.
I boot Dual G4 from Apple 10.5 disc but it won't install on the 1 TB SATA Drive in the USB dock because PPC Macs can't boot from USB.
Somewhat understandable, but it should just give a warning and let me continue in my opinion.

2. I change ideas, boot Intel-based Macbook off the Apple 10.5 disc. Now the OS won't install because an APM formatted drive cannot boot an Intel Mac.


Any ideas on how to install 10.5 on this SATA drive with out a computer that can hook up to it natively? Anyway to bypass the installer restrictions?

I'm trying to do this now so we don't have to waste all of Monday installing the OS and apps that I could be doing now.

I'm wondering about Apple Remote Desktop, if that could do it or if its more trouble?

Thanks for any advice.
spacepower7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2010, 03:43 PM   #2
longwood
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
You could backup the contents of your current hard drive onto the external. You wouldn't have to install OSX in that case. Something like Carbon Copy Cloner or ChronoSync should do the trick.
__________________
iPhone 4: [32GB]
iPad 2: [16GB | WiFi]
MacBook: [13" | 2.4Ghz | 4GB | 500GB]
longwood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2010, 04:10 PM   #3
spacepower7
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: May 2004
Thanks for the response.

We are actually upgrading both the OS 10.4.11 -> 10.5.8 as well as installing newer versions of all the audio software. For this reason, we would like to use a fresh install.

We are trying to do all this with a second system because the G5 is being used at the studio all weekend. I'd like to have all of the software installed onto the 1 TB drive so that on Monday, we can just open the G5, add the new hard drive and some RAM. I could do the software installs at home this weekend without the G5, if I could get around these issues with the installer disc.

Any other ideas?
spacepower7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2010, 04:49 PM   #4
4JNA
macrumors 68000
 
4JNA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: looking for trash files
beg/borrow/buy a firewire enclosure or dock. can't think of anything else that would solve this problem with your given hardware. best of luck.
__________________
KATE: RISC architecture is gonna change everything. DADE: Yeah. RISC is good.
4JNA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2010, 07:49 PM   #5
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
if you cant find a suitable firewire enclosure you should just put the harddrive into the G5 on monday early morning and install leopard onto that harddrive,job done , takes me not even a quarter day and i have a couple hundred apps to install and update , can all be done before breakfast at 9am if you start early
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.

Last edited by MacHamster68; Nov 12, 2010 at 07:57 PM.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2010, 07:52 PM   #6
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
You can boot up PPC Macs via USB. All the way back to the G3 iMac. Just boot from then dvd or the internal hard drive and go to the Startup Pref Pane and select the USB drive.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 6:21 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2010, 10:33 PM   #7
iThinkergoiMac
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Terra
I could never get my PowerBook G4 to boot via USB. Even if you can, the installer still won't let you install onto a USB drive, so it's a moot point.

A FW enclosure is really your only option, as far as I can tell (as others have said). If you can't find one, you'll just have to wait.
__________________
13" 2009 MBP, 2.26 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD; 2.2 GHz C2D MB, 6 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD; 32 GB iPod Touch 3G
-FWIW, my handle is iThink_ergo_iMac. There seems to be some confusion on this issue.-
iThinkergoiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2010, 03:01 AM   #8
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
You can boot up PPC Macs via USB. All the way back to the G3 iMac. Just boot from then dvd or the internal hard drive and go to the Startup Pref Pane and select the USB drive.

i heard rumors too about the possibility , but so far none of my PPC Mac's could be persuaded to boot from usb
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2010, 03:05 AM   #9
longwood
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHamster68 View Post
i heard rumors too about the possibility , but so far none of my PPC Mac's could be persuaded to boot from usb
Me neither. Firewire is your only option with a PPC.
__________________
iPhone 4: [32GB]
iPad 2: [16GB | WiFi]
MacBook: [13" | 2.4Ghz | 4GB | 500GB]
longwood is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2010, 10:37 AM   #10
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHamster68 View Post
i heard rumors too about the possibility , but so far none of my PPC Mac's could be persuaded to boot from usb
Really? I got a Tibook, DV iMac 3G, APG G4, Cube, G4 iMac, and a iBook G3 to all boot via USB. The ones with USB 1.1 where very slow, but it worked.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 6:21 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2010, 12:59 PM   #11
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
Really? I got a Tibook, DV iMac 3G, APG G4, Cube, G4 iMac, and a iBook G3 to all boot via USB. The ones with USB 1.1 where very slow, but it worked.
i have tried that right from my 2 iMac G3 600/700 with my 3 eMac's 1.42 with my iMac G5 , with my powerMac G5 2.3 , with my quicksilver with my mirror , to no avail they see the drive but even after hours no booting from a usb drive, when i put the same drive to firewire (drive has both usb and firewire , ad both are working as i use it like i have ports free ) booting within seconds
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2010, 01:09 PM   #12
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by MacHamster68 View Post
i have tried that right from my 2 iMac G3 600/700 with my 3 eMac's 1.42 with my iMac G5 , with my powerMac G5 2.3 , with my quicksilver with my mirror , to no avail they see the drive but even after hours no booting from a usb drive, when i put the same drive to firewire (drive has both usb and firewire , ad both are working as i use it like i have ports free ) booting within seconds
You did boot from the internal drive first then selected the USB drive in the Startup Disk PrefPane? It doesn't work with the hold alt/option on boot part.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 6:21 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2010, 05:55 PM   #13
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Intell View Post
You did boot from the internal drive first then selected the USB drive in the Startup Disk PrefPane? It doesn't work with the hold alt/option on boot part.
no it just doesn't boot from usb , and i dont know why some Mac's seem to boot from usb and others not , never mind i use anyway only firewire enclosures as they are faster to access , only one that is usb too , so i did try that out
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Tags
10.5, install, intel, ppc, usb

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[PPC] I can't install Xcode after a failed install GameX Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 May 29, 2014 11:25 AM
Headphone jack broke in MacBook, will USB override sound? Michelleconn MacBook Pro 3 Apr 29, 2014 01:42 PM
Resolved: Mavericks create USB install drive - Installer file weirdness Xteec OS X Mavericks (10.9) 0 Jan 3, 2014 11:50 AM
Intel 5 series/3400 USB driver failing to install kevn Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Oct 10, 2013 08:28 AM
PPC better than Intel for PPC apps? Woodcrest64 PowerPC Macs 14 Nov 16, 2012 01:04 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC